We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melao Bakery

Melao Bakery
Ranked #85 of 786 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
cabo rojo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a great surprise. My husband always suffer when we go to Disney and Orlando because he misses our Puertorican food. But not anymore. Melao has a variety of puertorican food and baked goods. Staff is great. and the food is amazing. The price was also great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    25
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A friend of my wife recommended that we stop by here for some authentic Puerto Rican food. I'm glad we did. I had the mofongo with pork chunks and it was as good as I've ever had. My wife tried the cod salad and yellow vegetable rice and she loved it. We also tried some of their iced drinks and they were really good. Not overwhelmingly sweet. When we walked in there was a large crowd of people. A bit intimidating at first but everyone was really nice and the place definitely has a "home" feeling to it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Libardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Like in the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great place to eat Puerto Rican food. Large lcd screens will show you what is available and the prices. A little overwhelming at first, there are different lines to place orders and can be confusing.The place is always packed and makes you feel like you are in PR. However, once order is placed they will call your number to pick up. Tripleta sandwhich is excellent, and mofongos are very good. Quesitos from the bakery and a coffee are a must to try. Recommended place, when you go, you might be even be greeted by Puerto Rico's own Carlos Merced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Axl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“recomended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I recomend this restaurant, the food is amazing, the employees are frendly and the location was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nayelis5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Latin Explosion at Melao Bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

There is a smorgasbord of happenings here. Relax, we are on Island time. Everything moves at the pace of the Caribbean sea. There is no amount of time spent on family, breaking bread and enjoying each other’s company.

At first entrance it appears chaotic. People milling around. A couple of lines, some people ignoring the lines and cutting in front. Watch out for children dashing around your ankles. Grandma screaming her order from a table to people in line. Music blasting, smells wafting in the air. Stop. See this is why this place is special.

The aromas of love, joy, togetherness, family, friends, a culture that transcends from food to music, to family. Yes, my friends this is the essence of Melao Bakery. It should be the essence of every eating place. With this kind of energy everything just slows down and people start to enjoy living.

After you take a few salsa steps and sway to some merengue, realize that there are three areas of ordering. As you face the counter, far left is the sweets and desserts section. Order in that line, pay in that line. Center is the take out cooked to order food. All the mofongo is delivered from here. Order there, pay there. Right is the hot food buffet line. Join line, let the attendant know if you are taking out of dining in, order away and pay at the end of the line.

From the Buffet Line- Beans, rice, sweet plantains, and roast pork. The flavors and textures are more tantalizing than a reggaeton track. This is stick to your ribs goodness that just keeps hitting until the last bite.

Cow Heel Soup – Every great culture has one of these hearty blends of love in a bowl. This is a thick well seasoned and balanced dish that really just sooths the soul. The cow heel is tender and melts in your mouth. Nourishment for the soul.

Mofongo with Shrimps and Garlic Sauce – This is a delicate balance of ripe and green plantains with pork fat to create a luscious silky mold that still has large enough chucks of bits to recognize what you are eating. Everything is not pulverized into a smoothie, rather each ingredient stands out yet they are combined. Incredible. Full flavored garlic just announces who is the boss. Notably one of the better mofongos around Orlando.

Assorted Pastries – I am not going to attempt to figure this all out. Honestly, I walked up to the counter and started pointing at anything that looked delicious. How did I do? Guess the price for this entire box? $10. Best $10 ever spent. The pastries were fresh, with full flavors. There was an understated sugariness that allowed the items to flourish and not induce a diabetic shock. I’ll make the drive back just for this.

Flan – I did not expect this little thing, but it is convenient. The taste was a smooth blend of sweetness.

Tres Leches – Anything with milk is great, three times the milk and there is a treat. Lusciously sexy.

Even though this is primarily a food establishment, I’ll venture to say that this place allows for a cultural gathering in Kissimmee. It feels like a warm embrace from grandma as she welcomes you home. For that kind of unconditional love, I’ll make the hike again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melao Bakery also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Melao Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing