We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Resort with good value for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Resort with good value for the price.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The resort staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every regard. Check in staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. Natasha has a smile to brighten your day. We had an issue with our oven and the maintence team responded immediately.

Rooms were spotless and well equipped. Six of us shared a two bedroom suite and it was very roomy.

I would stay here again for sure. Although it is not a new resort...it is well maintained and updated. I loved the location and recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    765
    380
    183
    175
See reviews for
1,234
545
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Used this resort for a Disney weekend family get-to-gether of nine. We got the three bedroom and found that it offered more than enough space if you don't mind two to a double bed. The third bedroom (efficiency as it has a kitchenette) has a couch that is a pull out bed, and my sister complained of having back problems in the morning. Other than that, the other beds were OK, if somewhat threadbare and not so comfortable, and the rest of the accommodations pleasant and nicely laid out though a bit dated. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, glassware, pots, serving dishes, a colander, knives and forks etc., and the dining room table sat six comfortably, and nine using chairs from the bedrooms. The whole unit was pleasant and spacious, though I would have prefered an upper floor so that we could utilize the balcony and open the windows and sliding glass doors (there was a pervasive smell of a cleaning chemical or air freshner). The surrounding property, pool, lake, gated entrance, and reception area are really quite beautiful, and the staff responsive and friendly. I would definitely stay there again and look forward to another family get away there.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor, but make sure that the building has an elevator if you have kids or elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here last May 2012 with my fiance, and we enjoyed the whole place. it is close to Disneyworld and Universal Orlando, (10-15min drive) and there are lots of good restaurants in the area. The bed is very comfy, you can call the staff to have your linens changed and have new towels delivered to your door. The overall surroundings of the place is very nice, though the lake area is a bit old and needs renovation. Nonetheless everything was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Check in was a nighmare, extremely unfriendly front desk and arrogant! The room we reserved was given away so we were placed in an "A" villa, small kitchenette, lockoff unit, no balcony. Not what we booked but "nothing else was available" per the front desk. It was apparent there were many unoccupied rooms that they could have accomodated us, but not a chance.

Second, the layout of the room was weird and the two double beds, not what we booked, were quite small, pillows uncomfortable as well. Maid service? NOT A CHANCE! That's right, NONE! You get ONE towel exchange and after that you get charged. You must call to get towels or any replenishment of supplies such as toilet paper. Not that its a big deal taking out the trash, doing dishes, making beds etc but I'm on vacation.

Wake up call for 4:30 a.m. was received at 5:30 a.m.- don't rely on them as you'll be late for sure! Thank goodness we used that only as a backup to our phone.

Lastly, cockroaches in the room! Folks, I'd stay away from this resort unless you don't mind bugs or want to risk taking some home with you. There's soooo many places in Orlando that there's no need to settle for this, we'll never stay there again!

Ammenties- Pool area was nice, dj tried hard to entertain but the water slide is a JOKE. $3 a ride and its lame! Just a blow up that you could put in your back yard. Gym looked nice as did the tennis courts.

The walls are THIN. You can hear everything, especially if you are in a lockout unit. First few days we had a family with a bunch of loud kids- not enjoyable. Afterwards, another family was in there and they were better but still heard every word. Music played till about 9 or 10, again you could hear it in your room. So if you want quiet, not the place.

Overall, the place looks "nice" but its just appearances. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you must stay at the roach hotel, a B villa is best, away from the pool. Confirm, reconfirm, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank WorldTraveler970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I can't believe wyndham actually allows this as one of their timeshares... Embarrassing!!!! To say the least, I feel like I'm staying in a roach motel on the side of the hwy. My kids are sleeping in the same room as me and my wife because the 2bdr deluxe is really 2 full size beds in one room, and a pullout couch in what is supposed to be a front room/ kitchen/ Bdr. The stove has only 2 eyes, the bathroom light is attached to the fan= awful. The hall light when turned off renders the place into total darkness, it smells of dirty pool water, 4 towels, no washer/dryer. This is not what I expect from wyndham. Really feel let down.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gottahavem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Back again and still in love with this place, I wouldn't stay any other place while in Florida. You truly feel like a star staying here. On thing people need to keep in mind is that part is own by Fairfield so I can't speak on the service they get from them. I've seen someone try to check in at front desk but since they were booked under Fairfield the had to go over to there desk. So when doing a Review keep this in mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ocdgwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

After planning our vacation to Orlando and prepaid for three parks, our family of 5 began feeling ill. After unpacking and resting in the room, we left for a park. After a few hours at the park, my daughter had a headache and my wife felt nautis. We went back to the hotel to rest. My eyes began to water and my nose began to get stuffy. After ordering in dinner, loosing the day we paid for at the park, my husband recognized mold on the wall. After spending two hours sharing our information and showing the room, we switched rooms. At 11 pm we were packing up to change rooms. The next morning we were to ill to use our last day from our pass, the general manager was rude, arguementative and not empathetic. It was a horrible experience and a sickly one that now requires us to seek medical advice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#149 of 338 in Orlando
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 152 in Kissimmee
583 reviews
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#25 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing