We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrible Sales Person” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Sales Person”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at Vacation Village at Parkway twice (using RCI to exchange). The rooms were ok, close to the parks. We had ants, which I called about and they said they would take care of - it did not appear that they sprayed at all. We thought we would give the free breakfast/presentation a try - please don't bother if you're interested in being treated well. Long story short, we had breakfast with the sales rep at the table (didn't know this up front), went back to the presentation (we have 2 small children, so this was a challenge), listened to the song and dance and said no. We received significant pressure as to why we didn't want to buy (this great one day only sale they were offering) and we said no thank you. The sales rep, Bob, became extremely rude and belligerent. We told him that we needed to go since we had been with them for a few hours. Instead, he took us to another room and told us to sit down again and wait. We told him, no, we need to leave now. He asked, "do you not understand English (English is my first and only language - I have a masters degrees, so there was a rude and absurd question)?" Bob then demanded "you need to sit down now!" Someone else finally took us to the end of the presentation so we could obtain our deposit and leave. We provided this information to the supervisor, Michael, who was apologetic and stated that he would look into the matter. Please don't give yourself the headache that we experienced - just pay for your own breakfast and regular ticket prices. The amount we saved was not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We’re glad that you enjoyed your vacation but are sorry about the experience you had with one of our sales staff members during the presentation. We have welcomed thousands of guests who have left happily as members of the family of owners, and it is definitely not our common practice to be rude to our guests. We sincerely apologize for the treatment you received and your post has been sent to management so that necessary steps can be taken to ensure that this type of situation is resolved. We hope that our spacious rooms and fantastic location near Orlando’s premier theme parks will entice you to return so that we may have another chance to prove that we offer the friendliest hospitality in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    872
    339
    143
    132
See reviews for
1,426
440
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed Sept 2013, with a family of 6 (including a toddler)...

We stayed in Building #18 (Suite A & B) on the 8th floor with a balcony view of the fireworks, we were told this was one of the newer buildings. When checking in, I would suggest you ask for the newer units. The 2 bedroom units are adjoined with a foyer entrance but the rooms had separate doors and locks. As a family of 6, we kept both doors propped opened with a door stopper so that was definitely a plus, especially with a toddler running back and forth between the rooms. We made sure the main entrance was locked and kept the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door – we had no issues. The suites were clean, comfortable and very specious with a full kitchen stocked with cookware, bakeware, cutlery, dishwasher, oven, coffee maker, toaster, trash bags, and a small amount of detergent for the washer. Note - you might want to consider buying a small bottle of detergent if you think you’re going to use the washer, we sure did. Each room had a LCD flat screen TV in the living room and in the bedrooms. The bedrooms also had a safe with an iron & board. The bathrooms were big with a walk-in shower and two double sinks stocked with towels, and also a hair dryer.

The theme parks/downtown Disney were less than 10 mins away, Universal & Sea World is a little further, maybe 15 mins or so. There were many stores nearby, retail, souvenir outlets, grocery stores, fast food/restaurants and best of all – Walmart! That was definitely convenient for last minute items.

================
A few negative feedbacks…… there were ants and the Florida love bugs inside the rooms. But, we just bought the Raid spray and sprayed it along the balcony doors, so it was no big deal. We just made sure there were no crumbs and the trash was thrown out every night. Elevator was kind of slow, maybe there was too many traffic. Let's put it this way, it didn't ruin our stay!

This one last review is solely based on us staying at a timeshare resort for the very first time ever so we didn’t know what to expect… When you pick-up your parking permit, the rep will offer you discounted VIP tix to any of the theme parks with a free continental breakfast or lunch (which had to be scheduled with a “VIP Host”) and they asked that we provide feedback of the model units by taking a survey. They did not mention anything about a timeshare presentation. At the time, we were so exhausted and ready to kick off our shoes, but all I heard was discounted theme park tix by taking a survey for 20 bucks -- heck yeah!! As you can imagine theme park tix for a family of 6 can be quite costly. Well, I didn’t realize what we had signed up for until later that evening, and so I tried to cancel our reservation. I was told if we were to cancel we forfeit the $20. Be advised, there was no mentioning of a timeshare presentation so yes, this is a timeshare sales pitch. Simply decline the $20 deal unless you are interested in purchasing a timeshare.
================

Aside from a few hiccups (bugs and timeshare sales pitch) we had a great time. Be sure to check for bed bugs!!! Thankfully we didn’t find any and the mattresses looked relatively new. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our family vacation stay was comfortable, enjoyable and most importantly memorable! We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Disney!!

Room Tip: I would recommend you ask for the newer units. If you have a fam of 4 or more, get the 2 bedroom Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on your experience with us. We’re very happy to know that your family enjoyed their time at Vacation Village at Parkway and we’re sure your comments will help other travelers get the most out of their own vacation. We’re sorry that you were surprised to find out that you were required to preview the resort in exchange for the discount attraction tickets. This requirement is listed on the deposit receipt. The receipt also notes that the deposit is non-refundable. Since this presentation is not mandatory for all guests, deposits are taken to ensure that only guests who are truly interested in attending will sign up. Thank you again for your recommendation and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Vacation Village at Parkway and hopefully it is much sooner then later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I own a timeshare and really enjoyed my vacation here. the place had afew ants but with the heat we had its normal. it was so hot , but we had comfort. kids love it and also we had everything we needed. Great location and very nice people!!!

Room Tip: Great Beds, comfort, king size.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and your continued loyalty to Vacation Village at Parkway. We’re committed to creating lasting relationships with our guests and we’re grateful for the opportunity to share our hospitality with you. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home resort in Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The set up was perfect for my big family. It had two separate condos connected to each other. Each condo had a clean kitchen (equiped with cooking equipment and tools) and clean bathroom. The only thing I would complain about was the bugs that got in through the back doors. But we bought some bug spray to take care of that.

The view from the balcony!! Was so perfect. We could see the Disney theme parks and fire works every night. So nothing was too far away.
Overall I had a great experience. Not much to complain about except a few bugs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksikhattana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We’re so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us. With Florida’s tropical climate it is to be expected that bugs will sometimes enter the suites if the balcony doors are left open. Thank you again for your review and we hope that we can share our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in the newer building #16, 9th FL unit 909 A and B. We had the corner unit with 2 units connecting. Its a very good setup when traveling with 2 famiies. We were able to gather together but also had our privacy. The full Kitchen and bedroon setup was all very nice. Applicances were fairly new, clean, so no complaints. Love having a washer and dryer in the room. We had the view of the fireworks from our balcony. The pool looked awesome, wish we were able to use it more.

The Lowdown: 3 days before the end of our trip, I saw a few ants in the corner of the kitchen floor. I used a napkin and picked it up and as I as walking towards the garbage, I saw a few more.... I realized there was a whole colony of them. So I called the front desk, they said they could spray non toxic ant spray. I really didnt want to since I had a child in the room. But I figured I had 3 days to deal with this. So they came immediately and sprayed our kitchen. We waited an hour in the other unit for it air out. So now I have all these dead ants in the kitchen, Great!!! So 3 days pass and we are ready to check out, guess what? Dead ants in my luggage in the room. Not how I wanted to end the trip.

The hotel and unit itself are great. I think cleaning staff need to spend more time cleaning the room the one day a week. Her cleaning was not very thorough. The floor still had the same dirt there after she "cleaned" it. They need to de-pesticide at least once a month. The ants in my room ended up going to the other unit where my family stayed. They are obiviously spreading quickly. If it wasnt for the antz, this place would just be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience with us. We’re sorry that you found our resort lacking in certain areas. In Florida’s rainy season, ants will sometimes find a way into the suites through drainage pipes or open balconies. We do our best to combat the issue by having a contracted professional pest control company service the resort frequently. We regret these issues during your stay and we hope that you will return again so that we may have any opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
238 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The rooms are "clean" however the staff will take your stuff! After multiple calls to the managers
(there are several) the bottom line was " we are not responsible for housekeeping services. When I called housekeeping they say... sorry there is nothing here. We brought our own anti-snore pillows (only way I can sleep is if my husband doesn't snore) ... we had the pillow in a Very Bright Lime Green Pillow case...hard to miss it. Low and behold it disappeared form the room. What is wrong with management! If a guest has property stolen out of the room by the staff that works for them... in my book they are responsible! I would NOT recommend this place to anyone... go some place else. FYI Our room was very small as compared to some of the other hotels in the area. OF the 3 we stayed at we like the Sheraton the best.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChgoGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We regret that our resort did not meet your expectations and that our management was not successful in locating your pillows. We work hard in providing an excellent vacation experience for our travelers and most of the time we are successful. Thank you for your comments and we hope your unfortunate experience with us does not deter you from visiting Orlando in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Vacation Village is a really nice hotel in the Orlando Area, the rooms are good, specially if you stay in one with full kitchen, on the other hand if you stay in one of the older buildings the rooms are not good... really old apartments that dont worth the stay. In the hotel there are not too many things to do, the pool is ok, and that´s pretty much it. But in general it´s ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re happy to know that you’ve enjoyed your time at our resort. We feel we offer an exceptional value for our guests in all of our buildings at Vacation Village at Parkway. All of our rooms are suites that feature comforts of home like kitchens and living and dining areas. We hope we may continue to welcome you back to our resort so that we may have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
7.9 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.8 mi away
Celebration Suites
Celebration Suites
#21 of 161 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#152 of 338 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
2.2 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 161 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts
Legacy Vacation Resorts
#12 of 57 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Property: Vacation Village at Parkway
Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Village at Parkway offers the best of Florida in one great location. Minutes from Orlando's theme parks like Disney's Magic Kingdom, Universal Studios and Sea World, the resort offers lovely spacious accommodations. Perfect for couples and families alike the 1,968 guest rooms are surrounded by six pools, along with hot tubs, barbecue grills, and a children's playground. All within short driving distance you can explore historic St. Augustine, Kennedy Space Center, Busch Gardens, and Silver Springs. Or you may find you'll never want to leave the resort after seeing the fully staffed activities center with weekly planned activities that enhance our guest's vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing