We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad..even with the timeshare presentation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oak Plantation Resort
Ranked #93 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Columbia, S.C.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not bad..even with the timeshare presentation!”
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Cleanliness & room amenities

First of all, let me say that I have an obsessive compulsion against dirty things, mostly stained things, even if it's old and I know that it has been cleaned. Although I felt squeamish at first knowing we'd be staying in a time-share, I was pleasantly surprised.

The kitchen, bathroom and living area was remarkably clean. There were a few things that seemed a bit out of date, but we were shown models of renovations that will be complete in '08 and we were satisfied.

The 1-bedroom Savannah room can get small if you pull out the sleeper couch, but otherwise, things were nice. There was a quaint dining room table, plus all the amenities you would expect, small washer/dryer combo - one unit and it worked! nifty - dishwasher, blender, toaster, coffee maker, full fridge, etc.

Service (including timeshare)

I was really being picky about this...because I knew I would come back and write this in Tripadvisor, but everyone was very friendly. When we asked for towels, they were sent to us promptly. The front desk folks were quick to walk outside to see if we were having problems with the gate.

I used their internet cafe, and the guy who mans it was chatty and directed us to some free stuff in the lobby. The cafe had great 54 mbps reception wirelessly through Linksys, plus a few other computers, a TV and several board games and snacks and fountain drinks. (The guy who runs it loves Cartoon Network!) You can even access the internet on the patio outside the internet cafe after hours.

As expected, we were quickly ushered in after a light breakfast at the sales presentation center. Al was your typical salesman, but was quick to point out the benefits of staying in a timeshare. It did take an hour and a half, but surprisingly, we ended up getting a timeshare. Now my family and I both are EXTREMELY skeptical of these deals, but we were given a great offer and they paid for our trip for buying and encouraged us to stay again for free.

The current condos only have a VCR and two regular TVs, albeit with ample closet space. However on the tour, we were shown brand new facilities, including flat screen TVs and DVD players. There's even a place to rent them.

The pool area is nice and kid-friendly. We were offered discounts at the tiki bar. The nice thing about their pool is that it's open until 1 a.m. in case you come in from a late night of theme parks.

They gave us a couple bottles of sparkling apple cider to celebrate. We ended up spending about 4 hours there to complete the sale. We were also given two tickets to Universal Studios in a separate activity center. There's always music playing in little speakers on the grounds which was a nice touch.

The resort can be difficult to find in that it's along a major strip in Kissimmee. It takes about 15-30 minutes to get to Disney or Universal, depending on traffic. However, the parking garage and the main entrance to Universal is another 20 minute walk, so be prepared for that. The folks in Florida drive insane (sorry, but they do!) so please be warned as you are traveling in and around the resort.

This isn't related to the resort but Georgia and Florida is being besieged currently by these little black bugs that are mating and fly around attached to each other. Thousands upon thousands of them. It was quite disturbing, so be aware of this while traveling.

Overall, we are looking forward to spending more time there again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
16 Thank tanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    305
    163
    136
    257
See reviews for
558
198
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

I loved the resort but don't do the free breakfast. What was surposed to be a hour took about 4-5 hours. You will waste half of your day hearing how good the resort is and how cheap it is. For the sake of saving a few dollars on some tickets it is not worth it in the long run.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank newfielegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed for a week in August. The villa was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The pools were so relaxing after long days at Disney, etc. Fully equipped kitchens made it easy to eat in. Conveniently located grills made for relaxing cook outs. Everything we needed was located close by and easy to find. We will definitely stay again. I've gone on many vacations, and this was the most relaxing place I've ever stayed, with a very accomodating, friendly staff .

  • Liked — pools
  • Disliked — noisy people above us
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lllljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

This facility is not friendly to timeshare exchanges. We had to book one bedroom, for five because they don't offer 2 bedrooms to RCA timeshare owners. Not only that, they would not upgrade us unless we paid a $50.00 per night fee. They had plenty of rooms. We found out from owners that the room they placed us in was the smallest 1 bedroom that you could have. It was REALLY small. So, if we came for the purpose of buying, they way we were treated was about as bad as you can get, business wise.
Now, the rest of the staff was friendly, the place was nice. But the washer in our room leaked and had to be fixed. They have VCR MACHINES, not DVD!!! So watching movies in your room is out.

I wouldn't come back.. Sorry,,,to many places to stay in Orlando to be treated this way.
Sadly for them, we are really not a family that is hard to please.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Unwillingness to upgrade unless we paid a fee.
  • Tips/Secrets — Plenty of othe places to visit in Orlando... Check them out.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JMSLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

We have just returned form Oak Plantation Villas. Before we went we did not know what to expect due to some of these reviews. However it is a fantastic accommodation. We had 2 one bedroom villas, they were in block 10 which had recently been renovated. The villas had an adjoining door between them, which we left open, giving us access to both villas. They were lovely. Both villas were spotlessly clean with great facilities, the kitchen had everything you would expect it to have. The whole villas were very comfortable. We had maid service and they even cleaned away our dishes.

The sports facilties were great you just have to leave your passport with reception if you are wanting to have use of their rackets etc. The bbq's are scattered all over the resort and they are cleaned each evening. The swimming pool was fantastic, the kids loved the pools. The drinks were not too expensive and the bar also sells food. The dive in movie evening was great, started at about 8pm and was a great atmosphere. They also had other activities by the pool such as painting, DJ etc.

The staff were very friendly and would do anything to help. Security were always going around the resort so you always felt safe.

This was nicely situated with a wallmart within 1 mile. There were alot of restaurants near by - outback steak house, ponderosa to name a few.

We have been to Orlando several times and have stayed in hotels and holiday homes. However we loved this accommodation and will be going back.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — The only thing they did not have was BBQ tools
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Linoliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

This is a very peaceful resort, out of the hustle and bustle of the general touristic area. If you enjoy a relaxing atmosphere when you're not doing your hectic park runs this is for you. They also have lots of family activities, like family movies in a big screen which you can watch even while bathing in on of the two pools. It's by the Osceola Square Mall and you will be in Disney in 15 to 20 mins tops. If you're hungry, there's several places inside the resort, but also just on 192 there's tons of restaurants of all price ranges. My family is used to coming to the area, and this was one of the least stressful places we've stayed in.

  • Liked — Family ambience.
  • Disliked — Size of rooms.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank josesolismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We just returned from a two week stay at Oak Plantation. We had a terrific time at the resort. We have two kids and they also enjoyed the resort a lot. There were a lot of families there and the staff were wonderful. Our unit was very clean and spacious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The family atmosphere.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank neckel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
1.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#17 of 152 in Kissimmee
596 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
8.8 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Resort and Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#23 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,383 reviews
13.0 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,806 reviews
3.1 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts
Legacy Vacation Resorts
#13 of 62 in Kissimmee
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plantation Resort

Property: Oak Plantation Resort
Address: 4090 Enchanted Oaks Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34741-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded hammock of majestic oak trees, Oak Plantation is quiet and comfortable, yet close to everything-a distinct advantage among resorts in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure® Orlando and SeaWorld® are just minutes away. There's so much to see and do in beautiful Central Florida, no matter how many vacations you've spent here you can keep coming back - and never be disappointed. At our Orlando Kissimmee resort, you're right in the middle of all the excitement.Oak Plantation Resort offers children's activities, a playground, a video-game room, a fitness center, and picnic areas furnished with barbecue grills and tables.A Wednesday night "dive-in" movie by the pool with complimentary popcorn is available to all guests. The hotel also provides daily pool activities.The resort provides complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios®, and SeaWorld® theme parks. Power up with a full breakfast buffet everyday from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. for only $7.95 (Adults) and $5.50 (Children ages 4-9). Free Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Plantation Hotel Kissimmee
Oak Plantation Kissimmee Florida
Oak Plantation Villas Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing