We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Star Island is a star to me! Loved this place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
long island
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Star Island is a star to me! Loved this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

First let me say I have stayed in many resorts in Orlando. This is my 18th trip to Orlando, and I loved this place! Stayed here for a week in August in a 1 bedroom deluxe.

I had never stayed here before, and I thought it was very nice. THe furniture was not to my liking, but who cares? the unit was nice and large, very spacious for a one bedroom, with a full kitchen!
there are also BBQ grills so you can throw a few steaks on the grill and save some money .
I ambulate with a cane, so we had a lower level room near the pool, and I was so happy I could have danced around the room!
The bedroom had a large jacuzzi tub and we definitely used it every day! sitting in that large tub was so relaxing. It is set up a lot like the Westgate resorts, mostly reminded me of Westgate Lakes.
The room was clean, and did smell of bleach when we arrived, which was a bit strong but after a few hours it finally went away. I will say the room was very clean. I did bring my own Ajax and cleaned the toilet and tub anyway, but I think it was overkill, as I didnt even find a drop of soap scum anywhere.
The pool was heated and large enough, and we spent every evening there swimming around. What I did find odd was the pool bar only made drinks, so food. THey do have a frankfuter cart for a few hours in the day. To get food you can go to the grocery store and they make great burgers, or go upstairs to the karaoke bar and get a light bite.
Speaking of karaoke, if you hate it, dont go in the pool at night! While you are in the pool you are serenaded by the worst voices ever singing karaoke! I didnt listen, it didnt bother me, but I can see where other posters were annoyed by it.
Front desk Theresa was very friendly and efficient and was able to get me in a room near the pool, since I walk with a cane. I can walk, but not too far, so our room was perfect for me.

Resort staff friendly, pool clean, and heated, room was very clean, but did have outdated furniture, our location was great. Loved the jacuzzi pool. I will stay here again next summer, no doubt aboutit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deelovesdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    716
    342
    165
    160
See reviews for
1,112
507
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was a little hesitant to go after reading some of the reviews which is why I decided to write one myself. We were in bulding 19 and had both a and b sides and our stay was for 7 days. We found everything to be clean and found the staff to be friendly and efficient.We are looking forward to going back soon and have recommended it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Book both sides a and b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghent, ny
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

we spent a week here with friends through RCI...RCI guests are relegated to the buildings farthest away from the resort amenities (pool, tennis courts, fitness center and mini-market.) Nevertheless, the 2 bedroom villa accommodations are quite nice, especially for the price we paid ($289.00 for the entire 7 nights). One issue we had though, our unit was located on the 1st floor and immediately next to our unit were 10 A/C compression pumps, making incessant noise, kind of ruining any time spent on the patio. Also there are no privacy walls between the patios. Another complaint is the inadequacy of the mini-market (Chilli-Hillies)...looks like it belongs in a gas station....very small, lousy looking food....compare this to the nearby Sheraton Vistana market/restaurant which is vastly superior in every way.

on the positive side, like so many other resorts in the area, Star Island is a haven for wildlife...we had snowy egrets, sand hill cranes, river otters, various ducks, etc, visit our patio every day (despite the noisy machines)

Room Tip: get an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brady1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent a week here in July and had a great time. It is close to everything the area has to offer and there is plenty to do at the resort as well. Everything was clean and well maintained and staff were very friendly. We checked in very late but it was quick and effortless. The unit was beautiful - we had both A and B sides. The B side had one bedroom with two double beds and a small living room area with a tiny kitchen area. I think if you have only this side it would be confining and claustrophobic. The A side had a fully equipped kitchen, spacious dining and living areas and a large bedroom with king size bed and master bath included a huge jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. The beds were very comfortable. We were in building 25 and could hear the karaoke at night from the balcony but not inside with the doors and windows closed.
The pool area was large with plenty of seating and a live DJ as well as a walk up bar. We did not see any cockroaches/palmetto bugs but hey, it's Florida - let's face it, they can be found everywhere even the cleanest places. The wi-fi was a bit slow but we only used it to check email so it didn't bother us. I consider this one of the better places I've been to and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms further from the pool area to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clareysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from our first visit at star island and it was fab, great location,nice, clean accomidation, friendly staff. Disabled friendly to get around.
We were a party of five and the accomidation was spacious and bug free.
Only concern is the wall painting that is happening.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimples16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I were at this place on 8/2012. The pictures and description on their website misrepresent. A minute you drive in a long beautifull entrance, the gate, and the lobby. You would have thought you have arrived to a very nice place. I was in building #22. I thought I went to the wrong place. It turned out I logged in a 2 stars place. A walk from the elevator to my room was so scary. I thought I was walking into the old apartment building. If you are looking for an at least 3 stars hotel, this is not a place. Your style is looking for clean, beautiful, and luxury. This is definitely not a place. Your best is checking out whereelse.

Room Tip: If your style is a 2 stars hotel or a motel, then this is ok. However, if your choice is w/ class a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Puzzle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

NIce resort, lovely rooms, a lot of activities, lots of fun at the pool in the evening, great location, the grounds surronding the resort need some work. The only thing that keeps me from going back were the large cockroaches that we found in our villa. I went to the front desk to complain. Yes, they sent people to spray but but it didn't stop them from coming back. The only difference was instead of chasing them we would find them dead on the floor. I was told that they were coming in because we had the door ,going to the patio, open. But when the door was shut there was a large gap between the door and the ground

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing