We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenities, but a terrible (and scary) experience overall”
Review of Coral Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Cay Resort
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'll start with the good parts. Coral Cay offers huge multi-bedroom townhomes with private hot tubs for just a little bit more than the cost of a mid-range hotel room in the area. The playgrounds, pool, and community hot tub were all nice.

Now for the real experience. The condition of the place was pretty poor, but I'll save that for last because this experience was most important. On our second to last day at Coral Cay, my wife and two kids (age 2 and 4) were at the unit alone while I was gone to work. The front door deadbolt was locked. A Coral Cay employee used a key to enter the house. He didn't knock, ringing the doorbell or otherwise announce his presence. My wife happened to be by the front door at the time. He asked if someone had called about the TV (we had, but 6 days earlier, and this gentleman was the one who came down at that time to resolve the issue). My wife of course asked him to leave, and he did. She spent the last 2 days of our vacation scared every minute of someone coming in to the unit uninvited. I immediately called the front office and was told that the front desk clerk would look into it. A few minutes later I got a return call saying that he figured it out, and the maintenance guy just went to the wrong unit. Oops! I explained why this was a VERY big deal. He just said it was a mistake and that was it. I emailed Coral Cay customer service saying I had a very serious issue, explained the situation, and asked for a representative of management to reply as soon as possible. At check out, two days later, the on site manager said that he "had been trying to get ahold of me" about the issue. He said that he was sorry for the mistake. I explained that this could easily have been avoided if they had 1) had a policy to have every employee knock AND ring the bell before entering a unit, like EVERY hotel I've ever stayed in other than this one and/or 2) installed a chain or security bolt that can only be unlocked form the inside on each unit. He said that the units are individually owned and Coral Cay can't control what's inside the unit. This is why my family and I will never return to Coral Cay or any other staySky property again. If you need more reasons, here is a description of a few of the other issues we had while we were there.

It took 2 1/2 days (over 25% of my vacation) and way too many phone calls to the office to get the hot tub hot. It started out at 72 degrees when we arrived. They eventually replaced the heater. The TV emitted a loud, high-pitched electronic squeal about 50% of the time it was on. The master bedroom sheets were clearly slept in when we arrived (dark curly hairs, chunks of what appeared to be boogers, etc.). Most of the clean dishes in the pantry had chunks of dried food stuck to them. The place was generally just run down (carpets were absolutely filthy, huge stains on the couches and chairs, badly run down furniture). There was nothing to darken the bedrooms, so our young kids were up with the sun at 6am each morning until I hung the quilts over the windows (thank goodness I brought duct tape!). The final insult was that after we returned home we realized that we left my daughter's special blankie, stuffed animal and night light behind, sitting on the bed in her bedroom. No one answered at Coral Cay the first 5 times I called -- I was calling from my cell phone that the Coral Cay staff recognized on their caller ID. After the 5th attempt, I immediately called back from my office phone and they picked up on the 1st ring. They said they would look into the missing items and call back. That was a week ago. The items weren't of any value to anyone but my daughter. The overall lack of professionalism from the staff and the manager were extremely disappointing. On our next trip to Orlando, I'll gladly pay a little bit more to get two smaller rooms at a better managed property. Feeling unsafe makes the savings at Coral Cay not worth it at all.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank wildcatmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that your stay at Coral Cay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments, and assure you that your comments will be given to the proper departments for further review. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 642 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Coral Cay last summer for a week. Although the overall reviews were good, it remained thrilling what we would find. And what a surprise it was! We stayed with are two children and had plenty of space. The kids loved the jacuzzi on the patio and so did we. The park is located in a very quiet area but within 5 minutes you are in the heart of kissimmee.
For anyone reading this, do not hesitate. The houses are beautifully decorated and very clean. The only thing missing upon our arrival was a baby cot which we requested. But within minutes it was arranged (thanks Jomal, you were great!). We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a house at the centre lake. There you can even see cranes walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DrRobert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We’re thrilled to hear that our resort exceeded your expectations! We’re glad you and your family were able to enjoy our great amenities and close proximity to all of the Kissimmee attractions! We appreciate your feedback on your vacation experience and welcome you to stay with us on your next visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just stayed at the Coral Cay for 11 nights over the holidays... it was fantastic!! First, we reserved a 3 bdrm condo and they gave us a 4 bdrm. That was a nice surprise! We also had a game room with a foosball table and some board games - and a futon. We had 3 adults, 6 teenagers, and a toddler and had plenty of room for everyone. The hot tub was cold a few days, but the maintenance people did their best to fix it. By the end of our stay it was working again. The place was clean (other than normal stains on the furniture - it IS a rental), and had a dishwasher and washer/dryer. We were able to cook meals and save on our food bill. The weather wasn't the best for hanging out at the pool, but we did go and check it out. Plenty of lounge chairs, etc... The movie room looked really cool too, but we didn't ever have the time to try it out. It was a nice quiet, gated community and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We were able to use their computer and printer to check in to our flights when it was time to go. We were very satisfied with our time there and would definitely recommend this to our friends. Thank you, Coral Cay!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay over the holidays. It sounds like your vacation was perfect for every member of the family. It’s nice to hear that you took advantage of the kitchen and made our resort feel like home. Thank you again for sharing a review, and we hope to welcome back you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Coral Cay and had a fantastic time. The house was very spacious and well equipped and met our every need. The location was fantastic and very quiet and peacefull and having your own hot tub was really nice especially after a long day at the parks! If we ever return to Orlando we would definately stay again by far the best accommodation we have had in America would definately recommend and give you 5 stars +.
Many thanks for a very special stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your comment! We’re so happy to hear you had such a great vacation, and were able to relax after a long day at the park! We appreciate your kind words, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! I can't say this strong enough. We are a family of 6 and normally could not pay this price for something so grand! It was a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom plus a game room townhouse with Lots of room in fact so much that my family in Florida stayed with us! That made 8! It was quiet, clean, and very efficient. In fact I kept saying they thought of everything! We were very comfortable the beds and the house felt like home. The hot tub was fabulous after the long days spent sightseeing. They even have a stackable laundry unit. This was the best vacation we have had so far and we will definitely be back. I miss it already! If you are considering staying here I would strongly recommend it! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnyonye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort. We’re thrilled that you found our accommodations comfortable and that you really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having been to Orlando many times, and we have stayed in Kissimme before, we thought we would give Coral Cay a try. Landing on the 29th of November for 3 weeks, we expected the resort to get busy, but it was very quiet, peaceful, and very pretty. Situated about 1 mile froma Super Walmart on the 192, and 20 minutes from Disney, SeaWorld, and 25 minutes from Universal and the Florida Mall.

The house was 3 bedroomed, 3 bathrooms, outdoor hot tub, and I mean hot. Overlooking the lake in the centre of the resort was very pleasant. The house number was 2407, well kept and very clean. We had a problem after a few days that the hot tub smelt a bit off, so we reported it to reception. The next day the water was drained, refilled and treated, and never had a problem again. The staff are very helpfull and accomodating, willing to help all of the time.

We love the location of this resort, as it's just off the beaten track, but is not too far from all of the things you go to Orlando for.

Thank you for lovely holiday, and we shall return.

PS. The only down was that some people who live there walk their dogs off the lead, and we had a little furry black dog peeing against our netting while we were in the hot tub, and the lady didn't care. And another grey haired older gentleman took his dog onto our drive and let him pee on the flowers outside our door, to which i told him to bugger off. Coral Cay, please address this matter....

Room Tip: There is some noise from the pool on weekends, so we requested a house away from the pool as we don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyHolidays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing about your recent stay. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our helpful staff and location. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us as we are always looking to make improvement. Again, thank you for writing a review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here twice breaking the stay with 5 days in Key Largo - our first stay was fine - the house was clean and comfortable - some grease stains on the furniture spolied our initial first impression but otherwise no problems - the hot tub was brilliant, and the location superb. However our second stay was not as pleasant - we were allotted a different house this time - my son went straight out to check tthe hot tub and found the water cold - he tried changing the thermostat to no avail and so we reported this to reception - they sent someone over to have a look - he insisted that it was just taking time to heat - judging by the time it had already been heating up we calculated that perhaps sometime the next day it would have been warm enough to use - the hot tub was also full of white scum - to cut a long story short we were eventually moved to a different property but this was only because my husband insisted - we found the receptionist and the 'hot-tub specialist' extremely unhelpful! Just another quick note - there were no hairdriers in either property - you will need to request one from reception!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’re sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will relay your comments to the appropriate departments. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we can show you our true potential.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
9.5 mi away
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
5.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
1.7 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#20 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,599 reviews
2.6 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 155 in Kissimmee
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cay Resort

Address: 2300 Caravelle Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5806
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range: $115 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Cay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous new gated resort located minutes from Disney!! Unique selection of 3 & 4 Bedroom town homes with private enclosed hot tub. Guests have exclusive access to clubhouse with cinema, arcade and billiard rooms, and business center next to the outdoor pool and spa. Located throughout the property are jogging trails and 2 children's playgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Cay Hotel Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing