We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

We decided to go to Orlando for the first time with our kids, and looked around for some nice resorts. we came across the lighthouse Key, and imediatly fell in love. we arrived at the resort after a long drive from Toronto, Canada and cheked in, they upgraded us from a 2 bedroom to a 3 bedroom for free because our room was not yet ready. we were unsure about staying on the first floor, when we entered our room, we were so pleased!!! we LOVED IT. I would Recommend this to ALL OF MY FRIENDS and FAMILY!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    114
    26
    16
    13
See reviews for
386
48
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

I just returned from a weekend stay at Lighthouse Key. We live in South Florida so we are in Orlando often and always looking for good places to stay. We traveled with our 6-month old, my parents, and my sister and brother. We got a 3 bedroom, 3 bath "condo" that was GORGEOUS! and equipped with everything you could want and more. The room was clean and nicely decorated and very comfortable for 6 adults and an infant! We arranged in advance for a pack and play/portable crib and when we arrived it was set up in one of the bedrooms with a sheet on it. The resort itself is small, two buildings, the lobby/deli/spa building, and a pool area. The pool area is lovely - two pools, one smalller salt-water pool, and a larger family friendly pool. There is also a hot tub. at the pool area there is a deli/ice cream shop and a bar that are relatively reasonably priced. Everyone was very nice and courteous and we had a great stay overall. It seems like it is a bit far from the disney parks BUT they give you directions to take a back way to Disney that avoids ALOT of the traffic. Be advised though, that if you are going west on 192 from the turnpike, it is about 20 miles and from I-4 is about 5 miles. It's a little hard to find the entrance, especially at night but overall it is a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Let me start by saying that we live in Tampa so this trip was all of an hour or so from our house. For us this is a great, economical location for a long weekend at the Disney parks. It is absolutely more cost-effective than staying on property plus it is a condo so you can put the kids down for an afternoon nap without having to tip-toe around the hotel room. The drive to the various Disney parks took approximately 20 minutes in the off-season.

Pros: It was clean and brand new. Easy access to the parks. Absolutely no solicitation regarding the purchase of a timeshare unit.

Cons: We rented a two bedroom however the second bedroom had a twin bed with a trundle. Unfortnateley we had assumed that the second bedroom would have two twins that could be pushed together similar to what we experience when we rent a condo at the beach. So keep that this in mind. Also, there are only 2 buildings that have been completed the rest is just flat land where they stopped building. Didn't impact our stay at all but it shows you the impact of the recession.

As for the comments in previous posts, we did not see any ants but also would not expect to see ants in Feb. You will notice that those posts were from summer stays which is the rainy season and, thus, probably the cause for the Nearby construction would also stir up ants.

As for the comments regarding lack of daily maid service, we initially had concerns about this as well because the condo we rent at the beach has daily maid service. I got over it when we were told by a friend who has a timeshare that the once a week maid service is standard for timeshares. Oh well. We were there for 3 days so we simply put the towels in the washer and dryer. The facility does provide a single use supply of TIde (and diswasher detergent as well). If we were to come again, for longer than a weekend, I would bring detergent from home (or buy at a local grocery store).

We weren't able to access the wireless internet but also didn't try contacting the phone number given to us at check-in if we were to have trouble connecting.

The cable channel line-up is limited. They assume that since you are on vacation that you won't need your monday morning dose of CNBC or Bloomberg.

We didn't try the spa but I have heard from others here locally that it is very nice.

Overall, we would stay again and recommend to others as it really met all of our needs. Once we get past the need for naps we might consider staying on property.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed in the lighthouse key resort over the Christmas/New years holiday 2008. I can honestly say this is by far the best place we have stayed in Orlando (we've been about 10 times). The condo was perfect, everything spotless, lovely furniture t.v's ect. The kitchen was very well equipped and again spotless. We had a nice view from the balcony across a beautiful lake. the swimming pool area was lovely, clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Towels, sheets ect. were reguarly changed and they even put our dishes in the dishwasher and washed them for us! The location was brilliant, in the distance would could even see the Animal Kingdom resort and terror tower! If you're planning on taking a family holiday then I would recomend this resort, you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Clean, spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jadetabs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, Fife
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

These apartments are without doubt the biggest and best I have ever seen or stayed in during my several trips to Florida. We booked a three bedroom because we wanted a lake view and I think all the two bedrooms are on the side. It was far too big for two adults and one 9 year old though. Our son had a King Suite with his own hot tub and ensuite bathroom, walk in dresser and flat panel TV with DVD player and X-Box 360! We had the same minus the X-Box. There was a 42"er in the Lounge too and the dinning kitchen area was massive with all the equipment you needed. The balcony was great for breakfast in the mornings and had a fantastic view of the lake and golf courses. Of a night you could see the fireworks in the distance at Disney. Best of all the room had free wi-fi so I used my ipod touch to get the latest news, weather and to google restuarants and attractions over breakfast.

So what's not so good about Lighthouse?

For a start it's down the 192 in a not so good area, although it is gated and secure. Outside is a collection of cheap motels and diners, a big grotty really. Also the traffic on the 192 in the morning and evenings is hell. I wasn't impressed by the quality of the restaurants on the 192 near the hotel either.

In terms of the Lighthouse itself a few things drove me nuts. One problem was that the swimming pool closed at 11pm on the dot and someone came to chuck you out. Quite often it was 10:30 before we got back because we got stuck on the 192 in traffic! The complex was dead with nothing going on and no one around. We had to ask them to open the pool bar one day! Only two blocks have been built and the rest have been halted due to the recession, leaving the complex small and facilities very quiet (some might like this but our son was bored and resulted in us going to another hotel pool to find some friends to play with) The Deli's good and sells home made ice cream, coffees etc..but not the best stocked I've seen.

I agree with some others about the service too. No one came near our room until we pestered reception about three times. Not even to leave towels or coffee. When they did come they were pretty useless anyway. A couple of times the pools hadn't been cleaned and there were loads of dead insects in them.

Summary

In summary for the price it is good, but I wouldn't stay again because the complex and location let's it down. Also the servicing does too. In the past I've stayed at the Sherton Vistana Villages (not the resort) and although the apartments are not as big they are equally well appointed and the location and complex is much better. Price is similar, try Virgin Holidays. I've justed booked to go back to the Sherton Vistana in June this year so I will report back.

  • Liked — Accomodation
  • Disliked — Location, Servicing, Pool Facilities and Activities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We found the hotel through tripadvisor.com, booked through venere.com based on tripadvisor.com's search for hotels function. Our purpose was to stay 5 nights while visiting Disney World, and another night due unforeseen airport issues that arose at an airport hotel. Everything at the Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa was fabulous. There were seven in our party. Service was great. They were prompt and answered our needs whenever we called. The address is 8545 Irlo Bronson Way. They aren't the ones that have the Mike Ditka website. I believe perhaps Mike Ditka's is the same condo location - but it's contracted out to a different service office - perhaps some of the units are owned and serviced by Mike Ditka's and some are owned directly by Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa. The service - we confirmed, is on-site where we stayed. The three bedroom Grandview was spacious, we had two ECVs that were needed but did not require a handicap room. And there was still plenty of room for our party. We saved hundreds of dollars by shopping at the local grocery, and still were able to eat out for signature dining events special events at Disney. We rented two cars from Kissimee. Once you know where you're going, getting there is truly a breeze. Traffic really isn't all that bad, and we went at peak holiday season. There were no problems getting into the park - unlike the rumors they didn't close once on us. Tip - get to the park early at opening or pre-opening if possible, and use the FastPass. Also, www.touringplans.com or one of the other tour guide plans, e.g., www.tourguidemike.com that you can find on the websites can help to plan out the best times to go to which rides and to prioritize ones that suit your needs is essential. Mousesavers.com was also helpful, and Disboards.com too. Can't say enough about the place, it's gorgeous, clean, saved $, did own laundry for free (there is a washer and dryer in the 3-bedroom condo unit). Also note - the service for cleaning/towels is on the 4th day or so. We'd read some of the reviews so we bought a roll of paper towels and 4 rolls of toilet paper to prepare. I also had bought a box of tissues mid-week just in case. We bought our own powder laundry detergent and powder dishwasher detergent. There is a one-time use only powder detergent that comes with the unit until you can go out for more. Honestly, for the seven people, there isn't really a comparison to on-site in terms of the space, value, and luxury of the place. We played billiards the first night we got there for a few minutes, and we used the two master suites and whirlpool tubs and showers. The decor is really wonderful. Wish we had time to go in the pool, whirlpool, but were really at DIsney. We did ask for toilet paper on the day they cleaned because there wasn't a refill in one of the 3 bathrooms, and they were accommodating right away. We read about the ants review and kept everything clean - it is the South so there will be more ants there - we didn't have problems keeping everything clean (rinse then dishwasher the dishes, don't leave out the maple syrup on the counter). Once after having orange juice, waffles, toast and eggs for breakfast we did see four ants near the sink/syrup when we returned - but some of the maple syrup had been on the counter, which is understandable. After that there was nothing. The trash, you can take out daily there was a common trash disposal area nearby outside in the hallway, we made sure that if we left trash in the trashcan in the kitchen for the day it was tied so it wouldn't be open food, but we pretty much just took it out daily (down the hall outside) and there were no problems at all. We did get a call about the timeshare, but we said no and were left alone. On the balcony of one of our suites we were able to see the Epcot fireworks our first night in, which was cool. After that we spent much of our time at the parks. From my point of view and the description in the AAA tourbook, this is a Condo rental, so you would expect it to be like a condo rather than a hotel, but there is on-site personnel there, so it's better than what we might expect. We found the resort to be an excellent value for the level of accommodations. We had a fantastic vacation and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Close location to Theme Parks, spaciousness, value
  • Disliked — Everything was positive
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Vacationer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

The hotel and the instalations were nice, but the service was a total disaster. I never have had such a bad service. And here are the reasons:

One day they didnt clean the room, and when we call to complain about this they said that no housekeeping were available... and they could do nothing about that.

Then the keys were "disconnected" 3 days, and they took almost and hour to bring new keys so we can enter our villa.

Another thing is that they have charged us one extra night, that we paid when we made the reservation. Now, we have called the hotel to complain about this and instead of solving the problem they just make us leave messagges in an answering machine.

So, if you go to this hotel you have to be aware of the awful service you are going to recieve. Good luck!

  • Liked — The instalations were really nice
  • Disliked — the service was really really bad
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chivslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1fan, General Manager for on-site management at Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2008
My apologies for the service you received during your recent stay. Quality service and a quick response is very important to us.

I am the GM of the on-site management of the resort for Lighthouse Key (Synergy Hospitality).

If your reservation were booked under the Mike Ditka Resorts name, you have booked with an off-site management company. Check-in would be provided at another location, and the on-site management is not affiliated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
8.4 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
5.9 mi away
Reunion Resort of Orlando
Reunion Resort of Orlando
#13 of 152 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
8.1 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa

Property: Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa
Address: 8545 W Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8203
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#1 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#2 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa features spacious vacation condominium rentals 4 miles from Disney with 2-4 bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, and covered patios. Resort amenities include: a full service spa, poolside bar, sundry shop, heated swimming pools, meeting space, game & billiards room, 52-seat movie theater, theme park shuttle and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Key Hotel Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing