We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Experience”
Review of Houlihan's - CLOSED

Houlihan's
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Milledgeville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK Experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The price for the breakfast buffet was pretty good, but the drinks cost about half the amount of the buffet. The omelets were fresh and tasty, but the rest was just OK.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolHopperBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    40
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed, and ban mandatory gratuity”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Saw ad in a Florida promotional brochure, looked OK, so tried it. First gripe, we were a party of 6, 2kids, their parents,and 2 seniors. The sign at the door said parties of six will have a mandatory 18% gratuity added. How appropriate that another incident of this type had just gone viral. The promotion of the day was New York strip steaks, so that is what we ordered. The steaks came thin enough to use for paper, med rare orders were so overdone, at home if I had done that, I would have thrown them out. Service to get our meals were very slow, and there was no follow-up to see if our meals were OK, so could not even complain about the steaks. Part of one order did not arrive until we were almost done. But the Gratuity was already charged, so there was no need to impress us. I would really urge people to completely stop patronizing places with mandatory gratuities, and inform them why you will not be giving them your business. It is only an excuse for poor service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The omelette bar buffet between 8:00am & 1:00pm is well worth a visit, the buffet includes the usual hot and cold breakfast food, but the star of the show is the omelette. The cook prepares it to order as you watch and that in itself was a show worth tipping, the result was a hot, light and fluffy omelette that tasted delicious.
I have no problem recommending this restaurant, and will go back for more for sure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kipperdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm on the can!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I never write these reviews, but this one is worthy...

I read the rather favorable reviews of this place before entering. Let me tell you my experience inside was directly opposite of those reviews I had read.

Our 15 minute wait ended up being 45 minute until my wife finally inquired and found out our name was previously scratched off the list. The hostess was well understaffed. Pay an additional body or two.....

The kids-eat-free thing is a gimmick. Sure, pay $19 for an overpriced entree and they'll throw in a kids corn dog and fries.

The food wasn't that bad, but nothing to write home about.

There was a large table of soccer players from Chicago, well mannered, but one lady just left her two year old to cry nonstop in the walkway, with people having to walk over her. Our waiter came over to ask who the kid belonged to. The kid shut-up once Mom picked it up, which should've happened about 15 minutes earlier!

Weird atmosphere....some hip music playing loudly, yet markets to parents with kids. Just didn't get it.

I thought the staff made the best of a bad situation they were in. They all tried, but were grossly understaffed.

Now, I'm on the can writing this review with an urgent attack. Save yourselves the time, hassle, money, and toilet paper and avoid this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went for lunch and were the only people inside. We started with the chicken nachos! SO GOOD! Probably some of the best nachos ever! Kids were free, so that is always good. We will go back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillieT635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing