We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Affordable Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Maingate
Ranked #30 of 161 Hotels in Kissimmee
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Affordable Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a 10 day flight-hotel package with Westjet. We booked kind of last-minute and paid $660 pp taxes in - which was a very good deal because I found lots of flight-only prices to Orlando to be $500-700 - with no hotel included!

I always read Tripadvisor reviews before booking anything and for the most part our experience here mirrored what I had read from other travellers.

PROS

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.
Hotel was older but very clean.
Full-size fridge in room.
Pool and hot tub were both a good size and very clean.
5 min to Disney.
15-20 min to Universal.
Close to hundreds of restaurants - 2min to Walgreens - 5 min to Target.

CONS

Breakfast area really small and busy (exactly what everyone else says)

No Fitness Area

Pool was NOT heated (I would guess it was 72-73F - no way it was 80F+)

Lady who works in the lobby of the hotel at the tourist kiosk (she sold us Universal passes) is a little offside and could be a little crazy!!! LOL I cannot describe it any other way but she was a total weirdo!!! Also, when we went to use the passes she printed out for us at the park, the scanner couldn't read them so we had to go to guest services for new passes which was a bit of a pain. I would have gone back to complain but I didn't want her to murder me and wear my skin as a hat :)

Overall, for what we paid, excellent value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an affordable Orlando vacation.

Room Tip: We had a pool view - It was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonnyF1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    350
    131
    60
    39
See reviews for
422
210
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were exhausted when we arrived and were told they needed a credit card to check in. We stayed for 13 days and I found out on day 9 when I couldn't use that credit card anymore, that they had billed my card for 7 days accommodation at a higher rate quoted to me. In addition, they had placed a hold on my card for the 13 days accommodation at a higher rate than quoted. I had taken their initial quote with me and when I confronted the staff with this, was told 'computer says'. It was resolved but only because I was adamant. They do no ask you to sign a form with the hotel procedure and charge the card unknowingly. This is a serious breach in trust and it is illegal. The manager who was supposed to be on duty was not there even though the sign said she was available. This experience ruined my stay at the hotel!
The safety certificate for the elevator had expired in Aug 2011. Breakfast was disgusting and we had pb&j toast each morning. The buses are too small to manage the hotels they service and one often ends up standing after a very long day in the parks. We had cockroaches in our room. All in all this hotel was terrible and NOT a disney hotel at all! Will never visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dissatisfied30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent 8 days at the hotel from Feb 23-March 3, 2012. Room was utilitarian but clean. Despite the fact that the hotel stay was prepaid, they asked for a credit card for "incidentals". I should not have provided a card as there are really no incidentals except for extra breakfast (only 2 provided) or drinks charged to the room and I preferred to pay cash for these. We were tired from a long flight and waiting until 4PM to check in so I provided the card. Big mistake. After paying for any extras (less than $20) in cash and checking out with a zero bill balance, arrived home to find a $518 charge to my credit card. We are now calling to investigate. Most of the guests seemed to get free stays as part of a time-share seminar. Will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justwebsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had our family of 14 people, 9 adults and 5 kids.The service was great, the location was great, the pool was great and the nearby restaurants within a very short walk were a huge benefit (Outback, Chicago Pizza and Publix supermarket). The staff could not have been better in accommodating our group especially Veshti at the front desk.
The free breakfast was awesome - a huge savings.

Room Tip: Try to get a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdtrips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one night with family and friends to celebrate my son's 7th birthday. The rooms were great...spacious and clean. Breakfast was very good as we had no problem getting a seat and plenty of food to go around. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett3371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent, affordable hotel close to the Disney and Universal parks. I wasn't expecting much with a <$90 per night rate, but was pleasantly by the cleanliness and size of the rooms. We have five people (2 adults, 3 kids - 14, 10 and 5) in a two-bed suite (with fold out couch) and never felt cramped. The fridge and microwave came in handy too. The pool area was clean and decent sized. The breakfast was good and I liked the inclusion of beans and rice in the buffet. Get to breakfast early, because it does get crowded fast. Also, the wooden tables on the patio are very wobbly, so be careful with your cranberry juice! The first night, due to being tired from the day at the parks, we ate at the on-site restaurant "Jumbos." Typically, I avoid hotel cafes, especially with all the choices nearby, but I have to say the food was excellent and our server, Emily, was fast and friendly.

Room Tip: We had an even numbered room (346), facing the parking lot while the odd numbered rooms faced the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffettPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my fourth stay at this hotel. The rooms are nice with decent size beds, bathrooms clean, pool good. Within walking distance to a grocery store and a chain restaurant.

Staff: Friendly
Room: better than average for the price and chain

About the breakfast---they used to have a fairly good sized breakfast area. They've replaced a large part of that area with a bar. You do the math...where might their priorities be? Families going to the parks or college students? I guess the bar brings in more money and subsidizes the lower cost of the hotel. But, it was still too bad.
About the transportation to the parks: bring a car. Otherwise you may feel trapped. Their buses run a limited schedule and you won't be able to get back to the hotel during the day if you need to escape the park. (It is a relatively short drive to all the parks).

Full assessment: Nice hotel with a really good price. Use the money you've saved to rent a car.

Room Tip: I've stayed on the second floor multiple times and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#29 of 161 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
0.9 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#18 of 161 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#47 of 161 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Maingate

Property: Clarion Suites Maingate
Address: 7888 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1738 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located two miles west of the Walt Disney World entrance. This Award winning hotel offers Complimentary breakfast, Free Shuttle to major theme parks and Free wireless Internet. Studio Suites sleep six people with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, refrigerater, microwave, coffee maker. All rooms refurbished in 2007, tastefully decorated with new furniture, carpet, bedding, linens. Oversized heated pool, Jacuzzi and poolside Cabana Bar. Eleven restuarants within walking distance as well as shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Maingate Resort
Kissimmee Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing