We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort !!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We just got back from a week at Star Island and had a great time from the very beginning. The resort was in a great location only 6 miles from the entrance to Disney World and on the same road (Highway 192) so there was no way to get lost getting in or out of the parks. Highway 192 was just filled with every type of restaurant you could imagine which made meal choices very easy and quick to get to.

We arrived at the resort at 2pm and walked right up to the front desk and got our room keys without any delay at all. 4pm is the usual check-in time but that did not matter at all as we were right on our way to the unit.

We had a second floor 2 Bedroom Deluxe Unit sides A&B which was located just two buildings from the clubhouse and on a pond. We were two families (4 Adults and 3 children) and the unit was HUGE! The Master bedroom was very large with a great Jacuzzi Tub in it. The second bedroom had two double beds in it and the bonus room (which is really a 3rd bedroom) had a pullout couch as well as did the main family room. The rooms all had large tv's (4 in all). The air conditioning worked great - which is a good thing in the 90 degree heat of the day. The kitchen was spacious and as well as was the 2nd full bathroom. Finally, the deck was also huge and was great to relax on in the evenings.

The resort itself was beautifully landscaped and the clubhouse had the day spa, huge gym, arcade and behind it were two pools. The pools were warm and gorgeous. The kids loved the zeor entry pool which they could just run in and out of as often as they liked. It was also shallow (0 to about 5 ft.) so kids could easily navigate through. The other pool was a little deaper and tended to have more older kids and adults. There was dj at poolside each day and he really did a great job and also got the kids engaged in many poolside activities. The pool was also open from 7am to 11pm so we found ourselves spending an hour here and there throughout the day as we were inbetween park hopping.

We would all highly recommend Star Island to all families. It is in a gated community with guard access only so you feel very safe. The facilities were wonderful, location was great and the rooms were spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Dusky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,413)
There are newer reviews for Star Island Resort and Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,145 - 2,151 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2006

We were really nervous when we read some of the reviews of this resort. I even called the resort personally to tell them they were getting bad reviews and hoped I wouldn't have any problems with the rooms, service, etc. We are Fairfield owners so there are certain buildings that Fairfield owners actually stay in. We brought a huge group (we had booked about 7-8 rooms) and all were just beautiful! The service was great, and no bugs like some of the reviews stated. We brought our baby daughter and if there were any bugs, we would have been out of there quick! The staff were just wonderful to us and all of our guests. We were treated very well. Now I don't if that is because we were Fairfield owners or not, but I do know that some of the reviews seem a bit exaggerated. All of our guests really enjoyed the stay.

Rooms - Yes, I agree with some of the reviews there. The decoration is a bit too "Florida" for me, but it was nice. Particulary the newer buildings which had more up-to-date furniture, etc.

Hassle from timeshare company? - Not with us. We always call ahead or mention at checkin to not bother us or our guests. When we do that, no one bothers us. We call them if we need to discuss additional timeshare ownership. It turned out that most of our guests wanted to listen to them so it worked out ok.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank KEEPTRAVELLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Stayed 3 days more than we could stand. There was puddles of water on the landings not to mention a sticky, gooey mess.(never cleaned, during our stay). The staff was unfriendly and unknowledgable. We arrived about 1 hour after 4pm check-in and were told that we had no reservation, however we had paperwork that showed the res. was made a month in advance. Then we were told someone else was given our unit because the reservation # and names somehow got mixed up. We (senior citizens) were then put into a unit on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We were told we would have a full kitchen but instead got a kitchenette. I got locked into a room after the door just closed on it's own behind me. We called maintenance to report incident only to get a maintenance person who ridiculed us and left doing nothing else. Upon examination we found the culprit to be a improperly hung door (loose hinge). Uhm, If the maintenance person wasn't so busy ridiculing us, he might have seen that or at least the puddles and sticky mess outside of the door. We had to clean the tub/shower before using it. That was very difficult and actually scarey. There were cigarette burns on the fixtures. During our stay there was disturbing loud and roudy behavior coming from the clubhouse, ambulance and rescue units during the night, the whole nine yards folks. On top of that they had the nerve to put a $100 hold on our cc for 3 days after our departure. We expected a 5 star establishment, we got a HORRIBLE experience!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OriginalMutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Where should I start. The room was huge - that was nice. The room was OLD - not five star. King size bed was very uncomfortable and was sitting on cement blocks - not five star. Fixtures and furniture were old and outdated - not five star. We ordered a crib for our baby and received a generic pack-n-play with a bottom that was too small for the crib and just slid around the bottom - not five star and dangerous. The location of the facility didn't have a five star RESORT like feeling - it was located between vacant strip centers and a permanent carnival . Early the second morning we were woken up by a sales agent's phone call confirming our appointment that we never scheduled!! - not five star. I woundn't call this place a resort at all and definitely not five star. Maybe this property was five star in the 80's but I think it needs some serious remodeling for it to be classified as a FIVE STAR RESORT - not Star Island. Lets do everyone a favor and call this TWO STAR ISLAND and leave off the resort/club part!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lhorn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Louisiana
17
Reviewed July 14, 2006

Me and my family stayed at the resort and it was beautiful, I would reccommend everyone to stay there at least once in a life time. The staff was very polite and helpful, we felt very safe and nothing to worry about at all. Every thing was so close by you didnt have to drive a long time to get to places very conveince. I will go again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

The resort was nice with two pools and a hot tub. If you love tennis this is the place. Also the golf driving range was nice and on site. Plenty of room for the whole family. The resort is very large, but the atmosphere was pleasent.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcs_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

I thought the resort was very well run. The property was sort of a cozy, hide away without all the crowds of a larger resort. Only a 10 min ride to the gates of Disney. I felt secure and safe. Lots of things to do but I spent most of my time at Disney, but I was able to take in the entire resort in my explorations. I had a great time and the people were very polite and attentative. I hope they don't become one of those huge impersonal super resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blikkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#155 of 340 in Orlando
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 154 in Kissimmee
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
10.4 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 154 in Kissimmee
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $91 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing