We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for young children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good choice for young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in one of the basic rooms (Little Mermaid themed section), which is nicely decorated in the character theme but is basic otherwise (i.e., two full beds, no closet). It is a sprawling property with four distinct themes, including Finding Nemo, Cars and Lion King. Each section has it's own pool (with LOTS of lifeguards from opening to close). Expect a decent walk from your room to the main building, buses, etc. There is a decent cafeteria and shopping area in the main building, lots of parking spaces, laundry facilities, and friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pw9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,447
    2,250
    648
    160
    101
See reviews for
5,145
404
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were delighted with our 5 night stay in a Finding Nemo Family Suite. The service was spectacular from check in to check out. The decor throughout the property was colorful and fun, lots of fun things to see. 3 adults and two children fit quite well into the suite, which was clearly designed thoughtfully for family travel. There were lots of nooks in the living space for storing empty bags and backpacks. The drawers in the living room area fit our kids' clothes perfectly. There are clothing bars in the main living area and bedroom which helped us stay organized. The small kitchenette area helped us to prepare breakfast in our room to save more time for touring the parks. Both the sofa bed and murphy bed were very comfortable. The bus service to Disney parks was superb; we rarely waited more than 5 minutes for a bus. The buses are crowded so be prepared to stand for the 15 minute ride to most parks. The pool area is beautiful and very well staffed with lifeguards. Pool chairs are plentiful. Even the food court had more variety and healthy food than we were expecting. The only time our magic bands malfunctioned, front desk staff fixed the problem swiftly. We did not take advantage of the on-site laundry facility, but see how handy that could be.

We have only a few small criticisms of the property. There are no towels in the pool area; people are encouraged to bring their room towels for use at the pool. The staff at the front desk did not quibble about giving extra towels, though. There was no cell service in our room making communication difficult at times. The playgrounds on the property are best for kids 5 and under, not that fun for school aged kids.

Room Tip: For a slightly quieter experience choose a room away from the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Last week, for our honeymoon, we stayed at Disney's Art of Animation resort. Being a (former) avid Disney fan, a Disney Visa credit card holder, and a shareholder, I was SO excited for this trip. On our third morning there (we were in the Little Mermaid section), I found two bed bugs in the bed. When I killed them, blood filled the tissue and stained the bed sheet. These bugs had been feasting on us all night.
Things actually got worse from there. We were told we needed to leave our belongings with them to be sanitized and had to go to Walmart to get new clothes, shoes, etc. to get through the next day while our clothes, luggage, shoes, etc. were processed by Disney. They moved us to a room in the Lion King section and moved some of our belongings that had not been sanitized into the new room. Where did they put these items? On the bed in our new room! So, they had to test the new room for bed bugs.
Our clothing was returned with damages AND (ready for this?) our clothing was returned with a little something extra....SOMEONE ELSE'S underwear!
We dealt with managers on every shift for the duration of our stay. Management continued to push us off on their claims department, which, conveniently is unavailable during the weekend.
Aside from this nightmare, the towels had holes worn in them, the counter service food court is very chaotic, and the staff was unfriendly. As we were departing and had our arms full of luggage, 3 "cast members" with luggage carts walked by. Not only did they not offer to assist, they didn't even make eye contact or say hello!
As a lifelong Disney fan, this experience has changed how I view the entire enterprise. Seeing how the service and magic have diminished greatly over the years, I don't think I can ever go back. My husband has 202 bed bug bites and I have 80.
Sad to say that Disney, of all places, actually completely ruined our honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
44 Thank Jewels4482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a really good family hotel,very colourful and always buzzing with people.When you first arrive at the check-in desk when you receive your magic bands to get you into the magic kingdom ect to check out,its all very simple.The hotel is vast so be prepared to walk to your room!This in itself is great as the walk to get to the restaurant is full of oversized Disney characters brilliantly done as all the Disney parks are.We had a Little mermaid suite which my daughter loved.The food is not really up to much in my opinion,the stereotypical american diet,you can actually get a burger for breakfast with fries if you want!After two weeks you begin to get a little fed up with it especially if you didn't come with a hire car.The pool's are spotless, as is the whole set up of the hotel,and maid service every day is great.The only thing I would recommend to do is the Disney dining plan,you WILL save money.Good budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank sibooth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is consider a value hotel so i didn't know what to expect, it was amazing very clean. everyone was friendly and helpful. The status are great. the kids love to see them and take pictures with them as well. it was our first time staying in Disney and i was truly amazed and happy with our stay. i recommend it to anyone who had young children.

Room Tip: little mermaid rooms are a little far
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa,Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved this resort. Everything was great. The resort was very clean, fun, and very kid friendly. The rooms were colorful and fun. The pool was very nice and the kids loved it. We will definitely be staying here again. We had a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Nemo room which was pretty close to the main pool and lobby. The Ariel buildings were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittanymc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was super excited when this resort opened, and it was wonderful to be able to stay in! And I was beyond excited for staying in The Little Mermaid section as Ariel is my favorite princess. The check-in area is beautiful, and the animation sketches that align the walls are a great distraction for if you have to wait in line (which we didn't as we had done online check in). Great value resort, still clean, lots of pool options, great quick service food!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Art of Animation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Property: Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Address: 1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830-8400
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Art of Animation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be surrounded in the artistry, enchantment and magic of Walt Disney and Disney•Pixar movies. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that invites you to explore the storybook landscapes seen in such classics as Finding Nemo, Cars, The Lion King and The Little Mermaid. From delightfully themed family suites to wondrously detailed courtyards, Disney's Art of Animation "draws" you and your family in to become a part of some of your animated favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Disney's Art of Animation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing