We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Point World Resort
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The property in general is nice and seems well kept. It's a VERY average place. Kinda like staying with a friend that just isn't quite as clean as you are. The units are fine, was kind of expecting a little nicer though. The pool closes early and seems to be always filled with people, it's not very big. The hot tub the same way. It offers no real ammenities that a plain old hotel wouldn't offer. The bedspreads were not clean and you don't get a real feeling of cleanliness in the place. The furniture in the unit, especially the bedrooms, were really outdated. The road you drive in on is kinda shady/creepy. It's not set in a nicest of area's. The properties out front and around them are really run down and ominous looking. Our biggest complaint that is almost unforgivable is this smell. It started out subtle when we first walked in but by then end of our stay I was begging for the people to do something about it and they gave me some lame excuse about it being a lizzard maybe crawled into the fridge......ok, well do something about it! I got handed a can of Lysol.......seriously? Which I sprayed half a freaking can in the fridge, freezer, pulled it out and sprayed behind...etc. No difference except flowery scented stink. If you are planning to be gone all day every day at Disney or other activities then maybe this place would be ok. If you want to come back to a luxury resort then you might want to pick someplace else. I was nervous about going outside the resort in the parking lot at night and DEFINITELY wouldn't let my 6 year old son.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 227 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

There were good and bad aspects of this resort.

Good

Nice pool, hot tub, bbq area, playground, tennis court, basketball hoop and out door gym. The front desk will provide you with sports equipment.

3 bathrooms in the townhouse.

Nice covered porch.

Bad

Dirty quilt on the bed. They obviously had not washed it so we had to sleep with just a sheet and fleece.

The bed , sheets and towels were generally of poor quality.

The shower head was weird, did not spray properly

We ordered the cleaning service. It never came.


All in all this place was cheap and had some okay amenities but it wasn't very comfortable and needs some serious upgrades. The cleaning staff seem kind of lazy and management should deal with this problem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Easy_GoingCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We spend time in the Orlando area during the winter for our annual golf or Disney getaway. I have stayed at High Point World Resort the past three years. We when vacation with the family or friends we usually stay at relatively high end all-inclusive resorts loaded with amenities. My first time at this resort, there seemed to be nothing that appealed to me. I found the units a little dated, and the resort itself is small, with only a small pool behind the check-in stattion, with a hot tub -that's it. However, when I compare the price and set-up of High Point compared to a stay at a hotel room, I see it in a different perspective. To begin with, the staff is great. I noticed that several of the desk people have been there a while, which speaks well for the place. They are always courteous and friendly. You can arrive early and get changed before check-in time, which we do when we have a mid-day tee time. Next the rooms are spacious, and have basically everything you need. We have been in both the townhomes and the one-bedroom condos. They are clean, well appointed, and comfortable. There is a flatscreen in the main room, and TVs in the bedrooms.They feature a fold out couch if needed. They are not state of the art and appointed like a $300 a night room, but compared to a hotel room cost, they exceed that value. The place is certainly convenient to everything Disney, as well as a short ride to many of the courses. We usually are out early, and go out for dinner but if we cared to we could easily have cooked in. Obviously there is no shortage of places to eat in this area. Overall, this is a great place for the price. And the people could not be nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed for 10 days. We had two 18 year old kids that hung at the pool or hot tub when we weren't busy. Having 3 bathrooms was so nice. Amenities were really good and just could not have asked for more. They seem to keep updating the place and it is literally 5 minutes from Disney!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank softballmom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here on first trip to Florida 12/2011. We have not stayed anywhere else so have no comparisons but found High Point to be clean, friendly and a great place. The condo was well provisioned bed comfortable and quiet atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again when coming to this area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alvin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just got back from Orlando. Enjoyed staying at High Point. Close to all attractions and nice restaurants and shops. Very quiet as it is located back from the main road. Rooms and grounds were very clean. Had all the essentials in the kitchen.
Nice laundry room if needed.
Pool could be bigger but that and the hot tub were still enjoyable. At no time did it seem overcrowded though.
One suggestion, the safe that is in the master bedroom should be on something so don't have to get on the ground to open and close it.
Other than that, the resort is very good, would defintely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This resort has two styles of rooms - two story townhouses with two bedrooms or single story units. We had a two story unit. Upstairs there are two bedrooms; each of which has its own bath. The master bedroom has a king size bed. The other bedroom has two singles. Between the two bedrooms is a third good sized closet. Each bedroom also has its own good sized closet and a fair amaount of drawer space. The beds were comfortable, but more "deluxe places have better mattresses. Each bedroom also had a fan. In our room, we had to keep the fan on because if we shut if off, it took ten minutes to get rid of a knocking sound. (Someone came to "fix" the problem, only when the person came the fan had been running and it wasn't displaying the symptom.
Downstairs there is another full bath. The kitchen is reasonably sized, but I wish it had mre space for food. (For some reason, they don't provide liquid dish washing detergent and sponges, just dish washer detergent and a scrubber.) There is a combined living room, dining room. The sofa can be made into a bed. The bedding for this extra "bedroom" is in a good sized untility closet which also has room to hang clothes. There is a slding glass door which leads to a nicely sized screened in porch. There are a total of three televisions in the unit, the first floor has a flat screen tv.
All in all, the three of us were quite comfortable in the unit.
There is a swimming pool; it was pleasant - no fancy shape or anything. There were a number of bar-b-que units in close proximity to the rooms. We grilled a few nights.
My biggest complaint was that there was no WiFi in the room - you had to go to their computer room. The WiFi is free, though.
The staff were friendly.
The place is very close to Disney and is about 20 minutes to Universal Studios and even less to Sea World.
We shopped at the Publix and Target down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GAL_Sews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.2 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#10 of 154 in Kissimmee
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#31 of 154 in Kissimmee
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westgate Towers Resort
Westgate Towers Resort
#32 of 154 in Kissimmee
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#21 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,490 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caribe Cove Resort Orlando
Caribe Cove Resort Orlando
#15 of 154 in Kissimmee
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Lake Resort
Silver Lake Resort
#7 of 154 in Kissimmee
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Point World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Point World Resort

Address: 2951 High Point Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1712
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#23 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $105 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Point World Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Point World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Point World Hotel Kissimmee
High Point World Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing