We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Four Day Trip -

Pros: Very close to both Disney and Universal.
Located on the same road as Disney...lots of restaurants to choose from. Plenty of places to purchase discounted souveniers. Nightly poolside entertainment. Pools are great!


Cons:

Checked in: 9/15/06 - waited close to 30 minutes at counter before I was assisted in check-in (2 employees holding conversation in back, no one at front counter).

9/16/06 - Greeted by 2 roaches in bathroom in the morning.

9/17/06 - Awoken at 7:00am to "B" neighbors blasting music. Heard their entire conversations the night before. Walls between "A" and "B" units are paper thin.

9/18/06 - moved to another unit due to the roaches and noisy neighbors, only to find a room smelling of pure smoke! Went to take a shower, no hot water!!

9/19/06 - Awoken to a security call at 7:00am accusing me of having a dog in my unit. Completely untrue!!

No free shuttles to parks.

Units definately need to be refurbished.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Shyonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2006

This was not my first time staying here. I stayed here 3 years ago. I had a lock out room at that time. This time i had a one bedroom unit with the full kitchen and living room. The unit was very clean and spacious. I loved the garden jacuzzi tub next to the bed with the pillars! I used the pool quite often and it was always clean. I guess this is the best time of year to travel. There were not many people there. We were able to park in fromt of our unit everynight. We did not hear any noises. I am not sure if we had neighbors or not. The check-in went smooth and the guy at the front counter (Jay) was wonderful!

My kids had a wonderful time in the game room. They loved the pool area and the kiddie area.

I would definitly re-visit star Island!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank loves2travel770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We just got home from our Orlando vacation and had to write something about this resort. We arrived at 1:30pm and were able to get right into our room. The check-in was smooth and was done professionally. We had the "A" mini-suite which was perfect for our family. To make things easier I will post my pros and cons.

Pros:

Pools were great. Kids programs were made fun. We took advantage of the driving range and tennis courts and they were very good. The support staff was great. We had a tv remote that did not work and rather than sluff it off, the maintenance person brought over a brand new tv! We called for fresh towels;no problem; even sheets and yellow pages;no problem. All reports were followed up by a call from a supervisor to see if everything was done right. The gym is good, for a resort. Nice to see some security.

Cons:

Rooms could use a little refurbishing, the couches and carpets seemed a little worn. No snack bar,unless you wanted chips. If you want food you had a hot-dog from the cart or called "Fridays" for service. The walls are pretty thin, so if you don't have both the "A" and "B" suites,you may hear your neighbour's conversations.

Stayed: August 2006
7  Thank Matdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We just got back from a week at Star Island and had a great time from the very beginning. The resort was in a great location only 6 miles from the entrance to Disney World and on the same road (Highway 192) so there was no way to get lost getting in or out of the parks. Highway 192 was just filled with every type of restaurant you could imagine which made meal choices very easy and quick to get to.

We arrived at the resort at 2pm and walked right up to the front desk and got our room keys without any delay at all. 4pm is the usual check-in time but that did not matter at all as we were right on our way to the unit.

We had a second floor 2 Bedroom Deluxe Unit sides A&B which was located just two buildings from the clubhouse and on a pond. We were two families (4 Adults and 3 children) and the unit was HUGE! The Master bedroom was very large with a great Jacuzzi Tub in it. The second bedroom had two double beds in it and the bonus room (which is really a 3rd bedroom) had a pullout couch as well as did the main family room. The rooms all had large tv's (4 in all). The air conditioning worked great - which is a good thing in the 90 degree heat of the day. The kitchen was spacious and as well as was the 2nd full bathroom. Finally, the deck was also huge and was great to relax on in the evenings.

The resort itself was beautifully landscaped and the clubhouse had the day spa, huge gym, arcade and behind it were two pools. The pools were warm and gorgeous. The kids loved the zeor entry pool which they could just run in and out of as often as they liked. It was also shallow (0 to about 5 ft.) so kids could easily navigate through. The other pool was a little deaper and tended to have more older kids and adults. There was dj at poolside each day and he really did a great job and also got the kids engaged in many poolside activities. The pool was also open from 7am to 11pm so we found ourselves spending an hour here and there throughout the day as we were inbetween park hopping.

We would all highly recommend Star Island to all families. It is in a gated community with guard access only so you feel very safe. The facilities were wonderful, location was great and the rooms were spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Dusky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We were really nervous when we read some of the reviews of this resort. I even called the resort personally to tell them they were getting bad reviews and hoped I wouldn't have any problems with the rooms, service, etc. We are Fairfield owners so there are certain buildings that Fairfield owners actually stay in. We brought a huge group (we had booked about 7-8 rooms) and all were just beautiful! The service was great, and no bugs like some of the reviews stated. We brought our baby daughter and if there were any bugs, we would have been out of there quick! The staff were just wonderful to us and all of our guests. We were treated very well. Now I don't if that is because we were Fairfield owners or not, but I do know that some of the reviews seem a bit exaggerated. All of our guests really enjoyed the stay.

Rooms - Yes, I agree with some of the reviews there. The decoration is a bit too "Florida" for me, but it was nice. Particulary the newer buildings which had more up-to-date furniture, etc.

Hassle from timeshare company? - Not with us. We always call ahead or mention at checkin to not bother us or our guests. When we do that, no one bothers us. We call them if we need to discuss additional timeshare ownership. It turned out that most of our guests wanted to listen to them so it worked out ok.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank KEEPTRAVELLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Stayed 3 days more than we could stand. There was puddles of water on the landings not to mention a sticky, gooey mess.(never cleaned, during our stay). The staff was unfriendly and unknowledgable. We arrived about 1 hour after 4pm check-in and were told that we had no reservation, however we had paperwork that showed the res. was made a month in advance. Then we were told someone else was given our unit because the reservation # and names somehow got mixed up. We (senior citizens) were then put into a unit on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We were told we would have a full kitchen but instead got a kitchenette. I got locked into a room after the door just closed on it's own behind me. We called maintenance to report incident only to get a maintenance person who ridiculed us and left doing nothing else. Upon examination we found the culprit to be a improperly hung door (loose hinge). Uhm, If the maintenance person wasn't so busy ridiculing us, he might have seen that or at least the puddles and sticky mess outside of the door. We had to clean the tub/shower before using it. That was very difficult and actually scarey. There were cigarette burns on the fixtures. During our stay there was disturbing loud and roudy behavior coming from the clubhouse, ambulance and rescue units during the night, the whole nine yards folks. On top of that they had the nerve to put a $100 hold on our cc for 3 days after our departure. We expected a 5 star establishment, we got a HORRIBLE experience!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OriginalMutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Where should I start. The room was huge - that was nice. The room was OLD - not five star. King size bed was very uncomfortable and was sitting on cement blocks - not five star. Fixtures and furniture were old and outdated - not five star. We ordered a crib for our baby and received a generic pack-n-play with a bottom that was too small for the crib and just slid around the bottom - not five star and dangerous. The location of the facility didn't have a five star RESORT like feeling - it was located between vacant strip centers and a permanent carnival . Early the second morning we were woken up by a sales agent's phone call confirming our appointment that we never scheduled!! - not five star. I woundn't call this place a resort at all and definitely not five star. Maybe this property was five star in the 80's but I think it needs some serious remodeling for it to be classified as a FIVE STAR RESORT - not Star Island. Lets do everyone a favor and call this TWO STAR ISLAND and leave off the resort/club part!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lhorn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saratoga Resort Villas
Saratoga Resort Villas
#13 of 155 in Kissimmee
1,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#21 of 155 in Kissimmee
649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $88 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelPower, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing