We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent a week here in July and had a great time. It is close to everything the area has to offer and there is plenty to do at the resort as well. Everything was clean and well maintained and staff were very friendly. We checked in very late but it was quick and effortless. The unit was beautiful - we had both A and B sides. The B side had one bedroom with two double beds and a small living room area with a tiny kitchen area. I think if you have only this side it would be confining and claustrophobic. The A side had a fully equipped kitchen, spacious dining and living areas and a large bedroom with king size bed and master bath included a huge jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. The beds were very comfortable. We were in building 25 and could hear the karaoke at night from the balcony but not inside with the doors and windows closed.
The pool area was large with plenty of seating and a live DJ as well as a walk up bar. We did not see any cockroaches/palmetto bugs but hey, it's Florida - let's face it, they can be found everywhere even the cleanest places. The wi-fi was a bit slow but we only used it to check email so it didn't bother us. I consider this one of the better places I've been to and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms further from the pool area to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clareysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    774
    391
    189
    179
See reviews for
1,273
549
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from our first visit at star island and it was fab, great location,nice, clean accomidation, friendly staff. Disabled friendly to get around.
We were a party of five and the accomidation was spacious and bug free.
Only concern is the wall painting that is happening.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimples16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I were at this place on 8/2012. The pictures and description on their website misrepresent. A minute you drive in a long beautifull entrance, the gate, and the lobby. You would have thought you have arrived to a very nice place. I was in building #22. I thought I went to the wrong place. It turned out I logged in a 2 stars place. A walk from the elevator to my room was so scary. I thought I was walking into the old apartment building. If you are looking for an at least 3 stars hotel, this is not a place. Your style is looking for clean, beautiful, and luxury. This is definitely not a place. Your best is checking out whereelse.

Room Tip: If your style is a 2 stars hotel or a motel, then this is ok. However, if your choice is w/ class a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Puzzle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

NIce resort, lovely rooms, a lot of activities, lots of fun at the pool in the evening, great location, the grounds surronding the resort need some work. The only thing that keeps me from going back were the large cockroaches that we found in our villa. I went to the front desk to complain. Yes, they sent people to spray but but it didn't stop them from coming back. The only difference was instead of chasing them we would find them dead on the floor. I was told that they were coming in because we had the door ,going to the patio, open. But when the door was shut there was a large gap between the door and the ground

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I spent the first week of a two week vacation, July 14-21 2012, at Star Island. At first we were really happy at the beautiful accommodations and grounds. The lobby is pretty, check in was quick and our villa was clean and beautifully decorated. We unpacked and noticed that the temperature in the room had actually gone up instead of down, so we contacted their CARE line. I must say the woman was really nice and the staff member was there in 9 minutes (yes, I timed him). He took only a minute to figure out the problem, he went downstairs and it started working. No problem.

2 Days later, the air-conditioner went again. Now, my husband and I are really laid back and the idea of packing up again to move rooms was worse than the air-conditioner problem so we just called again and asked for them to come try and fix it again, this time 30 minutes.

***Our largest problem thus far was not actually the air-conditioning. We are tech people and even though we are on vacation, we were very excited that they had advertised free in-room WiFi. This is a joke. We wanted to watch a Netflix movie on our AppleTV but the signal was terrible and inconsistent, no movie night for us. If you’re not a tech person then skip this part, but if you use any iPad or AppleTV then do NOT attempt to use this WiFi, especially in the evening when I assume everyone is competing for the terrible connection.***

The same morning as the second air-conditioning incident we got an 8:30 am construction wake up. Again, we are pretty laid back, so we figured they were fixing something in the room under us and let it go. I went to the pool. Later that night when returning from dinner we noticed dumpsters and scaffolding outside our building.

The next morning at 8:30am on the dot, the construction started again and this time it sounded like it was on our bedroom wall. I called the CARE line again, this time the woman did not CARE and told me "there is no construction going on," so I asked her if she was aware then that men have scaffolding and dumpsters on the property. She didn’t say anything, and then said someone will check it out. At 9am since I had not heard from them I called the front desk and requested a room change. She was very nice and did it with no problem or really any questions (maybe I wasn’t the only one requesting the room change from building 19). We moved from room 1967B to 2368B.

This turned out to be a blessing, the room was newer, and the kitchen had better/newer appliances. The air conditioner worked but the WiFi was just as bad. The only annoying thing was that there was a large rip in the cushion of the one chair in the living room next to the couch.

While all-in-all not a bad place, the facilities are nice and the kids who were there seemed to have fun, they had lots of accommodations for kids. With all the other options in the area WE would not stay here again. It is fine as long as nothing needs to be tended to, and maybe next time they will be aware of people doing construction on their property.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: Building 23 is beautiful but be sure to ask how far you are from the pool if you have kids, the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our suite accommodated several people with a king bed, 2 queen beds, and 2 pull out sofas. The facilities were clean and plenty of towels were provided; however, our fitted bed linens were too small on all mattresses. We rented a 3-BR suite but when we arrived, the 3rd BR is actually a small room with a kitchen sink, coffee pot, tv, and sleeper sofa. We stayed on the 5th floor and the A/C was quiet and worked great! Cable tv was available in all 3 BR's as well as the living room but some channels was blurred on all tvs.There were an A and B entrance to the suite, but the A entrance lock kept messing up so we couldn't use it. When needing to use the computer in the lobby for printing WDW tickets, we were charged for usage and for the number of pages printed. We felt as guests this was totally unnecessary, especially since there is FREE WiFi in the room. Our suite was a corner suite with a deck off the living room but the view was horrible (green brush straight ahead & a run down living compound to our right. Our family was somewhat comfortable; we can do anything for a week & will probably re-visit this resort in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just came back from a 1 week vacation there. We absolutely loved it. It was so spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable beds. I am glad to pay to much attention to some of the reviews. The amenities at the resort were excellent. I was just sorry we didn't have a couple of days to relax at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mam512a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#156 of 339 in Orlando
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#17 of 152 in Kissimmee
596 reviews
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing