We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational fun...if your group behaves!”
Review of Chocolate Kingdom

Chocolate Kingdom
Ranked #12 of 43 Tours in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Chocolate Kingdom, the Factory Adventure Tour, is an interactive journey that uncovers how chocolate transforms from the bean into the creamy, dreamy chocolate bar. Our Personal Chocolate Tour Guide joins forces with a handsome Prince and his Dragon sidekick to take guests through a Cacao Tree Greenhouse, a one-of-a-kind Chocolate Museum, a Mystical River of Chocolate and a Micro Batch Bean-to-the-Bar Factory utilizing old world machinery. With an opportunity to create a customized chocolate bar, Chocolate Kingdom is the most unique chocolate experience in North America and will inspire and amaze chocoholics of all ages.Tours start daily at 11 am and take place every hour on the hour until 5 pm.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to try the Chocolate Kingdom since we were both curious in doing something new. The facts throughout the tour are AWESOME and our tour guide (Lacey?) was absolutely great. HOWEVER... there was a woman in our group who was not controlling her 2 problem children. They were not only barreling back and forth through the group, but constantly knocking over ropes and testing the boundaries. This made our tour guide constantly have to ask them to stop, step back, etc. Unfortunately, they never left so we were stuck with them. They brought down our experience so much we were half tempted to ask for a new tour, but didn't want to seem rude. This is why there is 3 stars and not 4 or 5. Otherwise, the samples were interesting. I do wish the chocolate bar was included as well, but we will definitely be back for more anyways!

1  Thank Ladida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar S, Owner at Chocolate Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello Ladida. We are sorry for the issue you had with the other guests on the tour. For future reference, you could have asked us to let you go on the next tour and we would have made the necessary arrangements to give you a positive experience. We hope you can come again in the future and enjoy Chocolate Kingdom. Glad you thought the actual attraction was a 4 or a 5 star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 85 reviews
"candy bar"
in 32 reviews
"cocoa beans"
in 30 reviews
"free samples"
in 14 reviews
"chocolate products"
in 9 reviews
"chocolate drink"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 24 reviews
"whole process"
in 7 reviews
"interesting information"
in 6 reviews
"story line"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 15 reviews
"great for kids"
in 6 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 12 reviews
"whole family"
in 8 reviews
"old town"
in 15 reviews
"factory"
in 34 reviews
"marshmallows"
in 31 reviews
Filter

444 - 448 of 499 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

As a family, we are big chocolate lovers! When we found out this place existed, we had to go check it out.
The tour is very informative. First, we saw a film about how chocolate is made and where it comes from. My kids and I had no idea that's how it was made. It was very educational for my 9 and 7 year old boys.
They also showed us a cartoon video of a mythical prince character on his quest to marry a princess. It was a nice way to learn the story of chocolate along with the cartoon characters. It was cute, especially for the kids (but we laughed and enjoyed it as well!)
Along the tour we were offered samples ( we tasted a freshly roasted bean, a delicious taste of an ancient recipe of a chocolate drink, and then some milk, dark and white chocolate.)
They even had a fun marshmallow throwing part. It had to do with the storyline. That was my kid's favorite part!!!
Towards the end of the tour we got to taste milk, dark and white chocolate. Delish!
After that we couldn't resist and got each of us a huge bar of freshly made chocolate with the ingredients we selected. I personally had the one with rice crispies, caramel and M &Ms in rich, milk chocolate...what can I say, I am a kid at heart! the bars were only $5 each. For the quality and size, I think they were very worth it.
If you like chocolate, I strongly recommend this place.

1  Thank dcschak112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar S, Owner at Chocolate Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It costs $15 per person and we were promised a chocolate experience with lots of tastings and interactive fun.
Then we were led into a room to watch a film about chocolate which was from the 1970's - I swear I saw the same film when I was at school!
Then Mark appeared telling us he was going to take us on the chocolate adventure - he spoke down to everybody as if we were a group of 5 years olds - as it happened, there was only one child of about 10 - the other dozen or so people were all adults.
We watched a film where the storyline had clearly been copied from Shrek with the two characters (the prince and a creature who looked just like Figment from a ride we'd been on at Epcot)who were going to go on the adventure with us to get to the princess.
We then watched some more video and then were told to go into another room - at which time Mark disappeared. We all trooped into the other room which was laid out with all the information we'd seen about chocolate on the 1970's film and looked around. Mark then reappeared and told us off for moving past the first point and called us all back where he went through each point about chocolate that we'd just seen on the film - why did we have to watch the film in the first place then?
Every so often he'd play the video with the characters of the story. We then moved into a room where we had to throw marshmallows at the character who looked like Figment - what that had to do with chocolate I have no idea but clearly that was the interactive part of the experience.
We were then given the tasters - we'd been promised lots - in fact, we were given three very small samples, one each of the white, milk and dark chocolate made at Chocolate Kingdom.
We were then taken to the last room where we were invited to make our own personalised bar of chocolate - but this was going to cost an extra $5. As the experience had been such poor value for money we weren't going to spend any more - even though the chocolate taster that we had was nice. Surely the personalised bar should have been included in the entry price - then we would have come out feeling positive towards the place.

5  Thank asdas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar S, Owner at Chocolate Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello, it's interesting how if you would have gotten more free chocolate at the end (you forgot to mention the first two samples along the tour that were given to you) that "you would have come out feeling positive towards the place." Chocolate Kingdom was created as a way to educate and entertain about how the cacao bean turns into a chocolate bar in a unique format using a story line that connects with guests of all age groups. There's nothing like it in the world and that's why we charge an admission price. Guests have the choice at the end or before the tour to purchase freshly crafted chocolate made at our factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Did you know that it rains in Florida? Well it does in the summer and they have massive thunderstorms and torrential downpours, spectacular lightening and deafening thunder. It usually lasts for ten minutes and then the sun comes out but just occasionally there is a system of summer storms that last a bit longer and that is why we had to find a wet weather activity for four adults all of whom love chocolate.
The Chocolate Kingdom sounded just the job. Of course my wife and I have done Cadbury World in Birmingham England and we have been to the Lindt Factory in Koln Germany so we know the history of how chocolate was discovered, how it is harvested and how the cocoa bean is translated into a bar of modern day chocolate, but the thought of lots of freebie's and an entertaining tour was enough to get us in out of the rain.
The tours are on every day, on the hour, and they say that they last about 45 minutes. The cost is $15 per person. It is poorly signed off of route 192 in Kissimmee but our Sat Nav got us into the general area and local enquiries got us there in the end.
We were warmly welcomed into a huge room that doubles as a shop, reception and the start of the tour, with a counter filled with expensive looking chocolates.
A tour had just started so we had a 55 minute wait until the next but there were no chairs to sit and wait on. We went to the 'Fun Spot' next door and had ice cream and watched crazy people do the 300' high Sky Coaster, and then just before 3pm we returned to Chocolate Kingdom where we sat with about 18 other people watching Chocolate Trivia on TV for about 15 minutes. The whole tour is based around the adventures of mythical Prince George and his pet dragon Meechoo who have to make a pair of chocolate shoes in order to win the heart of the princess.
Everything on the tour is explained at least three times and it get repetitive. There is nowhere to sit after the first chocolate trivia benches so it is no good for people with walking difficulties. You get to taste a cocoa bean, you get to drink a sample of a drink invented by the Aztecs and then nothing till the end of the tour when you get a tiny sample of dark, milk and white chocolate.
For an extra $5 you can make your own chocolate bar at the end of the tour.
The staff are friendly and welcoming but it lacks sophistication and thought. The children seemed to enjoy it but there was quite a bit of grumbling among the adults.
We would have liked to have seen a working chocolate factory but that was not the case. In common with most other attractions in Florida they only seem interested in parting tourists from their money.

1  Thank slueth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar S, Owner at Chocolate Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review. We wanted to let readers know that if during the tour they need to sit down, we offer portable stools that can easily be taken on the tour (all they have to do is ask any of our employees for a stool). Before we created Chocolate Kingdom we traveled to Chocolate Museums/Attractions in the US and Europe (went to the ones you mentioned) and created what we think is a creative, educational and all age inclusive attraction that explains how the cacao bean turns into a chocolate bar - that is the focus of our tour. We also create the tour using a unique story line so guests of all ages get involved in the process - that was the issue we had when visiting other chocolate attractions, they were just for adults and kids were bored. We are very proud of how Chocolate Kingdom turned out and no matter what age group guests are they can walk away from this attraction being a little more chocolate smart. By the way, the chocolate is amazing too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although the tour was a bit hokey...there was definitely some good information. Our tour guide was good and I respected how upbeat he was...especially because I'm sure that they do this all day long.

The big bonus though...the chocolate is unreal!! Seriously...I like chocolate, but definitely not a "chocoholic". But I am telling you...wow...if I lived anywhere close to the chocolate kingdom, I'd definitely have to go to a 12-step program for my addiction to their chocolate. I've never had better chocolate. This is better than Godiva, Max Brenner, Jacques Torres, Rocky Mountain Chocolate and more! Definitely get the custom chocolate bar for only $5.00...it'll be the best $5 you've ever spent...and it's HUGE!!!

Don't skip this place when in Orlando! Great for a rainy day activity!

1  Thank ZeeWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar S, Owner at Chocolate Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello and thank you for the great review on our chocolate. We really appreciate it and thank you for ranking us above all of the other brands you mentioned. The tour is partly educational and partly entertaining... we like to call it "edutainment" (we believe people are able to learn better that way) and since we are in the Orlando area we had to make the tour family friendly so all age groups get to enjoy it. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Kingdom also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Chocolate Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing