We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2010

we had 3 kids aged 6-10 with us. Unit newly renovated and very clean & nice. Family of 5 actually fit in smaller unit with 2 double beds in one room and one sleeper sofa in separate living room with kitchenette (microwave, small frig, 2 burner stove, sink, cabinets, etc.). Staff friendly to us and kids. Location excellent; convenient to Disney, restuarants, etc. Weather was lousy so we were interested in resort activities--not much to do there really. Pool not heated above 66* while we were there, so not warm enough to swim much when air temp was around 55*. Poolside DJ nice and on one day tried a few games for kids, e.g., hula hoop contest, but pool was too cold for the planned pool games and contests. Craft projects cost $, so did make-your-own-sundaes and arcade games. We tried free bucket of balls for golf one morning but found all tees broken, only putters (not drivers) for use (due to insurance they say) and golf shack hard to find. Playground was nice. Karaoke night was a bust--its held outside and it was cold, windy and damp--we were only family to even show up but DJ gave it a heroic try. Magic show at pool bar was 30 min, free and fun, though. We all enjoyed it. Vistied WonderWorks for inside science fun (good for about 2-4 hours) and also visited lobby of Gaylord Palms hotel for alligator and fish feeding (about 4 acres to walk around with shops and restauarants all inside, self-parking for $12 or valet for $20) but was something to do in the cold/rain. Resort makes nice, classy impression when you drive up and grounds and units are kept very nice.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank JerseyKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,414)
There are newer reviews for Star Island Resort and Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2009

We traded our timeshare through Interval International to stay here for a Dinseyworld Trip. While it isn't five star, it is definately a very good place. The suites we got were HUGE, with plenty of room for a family of four, and granted the decor was a little 'dated' but - again - it was all good enough. It is about a 5 minute drive straight into the parks - easy enough access - and in Orlando since we're out the door by 8 and not back until the parks close we didn't need much more than easy access and a great room.

This might not be a "great resort", but it has a good pool for relaxing a day, friendly staff, enough 'little' things to make you comfortable, and again easy parks access.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My parents are wyndham property owners and have raved of all the resorts they have stayed at around the country so when my husband needed to make a quick continuing education trip to Orlando we thought we would stay a few extra days. Upon arrival looked kinda like a cool property but we were skeptical b/c the area looked a little rundown. The front desk staff was nice but that was the last bit of service we received. As a busy professional I need to have access to email and the office. The Free wifi was free b/c it did not work except for a few minutes at a time! Disney is about a 10 - 15 minutes drive away which was nice but overall; the location, the last of service quality and the overall 'cheapness' of the resort - Never again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank young_prof_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

This review is being written mostly to advise people that the resort does not have elevators. My mom is older and we were never told or read on the website that the resort is not very accomodating to those with physical disabilities. Even when we checked in, they could clearly see her needs, but still assigned us a room on the second floor. They also do not provide a service to help with luggage. If you use a wheel chair, getting around will be very difficult.

I also could not recieve or send text messages, depending on the time of day and where I stood in the hotel room. So if you have to work on your trip, you may want to check if there is a designated area with cell and internet reception.

Oh, and if you want extra towels on any days other than Tuesday or Thursdays, you must pay $9.00 per towel.

I gave the hotel a poor rating becasue for the cost, it just does not add up to a resort or upper class place to stay. To me, it appeared to be an average family hotel without many frills. No elevators, no luggage service, no video game in rooms for kids, no activities for toddlers, the water pond at the entrace was a dark sickly green, and I was concered over the cleanliness of the pools.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prims4Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

This is my second time satying at Star Island and I have received nothing but excellent service from the staff. IMy only complaint is that the room we received did smell to it but we cleaned the room and used some Febreeze to get through that. Besides that we had an excellent trip.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erica1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed on an exchange and found this resort to have none of the problems cited by others. Our room was immaculate, the staff was friendly and the Timeshare people contacted us only once and did not pressure us. As we were on an exchange we did not have to pay for Internet access which was surprisingly quick. We went at this time to avoid the typical unruly 8 and uppers. There are enough amenities to satisfy anyone who wishes to stay at the resort and avoid the Parks. Once you turn off of rte 92 which is extremely busy, you are transported to somewhere else.
Since they were also redoing the parking lots there was some shortage of slots but we never found it to be a real hassle and I would rather see maintenance being performed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

PROS: Low Special Rate was well worth the accomodations. Stayed here before, and have always found the villas very clean. Convenient location to restaurants, Disney and other attractions. I would stay here again, and I have recommended to friends.
CONS: PARKING!! Always a problem when you get back in the evening, Especially, handicap accessible!!...even though there was a notable improvement from the last stay. WIFI charge of $10 a day in the villas!! I think this is outrageous! I was told when I called there was WiFi availability in all villas, but no mention of charge...so I brought my laptop to check my email, etc, which I would not have done! I HATE being "nickeled and dimed", and want straight answers when asking these type of questions. I would have found it helpful to have a small convenience store on the premises (they obviously have the room for it).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noahchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#155 of 340 in Orlando
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 154 in Kissimmee
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
10.4 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 154 in Kissimmee
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $92 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing