We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,930)
Filter reviews
3,930 results
Traveler rating
1,576
995
518
339
502
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,576
995
518
339
502
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrafts sports barwater parkswan paddle boatswestgate town centermini golfmovie theaterbedroom villawasher and dryerfitness centerfull kitchendisney worldfamily vacationspring breakuniversal studiosmagic kingdomamenitiespools
Filter
Updating list...
2,650 - 2,655 of 3,930 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Here's the BIG ISSUE WITH CUSTOMER SATISFACTION - The timeshare sales staff is utterly ridiculous. You can read many reviews and you will see the same thing: Aggressive tactics to get you to come to a presentation and buy a timeshare. It's no different here than the other timeshares I've been to. That is how these places stay in business.. they depend on newbies buying in and owners buying more. Having said that, if you are not in the market for a timeshare, JUST SAY NO and be FIRM about it. They'll give you a B.S. pitch after you check out that you are getting a VIP tour with free wi-fi, breakfast, and $50 cash. It's nothing more than a sales pitch. Just say no. If you really want wi-fi, you can buy it at the front desk for like $10 a day. Then after you decline, a couple of days later, a sales person will call you to say their corporate office requires them to get you to fill out a survey. It's just another timeshare presentation. I told Gama no and her response was "This is how I keep my job." Got news for you: It's not the customer's responsibility to help you keep your job. It's YOUR responsibility to help keep your customers. Again, be firm and don't fall for tactics to get you to meet with people or be somewhere at a specific time. You're on vacation and on YOUR TIMELINE, NOT THEIRS!!!

Overall, the grounds are beautiful. The unit we received - a 1 BR Grand - is very nice. Furniture is a bit dated looking, but clean and in good shape. You'll see by the other reviews, that the condition of the unit you get is completely hit or miss. Some have flat screens and are quite clean. Others have tube TVs and are dirty and disgusting. Therein lies the problem... inconsistency in housekeeping and repair. My advice: ask for an updated unit, 1BR Grand if you can get it, and NOT a unit near a pool (very noisy). If the room's not up to par, switch out immediately. We found the service staff to be very nice and responsive, and had no problems with getting more toilet paper, towels, and other items. The bed was very hard and awful. BUT great location in general - close to everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoad963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were inconvenienced by our timeshare presentations. We are a timeshare resort and we offer each guest the opportunity to go on the tour. Participation in the tours is voluntary; however we do offer incentives for your time and participation. We will make sure the sales department director reads over your review and we will keep working with them to insure a situation like yours does not happen again. Concerning your room, we are working on updating the resort to better accommodate all of our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your One-Bedroom Grand. This particular one can sleep up to four people, has a full size kitchen, as well as a jacuzzi. We thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will come back to stay with us here at Westgate Vacation Villas again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Sales Pressure - Learn to say no; however we did check-in with our reservation (5-10 minutes) passed us to timeshare personnel (10-20 minutes; learn to say no) and then passed to a guide to carry bags and show you to your room and talk up the timeshare again (10-15 minutes). If you dont do the timeshare walk and talk you wont get the WiFi passwords. AT&T has decent service on-site so no worries there.

Let me check-in and be left alone, if I want to attend the timeshare, don't pre-schedule me, don't continue to call me; I am on vacation (and already have a timeshare, that's why I am visiting).

Pools were plentiful, just choose one, plenty of space to walk, jog, run without leaving the property and close to everything right off US-192. (stores and restuarants alike, even Disney)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeepseadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Westgate Vacation Villas. We do have Wi-Fi on property which is free to all of our owners, but is still accessible to all other guests for a fee which can be settled at the front desk. Participation in our timeshare presentations is voluntary, and for your participation we do offer incentives in return for your time. We apologize if the tour inconvenienced you in any way. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the pools, location and the plenty of space to walk, jog, and run. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you and your family can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been owners for quite some time; we upgraded last year. My husband was pressured and the more I objected the more the salesman dismissed me and acted as if I were invisable. Doesn't change the fact that the Westgate Vacation Villas are a top notch property.Service and staff are the best. Location and access to Parks, supermarkets, restaurants, pharmacies, and more is superior.
Trick is to firmly refuse "update" overtures. You can do it but you have to be willing to not
be attracted to $50. What is your time and the aggravation worth?

Room Tip: Ground floors are most accessible. If you have a problem with the location speak up right away, they want you to be satisfied.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you continue to enjoy your stay here at the Westgate Vacation Villas. We expect our staff to provide nothing but excellent customer service and are always pleased to be of assistance for any of our owners or guests. As you mentioned, our location is very convenient as it is only minutes from the attractions, restaurants, and markets. We would like to thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to your Westgate home year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Kitchen cabinets had years of scum with hairs attached. Stove was dirty. Hair on bathroom floor and around toilets. Mold and scum along shower. Hair in tubs. Fingerprints on table tops. Drawers lined with filth / dirt / hair. Bought detergent and washed bedding prior to sleeping first night. Upon check out was told, "Well, since you have decided to check out early we can not offer you a different room." What?! My reply was, "Frankly I can't imagine another room being cleaner." If they put half as much energy into cleaning as they do into sales or flying around on golf carts the rooms might be acceptable. The size of the villa was great. Will never stay at a Westgate again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Don't waste your time or money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the housekeeping issues that you experienced while staying with us. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we are sorry that we fell short during your stay with us. We have taken note of each one of the issues you experienced and will detail them to our housekeeping department. Thank you for your feedback as it assists us in improving all of our services. We trust that when you return to our resort you will find an experience that not just meets but exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are long-time owners, and have avoided the sales pitches in previous visits. However, on our most recent visit, we fell victim to the sales trap after checking in after being told we needed to attend the owner's "survey" the next day, in order to get updated owners cards so we could do activities around the resort along with the promise we'd get $50 in cash.

The next morning, we showed up at the designated time. Patricia informed us this was a "presentation". We went along with it, because we thought in the end we would end up with our new owners cards. After her presentation, we told her we were not in a position to buy more, and were happy with what we had. She asked us why we came, and we told her it was to get new owners cards. She told us we didn't need them, and basically bad-mouthed the guy who convinced us we had to go to the "survey". Had to wait around for 2 signatures (and were told we were rude when we stood up after everyone disappeared). Had to wait in line to get our "gift", only to find out the guy didn't write the $50 cash option on our sheet, so I tracked him down and made him fix it.

Our unit was down for repair (told they were installing new flat screen TVs and granite counter tops), so we were given a unit just like our original one. Whirlpool tub didn't work (jets didn't turn on, water leaked out even when the stopper was plugged), washer took over 8 hours to wash a load of clothes, dryer vent was not attached, and when my husband tried to connect it, his thumb went through the hose as it was so dry and brittle. They did replace the washer and gave us a new dryer vent when we called, but it seems like maintence is not on top of their list (even though we pay maintenance fees!!). I like staying at Westgate, but we were honest in telling the sales people we would not subject our friends/relatives to the high pressure sales. Every time we go, they try different angles, but I'm pretty sick of it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pet8322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We truly apologize for the experience you encountered with our sales team. These representatives are there to ensure your upmost satisfaction and to assure you of the investment you made. Participating in the updates is voluntary, and we do offer incentives in return for your time. As an owner you are given valuable information concerning our newest features and updates to the units and property. We cherish our owners business and will also forward your maintenance and other concerns to the correct department. We thank you for your feedback and certainly look forward to all your future visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews