We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ship inside . . . all good weather!”
Review of Sunset Sam's Fish Camp - CLOSED

Sunset Sam's Fish Camp
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A ship inside . . . all good weather!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great decor. We didn't have dinner, but drinks and snacks, all aboard a ship with a beautiful view. The drinks were great as was the bartender. The environment inside the Gaylord Palms is fantastic and a ship inside! Doesn't matter what the weather outside is. It's clear sailing inside. A place to relax with friends. Definitely will be back the next time we're in town!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    75
    52
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We do I start.the portions for the price were small nothing was prepared as asked the taste was mediocre for he price they charged I expected more.skip this one if you can

Helpful?
Thank Wcm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Food, Very Expensive”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Good: our food was fresh and tasty; servers were friendly and professional.

The Not-So-Good: high prices, but what you would expect in a business hotel; slow time from order to food delivery, despite a half-full restaurant; limited menu; and beware the "Surf and Turf," you have to read the menu fine print to discover this refers to steak and shrimp, not the expected steak and lobster.

Overall, good food, but not a good "price / value" delivered.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok fare”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The food was ok, I expected more from this expensive of a resort. I would not eat at sunset Sam's again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Was at the Gaylord for a conference and found this to be a nice experience. The food and drinks were good and the decor was excellent with water, fish and a fu size boat whet done if the bars is located.

Helpful?
Thank JCFOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Sam's Fish Camp also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing