We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #12 of 792 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: newly opened (may 23, 2011)
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
“Went twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We hadn't seen a Sweet Tomatoes before, but have eaten at an affiliated Souplantation in a more northern state, and loved it. We spent two nights in Kissimmee and chose this for dinner both nights. The price is reasonable, with a senior discount. There is a large selection of items on the salad bar. Everything I enjoy for sure! There are also premade salads that are equally good. The variety of soups was excellent. The chili, split pea, and especially the chicken noodle soup were delicious. The contents of the chicken noodle soup are broth, chunks of white meat chicken and luscious egg noodles. Perfect! We both enjoyed the cornbread and pumpkin muffins with whipped honey butter. There are also dessert options completing a satisfying meal both nights. The service workers are friendly and prompt in clearing the table between trips to the food area. Excellent healthy food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    200
    57
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Wholesome Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visting here in Kissimmee and a favourite buffet is Sweet Tomatoes in the Crossroads Plaza at State Rd.535 and I-4 !! The kids love the fresh pizza and 55 ft. salad bar -tons of choices for your salad!! The soups are always fresh and seem homemade and healthy, and good chili too!! There is always baked sweet potatoes and the fresh baked breads and fococia is delicious. It is mostly vegetarian but there is some soups with meat. A small dessert bar and ice cream tops off the meal. Very friendly service and place is usually quite clean. A good place for families!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecountyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Mixed Messages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this place when looking for lunch, the promise of a salad bar was just what we wanted after all the 'big' food we'd been offered elsewhere.
$12 each including drinks was good for what we were expecting. The salad bar/buffet was well stocked with a wide variety of salads, vegetables and dressings. It was only when we rounded the corner into the main eating area that we got the surprise - another whole dining area with soups, pastas, pizzas and other high calorie/high fat dishes available along with desserts of the very sweet variety. I had a couple of small pieces of pizza which I thought was average and my wife had some chowder and she wasn't too impressed with that either.
Although the salad was good it seems that the chain has got somewhat mixed up in its direction - coming across as all healthy then putting all the other things that ruin the idea of healthy eating available to 'eat as much as you want'.
I know that many people only eat what they need, however when we were there I never saw any of the larger people (who made up at least 50% of the customers) return to the salad bar only to the pizza/pasta area. It's a real shame because a proper salad bar with a good selection of cold meats could be so much better and healthier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Pizza outside of Orange Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stay at Orange Lake every year and always end up doing at Pizza Night at Sweet Tomatoes. Great Pizza. I believe they also deliver on Orange Lake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deptacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The family and I were taken here by a Vegan family friend. Normally as a meat eater when that term is heard we cringe, and I did. I expected this to be a PETA convention with yard clippings to eat. I was wrong.

Yes this is centered around a salad bar.... A very awesome salad bar. There is also awesome soups, pizza breads, breads, muffins, and a variety of awesome nonalcoholic drinks, you must try the mojito green tea! Everyone loved it including the kiddos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing