We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Sam's Fish Camp - CLOSED

Sunset Sam's Fish Camp
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went to Sunset Sam's for dinner with a couple colleagues after an all day meeting @ the Gaylord Palms. The atmosphere was great. We did have to wait a bit to have our waiter come over and get our drink order, but he was very friendly and professional. Food was good, a bit pricey, but then again you're at the hotel. Would go again if at this hotel in a future visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    75
    52
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
422 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Didn't see a sunset through the glass ceiling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Located inside Key West area of Gaylord Palms is this light and airy restaurant open for lunch and dinner. The food could also be described as light and airy. The fish tacos were very good, as was the salt and pepper calamari. I had salmon for main course. It was very nicely cooked, not too big in size. We had a bottle or 2 of Pinot Grigio to wash it all down, and with bread there wasn't any room for desert. Very acceptable expresso coffee. Only the table water tasted to me like it had been filtered through a slab of flint. All in all a nice meal, but when there's a conference on, you'll need to book or wait a good 30 mins for a table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We got to eat out on the "boat" a 60ft schooner inside the Gaylord Palms resort. The food was excellent and a decent selection to choose from. Service was quick and friendly. They had entertainment from a balcony above the ship from a one man band and he was good. The hotel rooms overlook the giant atrium and the Key West style of the ships setting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DISTTHDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
189 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable, and we really enjoyed the conversation. It's a cute atmosphere, and the food was delicious. Our seafood was wonderfully prepared, and our waitress even surprised us with a complimentary appetizer, shrimp ceviche, which we loved!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tag-about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, fun ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Fish & chips were really good... fish nice & flaky wth a light batter and crispy chips with a great flavor. Ask for some malt vinegar for your chips and it will remind you of being in a pub in London. Eating your meal at the bar on a sailboat just makes the experience fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank zazuzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Sam's Fish Camp also viewed

 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing