We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend for going to Universal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caribe Cove Resort Orlando
Ranked #17 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The size of the 3 bedroom is very large, but:
a) There was a smell of mold in the apartment and we were not on the top floor. Could not find the source. It's not that the bathroom was dirty but that there was this mold smell that would not go away. Not good for people with allergies
b) Distance to Universal is too large. 45 minutes minimum each way. That's more than 1.5 hours lost per day in travel. Distance may seem short, but it's mostly traffic jams like rush hour traffic.
c) Fire Alarm went off at 6.50am one day. Ruined most of the day, making us get up late (having to go back to bed). Kids were tired and so cranky that one of them did not even want to do the rides. Spend so much money not to be able to take advantage of it. You will only get a "sorry" and that's it! Firemen blamed equipment and Hotel blamed someone full pulling the handle (covering the fact that they have defective equipment?).
d) Computer in lounge to print the boarding passes was so slow (virus, poorly maintained?) that I wasted 20 minutes trying to print the passes and then gave up (even after rebooting the PC).
e) WiFi in the room did not work. Could not see the SIID. Instructions were not even clear.
f) Problems with the apartment such as no cold water in the shower in the master bathroom. Hot water was burning hot so could not use the shower and then it was really hard to keep it form dripping (felt like it was going to break the handle trying to get it to stop dripping). Placement of switches is overall weird.
g) Surprise $117 resort fee and cleaning fee upon arrival. So what ever the price is that you think you are going to pay, add $117.
h) Dishwasher but no detergent for the wash of the dishes. Blinds in one of the room was letting a lot of light through (you don't need to turn the lights on to see what you're doing). This is because it faces the front of the building and there are lights in the corridors. Fortunately, not a problem for some of the kids (but would be for me).
Mattress comfort was fine. View on the back end of our apartment was on the woods so quiet. Not sure about everyone.
Would not go back: Too many problems, more expensive then expected and seemingly not well maintained.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith O, General Manager at Caribe Cove Resort Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

I will be reaching out to this guest individually to find out the room they stayed in to figure out the issues in the unit. we are 30-40 minutes away from Universal so that is something that is a decision if you want a great condominum and quiet atmosphere. The Fire Alarm did go off and we did have verifcation that it was pulled.

We do hope this guest decides to come back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was very dis satisfied with this resort. We used Maingate shuttle a few days and they were late. We ended up missing our character breakfast one day. Lost our money on it. We also were not able to see the popular Disney fireworks show either, due do the fact that we had to follow times on the shuttle sheet. It was so inconvenient, we were at the mercy of them pretty much and they told us when to be ready and what not, we wish we had better flexibility. The next day we paid 100 round trip for 6 of us to universal. Didn't get there for almost 2 hours later.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith O, General Manager at Caribe Cove Resort Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

I am truly sorry this guest had the experience with Maingate they had. We have decided to stop working with Maingate moving forward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My family had a great stay at the resort. In my opinion its more like an apartment not a resort. We stayed in building 4 & villa 207 in the back of the property. The villa was a two bedroom two bath; the master bedroom had a king size bed and the second room had two twins. Both rooms had cable tv, large closets, hangers and ample drawer space. Both bathrooms were large; the master bath had a large tub. The bathroom had a blow dryer. The kitchen was large and stocked with kitchen needs. The living room was comfortable and there is a table for six.

Over all a great stay. About 10 minutes from Disney and 25 minutes to Universal. Very close to gift shops, grocery store, and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank adgt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was the second time that I have stayed at this resort the first time was last year.This year we stayed three nights in Dec. The first time I stayed here the only real complaint that I had was that the beds were really uncomfortable, however this time I knew to ask for the rooms with the new mattresses so we had no problems with the beds. Unfortunately, this time we had problems with the ice machine so I went to the front office to let them know and also to tell them that there was a nice size hole in the wall I did not want them to blame us for the whole. The lady at the front said that they would send someone up to fix the ice machine, but they never did and we were to busy to keep hounding them to send someone to fix it. What I also don't understand is that the receptionist knew that there was a nice size whole in the wall and yet she still put me in that room? This is not a cheap place to stay so I expect to at least not have to look at a hole in the living room area during my stay. I also noticed that since we stayed in the three bedroom villa this time we noticed in the third bedroom there is a glass like window that shines a whole lot of light into the room from the outside walkway and there is nothing you can use to cover this window up so it makes sleeping difficult if you like a dark room. On the up side I really do love the location of this resort and it is never to crowded or noisy it has a very relaxing environment, and I also like that the villas are great sizes, and are stocked with almost anything you need. I am still undecided if I will go back here next year or check out something else.

Room Tip: Always ask for the villas with new mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanny0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just stayed seven nights at Caribe Cove on a Disney trip with my daughters family. It was all that was stated and more. We had little ones that needed to come home to a full house. That is what we got! The kitchen, laundry and bathrooms were great.. The pool and hot tub were enjoyed by all and the staff at the property were very nice and helpful. They arranged for a rental van for us and made sure we were taken care of when we needed something. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. Place has a great staff, beautifully maintained grounds and is very clean. The room we had 5-501 had the worst beds I have ever slept on! Wyndham spend some money and refurbish the place furniture is tired and beds are worn out. Also the carpeting needs to be replaced with tile floors. TV's are ancient. But you do have a dvd player and one free movie a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbinchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith O, General Manager at Caribe Cove Resort Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We are working with Owners on replacing their beds and we will contact this owner directly to hopefully have them replace as we want everyone to have a good experience

Thank you

Keith Odza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here with 5 adults and couldn't be happier.

Amazingly low price, great property with a great facilities, and awesome place to stay. Only drawback is not much else in the immediate area, you need to drive 5 minutes into town for any stores/restaurants but it's still worth it. Furniture in the room is a little older but still in good shape and clean. Had quiet, good nights sleep during our stay. Best place I've stayed for the value especially, we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
8 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
10.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#21 of 155 in Kissimmee
642 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.9 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,893 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Cove Resort Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Cove Resort Orlando

Address: 9000 Treasure Trove Ln, Kissimmee, FL 34747-3029
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $114 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribe Cove Resort Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst beautifully landscaped grounds, just off 192, Caribe Cove Resort offers 2 and 3 bedroom condos in elevator buildings. With private screened patios, enjoy dinner outside enjoying the Florida sunshine or kick back in your living room and catch a complimentary movie from the DVD service in the lobby. Around the resort, relax by the infinity pool or take a soak in the hot tub. If being active is more your speed, enjoy our 24-hour fitness center or a game of basketball or billiards. Our front desk is staffed 24-hours for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Cove Resort Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Cove Resort Orlando Hotel Kissimmee
Caribe Cove Hotel Orlando
Caribe Cove Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing