We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Old Hickory Steakhouse
Ranked #49 of 793 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Orlando
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went with another couple on a Sunday evening and the restaurant in the Gaylord Palms was very very nice. The waiters knew exactly everything about the menu and were very top notch. The food, to be exact, the steak, was way over priced for what you received. I have had much better steak for the price at Chalie's steak house in Orlando. The sides, as you would expect, were separtely priced but very well prepared. All in all it is an average restaurant for what you pay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    119
    44
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong on any of the meals here”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Phenomenal service & incredible meals! The specialty cheese cart for an appetizer is a recommendation. Deserts are almost to beautiful to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wavtamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great steakhouse to eat at. It is pricey but it is worth it! Food is great and atmosphere cannot be beat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very nice, for a captive audience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the "high-end" restaurant in the completely contained Gaylord Palms resort and conference center. They require reservations and the dress code is "smart casual" (whatever that means...)

Similar to another restaurant on premises, we had a very strange experience here. We showed up about 10 minutes early for our reservation and were told they were right on time for reservations so we sat about 10 minutes before being taken in. While in there, it was fairly obvious that the restaurant was at about 30% capacity and the area we were seated in had one other couple with several completely open tables. All of which begs the question: why the wait to be seated, and why is this place reservation only if they can't even fill tables?

At any rate, the server was excellent. She provided excellent and prompt service, checked on us at appropriate time intervals, and gave good sound advice when asked.

The meal itself was excellent, with the filet part of the surf and turf being perfectly seasoned, and the lobster tail being one of the largest I've had, also cooked perfectly. I would go without the side of lobster mac/cheese as it was nothing special. The appetizer of crispy oysters was quite good. The wine selection was adequate, but with only one chianti - though that was very good. Dessert of chocolate mousse was perfect - and a good mousse is sometimes difficult to come by.

The location was a quaint rustic decor that added some additional charm, while still being inside the resort bubble. High priced, because again you are a captive audience as it is the only steakhouse in the resort. Definitely worth a try while at a conference here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice, cozy place”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate here twice while staying at the hotel. Just loved the rack of lamb. Would get that again in a heartbeat. One night we ate in the bar because we didn't have a reservation and it was just fine. We had the chocolate soufflé also and it was great. It is a nice restaurant to go to when you are staying at the Gaylord. It isn't cheap (price wise) so go check out the menu posted outside firs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hickory Steakhouse also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Old Hickory Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing