We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelled like cooked food the whole time we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
Laconia, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“smelled like cooked food the whole time we stayed”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we booked a king bed got a queen , we were given Arabian knights tickets and when reserving our dinner found out it was booked till the end of the year, the hotel smelled like food the whole time we were there I had to put a towel under our door to try and keep the smell out ...horrible ..even walking down the hallways all you smelled was people cooking food ,, gross, gross , gross ..the location was awesome .. couldn't be easier to get to all the fun stuff .. but I would never use my RCI points to stay at this place again, total waste .should have done a little more research ,, wont happen again .. the one good thing about it is my wife and I spent Christmas at Disney world .. : ^ )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we’re sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Units are normally reserved by size, not by bedding. From your review it sounds like your reservations were for our smaller B suite, which has a queen bed. A & C suites feature king beds. Our accommodations offer dining rooms and fully appointed kitchens and often guests choose to cook all of their meals in their rooms. The resort is modeled like an upscale condominium building and sometimes cooking odors of neighbors will waft through the building. We’re thankful that you appreciated our location and we hope you will reconsider and stay with us again on your next Disney vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,014
    401
    174
    162
See reviews for
1,715
540
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I used Vacation in Dec 2012 and was happy to visit this past December. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with full kitchen in building 15 and again the place was of exceptional standard. It is close to Disney, shopping and restaurants. Old Town is near and has a little Sushi which we have visited 4 times in the last two visits to Orlando. I am pleased with Vacation Village on this my second visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicalaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your recommendation on tripadvisor. There is no better compliment we can receive than knowing that our guests return to stay with us again and again. We’re so happy that you enjoyed your accommodations at Vacation Village at Parkway and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The good - 1. Having stayed in time shares that have the same floor plan I wasn't surprised by the B side. Considering how late we made the reservations we were fine with the room. My daughter said the pull out bed was more comfortable than a lot that she had slept on.
2. Location is great for Disney. If you can't stay on property this is great. About 5-7 minutes maximum to any park and an easy drive.
3. Pools were nice.
4. Clean
5. Check in easy. Check in staff friendly and efficient.

The Bad
1. I am an RCI owner and have taken most of the tours BUT I am on vacation and it is my choice whether or not I want to tour. The lady who presented the tour request acted like we had done something terribly wrong when we declined to come the the breakfast/lunch which is code for tour and sales pitch. I understand this is how things work in the timeshare industry BUT I have already paid for this vacation and I choose not to tour. It would be a waste of time and money to take us on a tour because we aren't buying. Learn to take "no" gracefully.
2. There needs to be a solution for the RV parking. I resent hunting a parking spot when someone is taking up 4-5 spots in the lot with an RV. There were two there so that took up 8 would be available spots.

The OK
1. Since I didn't take advantage of many amenities I would like to say there were many amenities and activities offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mountainmama084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We’re happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, but please accept our apologies if our marketing team detracted from your vacation experience. Many of our guests attend the presentation and see the value in timeshare and often leave as members of our family of owners. The resort doesn’t have a designated parking area for RVs but we try to keep them near the front of the resort along the fence. Please note that the resort has a covered parking garage available. Guests can pick up the resort’s shuttle to transport them to and from their building and the parking garage. Thank you again for sharing and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Orlando in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed during Christmas week. Internet is the worst. I called to see if can be fixed. It Only got worse. So just expect to be without the internet for your whole stay. Staff are friendly. We stayed in building 9. Everything was outdated. They still have the old TV's you can find for 10 dollars on craigslist. Our room smelled so bad we left with our cloths soaked with the room odor. I have to rewash all my daughter cloths to get the smell out. we stayed here for a week. The smelled is so strong we bought air fresheners, still didn't help. We didn't stay indoor much so we didn't bother to switch room. The activity center is small and need to be updated. too small for the large unit.
PROS: it is close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we regret that we didn’t meet all your expectations. We’re sorry about thew issues you had with your room. We wish you would had advised us of the smell so that we may have had an opportunity to correct the problem while you were still there. We hope you give us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations and stay with us again the next time you visit Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Was not sure what to expect but based on reviews by other guests, it exceeded my expectation. The unit we stayed at was very clean and roomy. I cannot find any fault other than the mattress on the pull out needs to be replace (which by the way if you call right away, they will exchange the mattress if there is one available; we were too late in calling) and the slow internet access (WiFi is available). I would come back and stay at this resort. This is the best time-share resort we stayed at so far in Orlando.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool, then ask for buildings with the pool right outside the building. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We’re happy to know that you were pleasantly surprised by our resort and services while on vacation. Unfortunately no one resort can be everything to everyone, but we do try to make all of our guests happy at Vacation Village at Parkway. Most of the time we’re quite successful and our guests return to vacation with us again and again. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one week with my wife and 3 year old son. Had a B type unit which is a 1 br with partial kitchen.
The good:
Friendly staff. Staff I met around the resort were all very friendly.
Lovely grounds. The landscaping is nice and it's all very clean.
Great pools including nice kids pools.
Location is very convenient to Disney.
The bad:
Internet is terrible. Slow and frequently just not available at all for hours at a time.
Our rooms were disasters. First room phone never worked at all even after two visits from maintenance over 2 days. Smelled like something had died in the kitchen cupboards. Smell just got worse and worse till we finally could not take it anymore and asked to move. Wife found a big silverfish in the sink. Beds were worn with the foldout being especially bad. I don't see how any adult could sleep on that.
In our new room the safe was broken and unusable and after we called about it nothing was done. Tub had big rust streaks on the bottom that were covered up by a shoddily glued on rubber mat. Queen bed in the bedroom was still not great but in better shape than the one in our first room. Fold out was again just awful. First room had flat screens while the new room had old tube tv's. Room had numerous other little problems like a dust scoop but no broom, broken catch for the clothes washer lid, backwards hot and cold in the bathroom faucet, etc. But we were just happy to be away from that awful smell.
We had stayed here once before years back and it was great. No problems then. Now I would never stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Yarbogash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We understand that customer service is key to being successful in the travel industry and we clearly dropped the ball. We’re very sorry for the issues you had during your stay and your comments have been forwarded to the resort’s General Manager. Guest reviews such as yours are vital in helping us make our resort the perfect Orlando vacation destination. We appreciate your constructive feedback and we hope that you will reconsider and visit again so that we may have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Christmas 2013. Definitely had a pleasant stay. So close to Disneyworld and many restaurants! We had an A/B unit and it was accommodating for 7 of us. It was clean and staff were friendly.

Only complaint was wifi didn't work very well, but would stay here again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vtwinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vacation Village at Parkway in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Celebration Suites
Celebration Suites
#21 of 152 in Kissimmee
3,576 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkway International Resort
Parkway International Resort
#11 of 152 in Kissimmee
759 reviews
7.7 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#25 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,755 reviews
2.2 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Property: Vacation Village at Parkway
Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-4551
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 2672
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Village at Parkway offers the best of Florida in one great location. Minutes from Orlando's theme parks like Disney's Magic Kingdom, Universal Studios and Sea World, the resort offers lovely spacious accommodations. Perfect for couples and families alike the 2,672 guest rooms are surrounded by seven pools, along with hot tubs, barbecue grills, and a children's playground. All within short driving distance you can explore historic St. Augustine, Kennedy Space Center, Busch Gardens, and Silver Springs. Or you may find you'll never want to leave the resort after seeing the fully staffed activities center with weekly planned activities that enhance our guest's vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing