We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is very dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Towers Resort
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I would not stay here again. The place is dated inside and out. We saw several bugs - roaches. The appliances, particularly the stove didn't work well. We had to call maintenance a couple of times. The floors on the outside & the elevator was hideous. Not going back! I've been to Orlando many times. I'd rate this as tied for worst stay. The barbecue restaurant next door to it is good, however.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. I would like to apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay. We would love to have you back at our resort.

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 653 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Staff was nice, hotel was clean, a bit out-dated but good enough to get by for the weekend.
I called prior to booking to ask if they were pet friendly.The female on the phone said yes. So I decided to book the room and come to find out when I check-in there is a pet 'cleaning fee' of $170.00, with a deposit hold of $100.00. I wish the female would've informed me of the fee when I called prior to booking... but what could I do at that point? The $170.00 pet fee was MORE than what I even spent for my whole 2 night-stay. (I'm not the richest person in the world, my family and I was unable to go to Disney since we couldn't afford the tickets after paying the fee.) Another problem was the location of the ice machine. Out of the whole resort there was ONE ice machine, in an entire different building on the 4th floor... all the way at the back on the building...(took about 10 minutes to find) By the time I got back to my room from my ice adventure, my ice was nearly melted. Very inconvenient. One extra inconvenience was lack of electricity outlets...there were none near my bed, I had to charge my phone near the bathroom sink, inaccessible to use while I was watching TV. Never staying at a Westgate again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTampaBay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

You may bring your pet to your vacation to the Westgate Towers, there is an applicable pet fee for doing so. We apologize if the policy put a damper in your vacation. We are constantly working on renovations at the resort and will be taking your suggestions under consideration. Thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

stayed at westgate towers 27oct-3nov. Had bottom floor with large balcony and easy access to pool. the pool was suppose to be heated , but it seemed they turned it off during the day and at night the pool was to cold to swim. The rooms are clean and nice. Not to many people at this location during this time so that was nice to .Most of the rooms were empty. The only thing that this westgate resorts needs is to change the blinds to curtains. If you stay on the bottom the lights from outside are so bright that it's like day light all night long in you bedroom. I purchased chip clips and used the extra sheets for the coach and clipped the sheets up to block out some light and that was a small dent in that . If you are an owner beware , they will lie to you to get you to go to owner review. they will tell you that new owner cards are needed if you did not get one by mail and you need to go to review. I knew this was already bad news and went just to get my somewhat free breakfast. I will never get back the 3hrs they took from me when it was to be 1hr only. I told them I did not need a review and all it is it to try to get more money that dont deserve out of you. So owners don't waste your time with owner reviews. they will tell you anything thats not true to get you to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carroll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your stay here at Westgate Towers. Thank you for referring to our suites as “clean and nice”. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced as a result of attending one of our timeshare presentations and we apologize if this distracted you from your family vacation. Participation in our timeshare presentations is voluntary; however, we do offer incentives in exchange. We certainly hope that you will stay with us again to allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staff was welcoming and accessible. The facilities were clean and comfortable and family oriented. Everything was moderately price and the food was good (quantity and taste). Would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcwood911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that our staff was courteous to your needs. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities and you were able to find it clean and comfortable. We feel honored that you will be returning and look forward to seeing you soon!
Sincerely, Idalise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I probably should have been worried when my husband sent me a link to a hotels.com flash sale that let us book a 1-bedroom suite for $69/night, but we had just bought annual passes to the Kingdom of the Mouse and I was busy at work. Note to self: you get what you pay for, and around Disney, you WILL pay for it. I would recommend this place for a family on a budget that isn't picky about their surroundings as long as they are clean and mostly comfortable, who isn't on a tight time schedule.
PROS: Very clean. Directly on the Kissimmee strip (also a con), so in addition to tacky souvenir shops, any number of inxpensive greasy restaurants are immediately available (we hit Denny's, Golden Corral and Chick-Fil-A). If you are of a certain age, the decor affords you an excellent opportunity to revisit your glory days, provided said days include big hair and acid-washed jeans with Coca-Cola sweatshirts. About a 10-minute drive to Magic Kingdom, parking lot to parking lot. The bathroom was newly renovated with a new shower stall, a jacuzzi tub and fresh paint. The sink (marble) looked to be original.
CONS: The shuttle was useless for our family, as we have children that need to nap mid-day unless we want to be THOSE parents pushing a stroller full of screaming tots at 5 p.m. It goes to Epcot, twice in the morning and comes back once in the early evening. There was a similar schedule for Sea World and Universal. So, we drove, which led to children falling asleep in the car and then waking up as they were being transferred on the looong walk across the parking lot (there are no spaces anywhere near the door) and refusing to go to sleep for an actual nap. We are only staying in places that have continuous shuttles from now on, which pretty much means Disney Resorts and members of the Downtown Disney Resort Association. No matter what time it is, when you check in they will start trying to sell you a timeshare, promising you free breakfast at the attached Sizzler. You will need to interrupt them and emphasize that you are not interested, but at that point they will leave you alone. The bed was firm but the sheets were bargain-basement linen service and honestly scratchy, with flat pillows. At least they gave 6. The exterior walls were huge sliding doors, which was a bit strange with the 18-inch balconies. They only had vertical blinds, so the lights from the strip kept the room nice and bright all night and ensured an early wake-up.
I honestly can't decide if the decor is a pro or a con, so I am just going to describe it. I think it depends on your sense of humor and your need to be surrounded by granite countertops. The appliances were a charming beige bisque, and the wire shelving in the refrigerator really took me back. The entertainment centers (one in the living room and one in the bedroom) were a fascinating blend of forest-green marbleized laminate accented with carnation pink. They perfectly coordinated with the forest-green pleather pull-out sofa and the molded concrete lamps with gold lame palm fronts. Very tropical in a Miami-Vice meets Golden Girls kind of way. Surprisingly, the floor was 18-inch eggshell tile - like they time-warped to the 00's when they did the floor, or maybe just updated the floor and put the old furniture back. They carried the mirrored-wall theme, found in nearly every available wall in the bedroom, to the closet in the living room. While well-appointed, the bathroom (except for the poop closet) was open to the bedroom, so if you are of the sort of family that doesn't like to shower in front of each other in glass-walled shower stalls, you will be pretty uncomfortable. Then again, with the mirrors on the bedroom wall, I don't think this suite was made for that sort of family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watergirl76Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We certainly appreciate all feedback. As you mentioned we are centrally and for some conveniently located to the attraction areas of Central Florida. We do offer a shuttle service which many owners and guests find convenient to their plans.We are sad that our accommodations and decor did not meet your expectations. All in all we are glad that you found our rooms to be clean and our location convenient for your vacation.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Westgate is so big there were so many pools and activities to get involved in. Did not get to do all the activities, though they were good for the young kids to keep entertained during the week.
Staff and Guest Services at the Towers were fun and friendly. Quick response to our needs.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, they all strive to provide you with the best vacation experience possible. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities and activities. It truly was our pleasure to assist you and can't wait for you to visit us again!
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our room was severely out-dated, lots of 80s pastel. Fortunately, our reservation was for just one night. Our one-bedroom lockoff (211A & 211B) was locked when we arrived, that was kind of a hassle. After joining the rooms, we found the bathroom in the Two Queen room had glass walls and the wall-sized mirror behind the hot tub was placed just right, opposite the toilet - not what a family wants at their vacation resort! The aluminum trim at the pocket door was loose... and sharp! The "balcony" was somewhere btwn 18" and 24" wide, hardly enough to stand on, let alone sit back. Our room was just across from a building entry that had seating outside the door, where a group of rowdy young men had decided to sit & stay a while. Turning down the bed, we noticed bits of brown stuck to the sheets. We were able to eliminate bugs and decided to say somehow cardboard had gotten into the laundry, it was everywhere. Westgate claims their interest in saving resources yet requests their guests run the dishwasher before checking out - I ran the dishwasher with one place, one glass and a fork. What a waste!

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper level, away from all entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Towers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We would like to thank you for your feedback. We take pride in offering a vacation experience unlike any other. We hope that you will stay with us again soon to allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#30 of 154 in Kissimmee
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 154 in Kissimmee
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.5 mi away
Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#21 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Towers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Towers Resort

Address: 7600 W Irlo Bronson Pkwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#19 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $89 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Towers Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized Villas with All the Comforts of Home Westgate Towers Resort in Kissimmee, Florida, is a Disney area hotel that offers guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home with accommodations ranging from studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas, all within minutes of Orlando's world-famous theme parks and attractions. With a variety of onsite amenities, including three heated outdoor pools, your dream vacation is waiting at Westgate Towers Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate Towers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Towers Hotel Kissimmee
Westgate Hotel Kissimmee
Westgate Resort Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing