We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting Resort”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

This is an interesting resort as it cannot decide if it is providing hotel service or a condo service. We stayed for 12 days in July and house keeping consisted of a change of towels and beds were made up every third day. It was unfortunate that they did not clean the bathroom during this service.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at ground level and the condo overlooked the parking area. The back of the unit did not have windows so was dull at the back. The second bedroom also contained a roll out bed and this was not comfortable. The furnishing are new but were already showings signs of ware and tare.

The high speed internet access is also problematic to connect to if you have the Vista platform on your Laptop. The resort helpline could not resolve the connection problems.

We were also invited to attend a breakfast presentation on the benefits of fractional ownership at the resort which we firmly declined. We made it clear that we did not want to attend but were called a further 2 times during our stay and pestered to attend.

It is also important to note that a resort fee will add to the booking cost.

The resort had plenty of sun beds but when they build more blocks the pool area may be under pressure.

We enjoyed our stay at Lighthouse Key and the friendly service from the reception staff.

  • Liked — Plasma TV
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DJT...DJT...DJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    116
    26
    16
    13
See reviews for
392
48
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My family and I stayed in a 4 bed condo in July 2008 for 14 nights. We were delighted with the accommodation. The quality of the fixtures and fitting were superb. The condo had three bathrooms, two of which were ensuite with double sinks, shower and spa bath. With a fully equipped kitchen, laundry room and huge LCD TV we could ask for no more.

However what lets this accommodation down is the housekeeping. We did not get our room cleaned for the first week and after numerous visits to reception we asked for a full maid service at a cost $70 a day! but we still did not get our room cleaned. After demanding to speak to the manager the room was finally cleaned a couple of days before we were due to leave. We were give clean towels when we requested them but it really was not good enough.

The quality of the reception service alse left a lot to be desired (1) because of our numerous requested being undealt with in relation to the room being cleaned and (2) we had to make numerouse requests to ask for an infestation of ants in the corridor outside out room to be dealt with.

This is beautiful accommodation and the spa gives it that something extra special but we will not be returning as I fear with their policy on cleaning fixtures and fittings will quickly deteriorate. I hope that these are teething problems and that the management takes contol because they have put a great deal of thought and investment into the Lighthouse Key Resort & Spa.

  • Liked — The space and luxury of the accommodation
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cavaliercymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Stayed at Lighthouse Key for two weeks in July 2008, our main summer holiday. Been to the Kissimmee area a few times before so had a good idea what to expect.

Everything about this 'resort' is great, except for two things .......

The welcome breakfast - forget it. A sales pitch trying to sell timeshare weeks at the resort in return for some vouchers at the deli (excellent filled rolls) and a totally useless and unusable gas voucher. Selling timeshare in the US to a family from the UK !!! Don't they know about the credit crunch and the price of airfares due to the oil price. Maintenance fees were very high.

The housekeeping was totally unreliable. They seemed to turn up when it suited. Changed towels every 4 days or so and changed bed linen once in 2 weeks. We ended up helping ourselves to towels from the housekeeping trolley when we returned to the resort after a long day at the parks. Also, the corridors were never swept and would have benefitted from a good scrub. Our balcony was littered with the previous incumbents cigarette ends, and despite reporting this the balcony was never cleaned so remained unused throughout our holiday.

That said, the reception staff were pleasant and courteous and, despite giving me keys on arrival to an apartment that was already occupied (much to my displeasure - and that of the room incumbents) did their best to make our stay enjoyable.

The accomodation (3 bed appt) was very spacious and well appointed. No complaints.

The facilities in the clubhouse are very good - although it was quiet when we were there so not sure if 2 computers in the business suite are adequate when it's busy.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort to other families.... just make sure you find out where the housekeeping staff park their trolleys overnight so you can get access to clean towels.

  • Liked — spacious apartments
  • Disliked — dirty corridors and balcony
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Our family party recently spent two nights in a three bedroom, three bath suite at Lighthouse Key, A Mike Ditka Resort. Note that the Mike Ditka part is a licensing agreement; Mr. Ditka has no ownership in the property. According to the employees, the property is a mix of hotel, timeshares and full ownership.

Currently there are two 5 story buildings of suites and a clubhouse/pool/spa complex that form the resort. The skinny is there will eventually be 14 buildings and more amentities, but there is no construction going on at this time.

The property is 1 1/2 years old, in very good condition. The fully-equipped kitchen had granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and the furniture and appointments were very nice.

The three bedroom suite consists of two king-size bed rooms with ensuite baths, huge soaking tubs and separate showers. The third bedroom is clearly a "child" room, with twin-sized daybed and trundle. The third bathroom is off the hall, and there is a small laundry room with washer/dryer.

Don't think to accommodate adults in the child room. The mattress was rock hard and it appears the resort has elected not to pay for twin-size linens, so there are just folded over king-size linens for those beds. As a result, the twin mattress slid all over the bedstead, the sheets slid all over the mattress (no mattress pad), and I slid right out of the room to the couch in the living room - misery!

The property appears to have "subbed out" the cleaning and linen services. We had to wait an extra hour to check in beyond the stated 4 pm time for the cleaners to finish, and then they arrived in the room without knocking at 10 am the next morning to freshen the towels. Apparently, they only do a real cleaning between guests, otherwise just change out towels and tidy up the beds.

If you are planning to stay and use the kitchen for more than snacks, be sure to bring such things as dishwashing liquid and salt and pepper; also a tea kettle. They do provide some dishwasher powder, a single packet of coffee for the coffee maker, and a small amount of papertowels.

For me the disconnect at this resort is that they are offering a stay as if at a hotel, but the services are more appropriate for an upscale condo with a concierge, not a full-service resort experience with inhouse staff. This is the only reason I haven't given it 5 stars.

The clubhouse complex is nicely appointed, the staff is friendly, and there are two pools and a hot tub, a poolside bar and a deli with sundries and sandwiches. The spa facility is large, although currently they don't staff it full time. We had massages and facials, and although the therapists had to be scheduled in from another property, the quality of the services was excellent. Do book your services in advance if possible.

With the resort location in Kissimmee, you are on the back side of Disney, things are a bit cheaper and a bit more downscale. It is about 30 minutes from the airport. Highway 192 runs in front of the resort and is a major thoroughfare, with two or three lanes in each direction and not a whole lot of traffic lights. So there are many U-turn lanes and people making U-turns everywhere, so keep your eyes peeled and good luck! There are a variety of restaurants, gaudy surf and sun shops, a mini-golf, etc. along 192. Carrabbas is decent for Italian food, Passage to India restaurant was authentic and delicious Indian food.

Despite all the cars and activity on 192, the resort was a quiet oasis. I would stay there again, just not on that twin bed...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. It was absolutely beautiful. Very luxurious!!! I stayed here after a long day at Disney with my 4 sisters and mother. We had a three bedroom condo. It exceeded all of our expetations!!! We were in awe. Very elegantly decorated. Huge condo. Very very clean!!!

  • Liked — The luxurious rooms
  • Disliked — the view from our balcony
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capazools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

This is a great location and great place to vacation at. Its good for small or large families or if you are just traveling with friends. Very spacious and comfortable. It has all the modern amenities (such as xbox & dvd player)you look for in a new resort. Front desk was very helpful giving area information. Housekeeping was great as well. Will stay here as again.

  • Liked — The master king bedroom had a great bathroom & very spacious
  • Disliked — no super wal mart near by
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GRACE1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

This was our first stay at the Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa. I can't say enough about this place! I was a little worried about other reviews that I had read about the housekeeping not being the best, but we didn't experience anything bad at all. We had fresh towels everyday, turndown service with chocolates at night. Housekeeping even cleaned the dirty dishes in the sink and ran the dishwasher. In the past, we usually stay on Disney property, but had six in our party this time and needed more space. I didn't miss Disney property at all! I couldn't believe how big our three bedroom was. Plus, it was so quiet. I knew the kids were out in the livingroom playing XBox 360 but I couldn't hear them at all in my bedroom. Great insulation. VERY CLEAN!!!! Anyone can email me for more specifics. We all loved the accomodations and the people were VERY nice. I found a really good video of the 3-bedroom unit we had on youtube. The url is http://youtube.com/watch?v=9INA1Z8QvGQ.

  • Liked — Very spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Kind of a far drive from Universal
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank amyandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
8.4 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
5.9 mi away
Reunion Resort of Orlando
Reunion Resort of Orlando
#13 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
8.1 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa

Property: Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa
Address: 8545 W Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8203
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#2 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa features spacious vacation condominium rentals 4 miles from Disney with 2-4 bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, and covered patios. Resort amenities include: a full service spa, poolside bar, sundry shop, heated swimming pools, meeting space, game & billiards room, 52-seat movie theater, theme park shuttle and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lighthouse Key Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Key Hotel Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing