We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely ridiculous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort
Ranked #84 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked our trip here through a travel agent for spring break. Our entire stay was paid in advance. After driving 15 hours to get here I was first ignored by the extremely rude front desk ladythen after I asked her if there was someone to check me in she looked at my papers from our agent and informed me we did not have a reservation! She continued on to look through her computer and rumble off several random people's names looking for a reservation (none of which were mine) then told me to just wait for the manager. She never called him, she told me have a seat while she checked someone else in. After waiting 30 minutes, I went out to tell my husband what was going on and returned. At this point there was a man at the desk. I asked if he was the manager and he was.(thanks so much for the help rude lady) he looked in the computer to finally find they had booked us for last month not the dates we paid for! Thankfully since I had my papers they had to accommodate us.
We were here 5 days. We had housekeeping once!! I had to ask for supplies to clean my own unit when noone came to clean.. our garbage disposal did not work. When we used the dishwasher the sink overflowed nasty puke looking water from the garbage disposal. None of the phones in our rooms worked. No cable! The light in one of the rooms didn't work. We definitely didnt need an alarm clock with the sound of peacocks screeching constantly! The hot tub smelled like pee and feet. Like so bad we had to complain. The pool was dirty. After complaining the pool got cleaned once while we were there. I could not believe this is seriously considered a resort!! Especially for what we paid. I would not ever recommend this olace to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Where to begin this was the worst experience I've ever had staying at a hotel to the point we didn't even stay we went and checked in another hotel. I have never experienced such an unfriendly staff and I was
dealing with the front desk manager. Please don't consider picking this hotel based on the fact that you will have shuttle service to any of the theme parks that is completely incorrect nowhere on their website do they say you must give 24 hours advance notice to use a shuttle and then only the first 14 people will be able to get one. As I was checking in and arguing with the front desk manager because she couldn't find my reservation she claims it was an error on the booking party she was very rude and unprofessional. During that time another guest came in to
complain that he did not have a working air conditioning and it had been leaking all over the floor they said they were having someone fix it that day but he said he's been waiting since the morning they were very rude and uncooperative with him as well. You can't check in until four I explained I had a car full of
groceries that needed to be refrigerated considering the hotel offers a full kitchen and it was only an hour difference as I was trying to check in around
three if it all possible most
hotels will accommodate you with an early check-in or at least offer an alternative. Since she
made it clear I would not be able to use shuttle service that day for not giving 24 hours advanced notice I then asked to give my notice for the following day at which time she replied we already have our 14 people so you will not be able to use the shuttle service that day
either. You must check out by
10 AM when I asked if I could possibly get a later check out I was denied that has never happened to me at a hotel
either. I explained that I stay at
Disney hotels all of the time to take advantage of the transportation and not have to drive home when we get out of the parts so late her response was well this isn't the Disney
hotel! At this time she asked me for my credit card I asked her why she needed my credit card as everything was prepaid and obviously I would not be charging to my room if there was a resort fee I could understand but she wanted to put a $50 hold on my card for no reason I've never done that at a hotel either inless I planned on charging to my room which I did not as I explained this to her she said I can either pay the $50 or leave and go to another
hotel wow I have never
experienced something like that and the fact that she was so rude with me in front of my children the entire time made it all the more shocking. The very
little that I saw was extremely dirty and I was fearful of going to my room and having it be just as dirty or having a broken air conditioning and 85° weather I told her maybe going to a hotel was the best idea she said good luck see you bye. As I was
walking out with my children she's very sarcastically said have a nice day and laughed. It
is shocking that she is the front desk manager and treats people this way I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and she would probably be the main reason why. You don't
mind taking a chance on a broken air conditioning in Florida weather LOL or dirtiness and possibly bedbugs I would recommend you stay far away from this resort!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
11  Thank Orland0michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We sorry that you were so dissatisfied.
Unfortunately we do not advertise the shuttle schedule on our website, but t we do provide a toll free number for guests to call with any questions that may not be answered on our site.


We apologize if you were upset and did not appreciate our hotel and it's services and we'll continue to work hard to make Oak Plantation better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My family stayed here just last week and we were very disappointed. First of all when we got there and checked in our key did not work for our room. We had to go back to the front desk then Angel sent the maintenance to go fix our lock, the gentleman worked on it for awhile and it he said he had to change the lock, so we left and came back and the key still didn't work. I asked if we could switch and Angel was very nice and gave us a different room where the key worked. The place is very run down and needs a lot of upgrades. The pool was very dirty. I will never stay here again. The only thing positive is that Angel who was working the night we checked in was very nice a was doing the best he could with all he had to do by himself he had no help and a lot of unhappy people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We are truly sorry for the issue you experienced. We would like to speak with you. Please contact our Customer Service Manager at 407-847-8200 extension 4212 to discuss future accommodations and incentives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Im unhappy with room service my tub is dirty my floor was not mopped before we arrived I called the next morning at 10 to get them cleaned while we were out came back at 6p to see that that did not address my concerns no im very upset my toddler doesn't have a clean tub to bath in on the bright side the activities for the kids were fun but I still rate this resort a 1 were perfer to know that our rooms are clean......

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments and for visiting Oak Plantation Resort. We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet the quality standards that you had anticipated. Please accept our most sincere apologies. Your review is important to us and a copy has been forwarded to our Upper Management Team for further review, and investigation of your complaint.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

First time at the OAK and it was an awesome experience, this hotel is for people who loves Nature and Animals because that's what OPR is all about... Front desk was amazing and opened 24 hours. The pool was amazing as well, the TIKI bar had great choices of food and drinks. My family and I loved it... Amazing view of peacocks, ducks, birds, squirrels, etc. It's very central, everything is near, supermarkets, Wall-Mart, DISNEY, etc....
We stayed at the OAK for a week and everything was fine EXCEPT housekeeping... Housekeeping came when they pleased, and they would just clean around their surroundings.
with in my experience we had three days without house keeping, so I called Front desk and complained and they apologized and gave my whole family a free BREAKFAST (WHICH WAS AWESOME, TASTY, (BETTER THEN DENNY"S) ).
The hotel needs a little MAKE OVER because some stuff aren't working specially in the kitchen.

This Resort out of a 10, my whole family gave them a 9..

I RECOMMEND THIS RESORT FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO ENJOY NATURE AND WANT TO HAVE AN AMAZING EXPERIANCE WITH THERE FAMILY.


I WILL COME BACK THATS FOR SURE.....

Room Tip: any room is good, but rooms closer to the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRZBIG347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for visiting Oak Plantation Resort.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in having every guest feel welcome. We love the beauty of our property and the nature it boasts. It makes us happy in knowing our guests appreciate it as well.
We know that you have many options to choose from when traveling and we appreciate that you picked us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We are currently staying here. We love Oak Plantation, but it does have some problems. It's in a safe area and it isn't within all the hustle and bustle of Orlando. It's only a few minutes to Old Town and I-4. I love all the activities. We went to family bingo and pizza night (which was free!). The pools are nice, but I wish the one was heated a little more. My big issues with this place are the maintenance and housekeeping. On the playground there is a baby swing and regular swing, and the regular swing is literally broken in half. Seriously Home Depot has replacement swings for $20.00. In our room our dryer is broken. The light cover on the fan is dangerous. I went to pull the cord to turn the fan on and it fell down. My husband put it back up and tightened the screws and it fell down again! We ended up taking it off and it is now sitting in our closet. Housekeeping is awful. We requested towels on Sunday. We called four times and never got them. So last night (Tuesday) at 10 p.m. we get a knock on our door from housekeeping with towels. It only took them two days!... We really like Oak Plantation because the location is good and since we have kids we like staying in something that feels like an apartment rather than a one room hotel. I wish they would get better maintenance and housekeeping though...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sp F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

First the positive: WIFI was plentiful and I streamed video content with no problems.

Now the rest: threadbare carpet so old you just can't clean it anymore, rusty sink, still waiting on the blown-out bulb replacement. Movement in the unit above me sounded like a stampede. Noisy pipes. The front desk personnel I met were really trying hard, but their efforts in the front of the house were not matched by the back of the house. This could be a wonderful place, and I'm happy that some other reviewers enjoyed themselves, but that was not the case for me.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit so you don't have to listen to footfall from above, and please be mindf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gratefulal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for visiting Oak Plantation Resort and taking time to leave your comments.

We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet your standards. Please accept our apologies. There is no excuse for your situation. Please knoe that here at Oak Plantation we take every complaint seriously.

Your review is important to us and a copy has been forwarded to our Upper Management Team for further review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
1.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#22 of 154 in Kissimmee
631 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royale Parc Suites
Royale Parc Suites
#6 of 154 in Kissimmee
1,684 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Flamingo Waterpark Resort
Flamingo Waterpark Resort
#75 of 154 in Kissimmee
425 reviews
13 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,865 reviews
2.7 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#21 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort

Address: 4090 Enchanted Oaks Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34741-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $61 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded hammock of majestic oak trees, Oak Plantation is quiet and comfortable, yet close to everything-a distinct advantage among resorts in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure® Orlando and SeaWorld® are just minutes away. There's so much to see and do in beautiful Central Florida, no matter how many vacations you've spent here you can keep coming back - and never be disappointed. At our Orlando Kissimmee resort, you're right in the middle of all the excitement.Oak Plantation Resort offers children's activities, a playground, a video-game room, a fitness center, and picnic areas furnished with barbecue grills and tables.A Wednesday night "dive-in" movie by the pool with complimentary popcorn is available to all guests. The hotel also provides daily pool activities.The resort provides complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios®, and SeaWorld® theme parks. Power up with a full breakfast buffet everyday from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. for only $7.95 (Adults) and $5.50 (Children ages 4-9). Free Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Groupon, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Grand at Oak Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Plantation Hotel Kissimmee
Oak Plantation Kissimmee Florida
Oak Plantation Villas Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing