We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mega Resort Look and Feel (nothing "homelike" here)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Parkway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vacation Village at Parkway
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Mega Resort Look and Feel (nothing "homelike" here)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

There's got to be something in the water that interior decorators drink in Florida, and it ain't good.
... But let's start at the beginning...
The check-in process consisted of waiting in line for 45 minutes! That's a long time for anyone to wait in line: however, it does allow you ample time to develop and organize your tripadvisor review.
We stayed in Building 15, second floor. Supposedly, this building and its rooms had recently been renovated. The elevators are dark and dank. The Hallway carpet is grimy and stained. The floors in the room, although they are ceramic tile, were covered with a layer of who-knows-what, which moved us to literally scrub them by hand with a wet towel and some laundry detergent.
You would have to be blind to appreciate the decor theme: greens and mustard yellows, with some burgundy. The walls are a nauseating and ceilings are a nauseating peach. (Yes, colour does affect your mood and when you don't like the colours of the place you are staying at, well, it affects your overall sense of well-being). The window dressings and bed linens (comforters) boast garish prints of tropical flowers and leaves, birds, etc... Busy patterns everywhere.
The bathrooms are not stocked with shampoo or conditioner, but do come with a Dial soap bar - ensuring your skin is dry and tight for your entire vacation. (Folks, there is a Publix nearby, go buy your own moisturizing body wash and other necessary toiletries).
If you set all the decor related issues aside, you are left with squeaky beds and old appliances that make an inordinate amount of noise.
I DID appreciate the in room washer and dryer very much. Left the resort with all our clothes clean and this made my unpacking at home a breeze! (Again, one will have to journey to Publix to pick-up laundry soap and dryer sheets).
I'm not used to writing such disparaging reviews but they'd honestly lost me by "Hello" on day one at check-in.
Yes, it is centrally located to everything, which is a huge redeeming quality. There is also ample parking.
Our stay was good. Not great. Not much of anything. We weren't sorry to leave.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments on your stay with us. Vacation Village at Parkway Resort has received many positive reviews regarding our service and décor and we’re disappointed that we failed to meet all of your expectations. We’re thankful to know that overall we provided you with a good experience and we hope to welcome you back to Orlando on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    872
    339
    143
    132
See reviews for
1,426
440
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good price, great location.
Parks 2 miles away. Walmart very near, afordable restaurantes near by.
The pool is great, they have different activities for guest,like salsa classes,etc.
If you like shopping there is a premium outlet very near. I would come back here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your trecommendation with our readers. Vacation Village at Parkway Resort has all the comforts of home for our guests and offers close proximity to all of Orlando’s exciting attractions. We’re happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and we hope that we may share our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms are OK, not great. The bedding is sub-standard. The comforters are cheap nylon and fall off the bed all night long. The bedding sheets are mismatched and not of high quality, and the blankets don't fit the sizes of the mattresses, but heck the towels are decent.

We didn't spend much time on grounds or pool, but did take advantage of the shuttle to Disney, which was decent.

This resort is a MASSIVE concrete jungle with row after row of building. The location is great and very close to the disney parks.

The worst part was check-in. There is a bait and switch where they have you walk over to another customer service area to pick up your parking pass where they HARD PRESSURE you to attend a breakfast to "give feedback" about their upcoming facility. They pretty much refuse to give you your parking pass without signing up and paying in advance for the privilege of giving them feedback and then they give you a $80 gift. I finally insisted that we wanted no part of it, even though they make you that it is mandatory, and asked for my parking pass. It made me crazy mad to go through this, and we never participated in a single offering of the resort for fear that we would be hard pressure sales pitched AGAIN.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWritingRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We’re very disappointed to read that our resort didn’t meet your expectations. We appreciate your candid comments as these observations can only help us to improve our performance and our property. We hope in the future you will choose to visit us again and allow us the opportunity to prove that we are a great choice for lodging while visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great property - very clean and the staff well attentive for the guests. BUT, different from our stay last year, in order to get your parking pass, they send you across the check in room to meet with a new associate - who ask you if you would be willing to attend a breakfast/lunch and answer a few questions about the property - which REALLY is a time share pitch. But they don't tell you that until you show up!. They sort of hold your parking pass hostage until you give them an answer. This is the KING of deception and marketing low life practices. They ask for a cash deposit..(no "cards' accepted" for this). I figured, free meal, survey, i can take a half hour. I remember the guy saying to me- you can leave anytime you wish... BUT.it certainly is not without pressure. Learned my lesson on this one! Property was great, but this just left a very bad taste in my mouth as i don't tolerate deception in business practices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Garimusprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share the details of your vacation with us. We’re always happy to receive feedback because it helps us know what areas we need to improve our services and ultimately improve our guest’s experience. We’re thankful that you enjoyed your accommodations but are sorry for the miscommunication you experienced with our marketing representative. We do not condone overzealous tactics because we realize that it is counterproductive to our goal. Your comments will again be used as a training tool to prevent these situations. We regret that this experience has left a negative impression and we hope that our resort and attentive staff will entice you to return to Vacation Village at Parkway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were guests of a timeshare owner during the week of Easter and had a great time. Great location, nice clean pool and the bed actually slept pretty good! I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a convenient location to visit the Orlando area.

I would love to see more luggage carts and control over the use of said carts so that everyone has access when the need arises. Check out day was difficult for most everyone we saw because the rolling carts were no where to be found when the busy check out time came.

Room Tip: The rooms that don't overlook the pool are the quietest. Our room had a pool that closed at 10p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbabyuwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor readers. We’re sorry you had an issue locating a rolling cart. Normally they are available but during high occupancy times like the week of Easter/ spring break, it may take some time locating a cart during busy check-out times. We’re happy that you enjoyed your Easter vacation with us and we hope you return so that we may continue to prove that we are the best choice for lodging for your family when visiting Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great place to stay
Near all restaurants
Public is close by
Wallmart is near
Rooms are ok nothing great
But clean and tidy
Free shuttle to public anytime
Would recommend defiantly coz of the price and location

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalkashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We’re happy that we could supply you with a great vacation and that you appreciate the value we offer our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Vacation Village at Parkway the next time you’re in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We first stayed in Vacation Village in October '08. Now, 4-1/2 years later, we stayed there again. The building we stayed in was new during our last stay, so I was curious as to how well the property is maintained. I specifically asked for the same building and floor and they were able to accommodate my request (Building 15, top floor). The carpet in the main hallway was noticeably more traffic-worn, but the units (we had both A and B again) were still in really good condition. Being on the top floor, we didn't have to endure noise from above (my reason for requesting a top floor). The floor in the units are tiled, so noise does transfer to the units below. I recommend asking for the top floor, if available.

There are now two newer buildings (16 and 17) and another under construction. During our next stay, I will probably request a unit in one of the newer buildings. However, I was not at all disappointed in our week-long stay in Building 15.

We didn't take advantage of the pool on the property (we were at Disney every day), but I saw several people going to/from the pool each day.

Check-in and check-out was a snap. We got there about 1-hour ahead of the normal check-in time, and they were able to get us in ahead of time. The line was short even though we went during a busy time (spring break). We called housekeeping once for additional towels and they were delivered quickly.

This property is just minutes from Disney, and there's several restaurants within close proximity. When we return to the area in a few years, I will definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: If possible, request a top floor to eliminate noise from above. I would request a unit in Building 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarEagle2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! There is no better compliment we can receive than knowing that our guests entrust us with their family vacations again and again. We’re truly blessed with great accommodations and a perfect location in Orlando and we’re happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vacation Village at Parkway the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
7.9 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.8 mi away
Celebration Suites
Celebration Suites
#21 of 161 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#152 of 338 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
2.2 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 161 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts
Legacy Vacation Resorts
#12 of 57 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Parkway

Property: Vacation Village at Parkway
Address: 2949 Arabian Knights Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vacation Village at Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Village at Parkway offers the best of Florida in one great location. Minutes from Orlando's theme parks like Disney's Magic Kingdom, Universal Studios and Sea World, the resort offers lovely spacious accommodations. Perfect for couples and families alike the 1,968 guest rooms are surrounded by six pools, along with hot tubs, barbecue grills, and a children's playground. All within short driving distance you can explore historic St. Augustine, Kennedy Space Center, Busch Gardens, and Silver Springs. Or you may find you'll never want to leave the resort after seeing the fully staffed activities center with weekly planned activities that enhance our guest's vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Vacation Village at Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Parkway Hotel Kissimmee
Vacation Village Orlando
Vacation Village Parkway Orlando
Village Parkway
Vacation Village Parkway Florida
Vacation Villas Parkway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing