We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa
La Loche
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hated this place.”
Reviewed May 11, 2004

I went on a vacation to Disney with my family and another family of four. When we got to our hotel and asked where to get tickets, we were told that we could get highly discounted tickets from Westgate if we agreed to a one-hour presentation about their timeshares. We thought this might be of interest, so we agreed. They told us we would get a free ride to Westgate as well as breakfast and a free ride to whatever park we were going to when the presentation was done. We thought, you can't beat that. Well, I warn everyone: DON'T GO! Buy the regular price tickets and avoid Westgate! They put us in a room to wait for someone to come out and greet us. We waited 45 minutes before someone came. The person who came took us to get our free breakfast and then into a conference room. We told him that we just agreed to hear the presentation that we weren't going to buy a timeshare. When we told him we were from Canada he said that we weren't eligible for the promotion and left to double check. WE NEVER SAW HIM AGAIN! He left us in this hot room with no air conditioning. After an hour of waiting for him to come back, we decided to go look for him. The the place was huge, we never did find him. We ended up talking to another person, who took us to the counter where they sell Disney tickets (not at the discounted price). All in all, we were there two and half hours (not including transporting time) on our first day of the vacation. What an awful way to start a vacation!

Helpful?
5 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    872
    461
    296
    429
See reviews for
2,004
501
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 9, 2004

Last July I was at Westgate Resorts in Orlando with my family. We were cornered into buying a timeshare. Was told we had 14 days to cancel. We called in on the 3rd day to cancel. They wouldn't cancel - said we have to send a letter. When we send a letter, they said its 10 day cancellation period not 14 so they won't cancel. When we checked our papers cancellation policy was missing. They have called my home about 600 times trying to get money from me to pay for this timeshare which was never used and should have been cancelled. If I am not at home and the kids answer the phone, they harrass the kids on the phone. What a nightmare!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

Charleston, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2004

My family and I stayed here in November 2003, reserved through the military for a great price. The best thing about the place is its proximity to Disney World. I highly recommend either taking your own car, or renting a car, and staying off-site. Because we were in Florida primarily to visit Disney World, we did not explore many of the resort's "perks." Our children (11, 8, 5) absolutely loved swimming in the heated pool right outside our room in the evenings--that was probably the best part. Also, we stayed in the two bedroom w/loft size, which was very roomy for our family of 5. The jacuzzi was a nice touch. The tile floors, however, made everything echo, and it was difficult to watch tv upstairs in the loft, and have a tv going downstairs in the living room at the same time. Often, you couldn't hear one because of the other. Young children and breakable glasses and dishes on a hard tile floor are not a good combination. I would recommend bringing your own paper plates and cups. The kitchen was very sparsely supplied--I would have been quickly frustrated if I'd planned on doing any cooking. Normally, I cook quite a bit when on vacation, but didn't this time because of all the time at Disney World. I was very glad that I had read on this site to beware the maintenance checklist. Because we go through the military, we are "supposed" to not be approached for a sales pitch. However, at this particular resort we were, and I didn't like it at all. Our "guide" continually called and left messages on our phone regarding this "maintenance report." Ultimately, our solution was to ignore the phone messages, and we simply took the phone off the hook so we weren't bothered when we were actually in the room. This was my husband's idea, and I was a little stressed over the whole thing wondering if we would have "extra" charges on our credit card after going home, but we didn't, so we will use the same technique if we go again. Bottom line: a great place to crash if spending the majority of your time at Disney World, especially if you are in the military and take advantage of the Armed Forces Vacation Club--can't beat $249/week. Didn't like the tile making everything echo, and didn't like the attempts to make their sale pitch.

Helpful?
5 Thank btcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2004

We absoulutely loved the Westgate Vacation Villas. My husband, two children, my mother along with myself just got back yesterday from a weeks stay in Orlando. The room we stayed in was part of their Towncenter complex. It was our friends timeshare. We had a screened in balcony so we could leave the door open all night without worrying about bugs. The view was of the beautiful pool area. The condo had two bedrooms. One was a master bedroom for my husband and I with a HUGE square jet tub. The other bedroom had two beds for each of my children and a tv. There is a full kitchen with dishes and a dishwasher. It really saved us money so we could eat some meals there without feeling like we had to eat out everyday. The property is within a couple miles of all the Disney parks and a 15 minute ride to Sea World and Universal. I have read on here many people complaining about the high pressure sales pitches. We were never approached for one of these seminars, but it is probably because we were using our friends timeshare whome obviously owned a condo there already. The people that worked there were very nice and the cleaning staff was always very nice. As far as overcrowded pools, we didn't notice that, but we went the week after spring break. The only complaint I would have is that having the pool open until 11:00 pm, we had to deal with the noise down there until the pool was closed. I'd take that anyday though for the ammenities and space we had.

Helpful?
1 Thank jennapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 20, 2004

what a HUGE disappointment! i was at Westgate 6 years ago with my kids, even owned a timeshare there at the time---and after our 4-day stay there a month ago (we checked out after 3 nights b/c it was so awful) i can tell you that i will NEVER go back -- the place soured us on the whole Orlando area. The condos are okay -- as condos go -- but Westgate's idea of "lakefront" is apparently overlooking a bunch of air conditioning units stuck behind the building with a man-made puddle off in the distance. The other nice ammenities like the continental breakfasts and being able to pick oranges and grapefruit were missing... and the worst of it was that the place was WAY overcrowded... every pool area was swarming with screaming kids, no pool rules enforced at all... not a place for a relaxing ADULT vacation.... Everything seemed to be done on a cheap cheap scale, even the "free coffee and breakfast" for the people who were sitting thru their time-share spiel.... I'd say bring your 6.6 kids and spend your welfare check here. That's the environment the whole place presents.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 13, 2004

My family and myself just came back from our Florida 4day vacation we did not stay @ the Westgate Resort but was approached to sit for a 90mins presentation to receive discount theme park tickets. We were scheduled for 8am presentation. We did not leave Westgate until after 11am and that was only because the sales representatives would not take NO for an answer, they would send one sales rep after another. My husband finally gave in to a vacation traveler package that is not worth the paper its printed on. This was our 2nd timeshare presentation and by far the worst. The property appeared nice but the tactics they use to get a sale are slimy..BEWARE.....

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2004

Just back from a 5 night stay at Westgate. We had a great time. The price was right @ $441.00 for the entire stay which included 2 Epcot tix. The 2 bedroom unit we stayed in was in the 5100 bldg. It was clean and felt very spacious (especially since we had just spent 4 days in a hotel room in the Keys with our two young children). The grounds were well kept and when we had any issues (keys that wouldn't work...) the staff was very responsive. Used the pools (pretty crowded) and the exercise room (adequate). When we went to sign up for our mandatory presentation we were told it was canceled because we are from Calif.
and they can't solicit us...Does anybody know the rule on that? We liked the resort, would stay again and have been recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojairunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you chose us and hope you will visit again.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.4 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#15 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#22 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westgate Towers Resort
Westgate Towers Resort
#32 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa

Property: Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa
Address: 7700 Westgate Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-4630
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Vacation Villas provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with an ideal location just 1 mile from the main entrance to Walt Disney World® Resort and minutes from other Orlando area attractions, family-friendly restaurants and shopping opportunities. The perfect choice for you next Central Florida vacation, Westgate Vacation Villas features accommodation choices ranging from cozy studios to oversized Two-Bedroom Villas with Lofts and a variety of onsite amenities such as 14 heated outdoor pools and the award-winning Drafts Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Vacation Villas Hotel Kissimmee
Westgate Villas
Vacation Westgate
Westgate Resort Kissimmee Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing