We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Positive Experience at Art of Animation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Positive Experience at Art of Animation”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just returned from 3 nights at Art of Animation with my husband and kids (10 & 7). We booked just about 5 days from arrival, deciding last minute that we really wanted the "Disney experience" and we were not disappointed. From the minute you pull up, you feel the excitement of Disney here. So bright and fun, all of the art, décor and statues really bring the experience to life. Staff was friendly and efficient, happy to answer questions, say hello to your little princess and pirates, really making them feel special! Magic bands were a nice touch, though I can see how you might easily spend more because they make it so easy to tap and pay. But the Fast Pass Plus was a great service/added benefit of staying onsite.

We stayed in The Little Mermaid standard rooms. If you stripped away all of the fun and bright décor, you have a very basic, small, but clean hotel room with a mini-fridge. Beds were decent - full size, so not incredibly roomy, but clean, reasonably comfortable and with adequate bedding. This wing is the further from Animation Hall (your food and shuttle stop area) and is about a 1/3 mile walk. No problem for us, but keep it in mind if traveling with very small children.

The food court was always clean, even when we dined at the busiest times. We saw the tables and floors being cleaned a number of times, and so far the staff has really kept the place up nicely. Food was ok - good value and selection for the kids meals. Adult meals were a bit overpriced for quick-service dining, but there was a good variety. Expect to pay Disney prices for your items - all part of staying onsite. And the adult beverage prices at The Drop Off poolside bar will make you want to drop-off the poolside libations very quickly.

Side note - you are just a short bridge crossing away from Pop Century so can easily walk to their dining room for additional variety. However on our visit, it was very, very dirty in the dining hall at Pop. We would not recommend it until they can keep it in better shape.

Common areas were amazingly themed and worth a walking tour just to take it all in. The staff did a great job of keeping things clean. We saw them polishing the outdoor décor one morning! You will always have those guests that just can't seem to through away garbage near the pool or won't walk to the garbage can just a yard or two away. But the staff did a good job of cleaning up after them as well. Overall - the two smaller pools were much quieter and had consistently cleaner decks than the main pool (Big Blue).

I struggle on how to review the "value" of this property. I paid nearly twice as much to stay here with a smaller room, smaller beds and no free breakfast than if I had stayed off site and a number of decent properties. However, being a Disney guest, you get shuttle service, the true immersion of experiencing Disney, some arcade credit, discounts at Downtown Disney activities and restaurants and two free putt-putt vouchers and the very cool Magic Bands and extra Magic hours at the parks. Having said all of that, and being the penny pincher that I am, I would likely book Art of Animation again (but only after I searched the lowest rates in the best season!).

Room Tip: Little Mermaid rooms are about 1/3 mile from the dining hall and shuttle pick up. If you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,535
    2,310
    663
    163
    103
See reviews for
5,284
418
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I did not have very high expectations as this is a budget family resort. But soon after our arrival I was pleasantly surprised. This is a fantastic Disney resort, I recommend anyone looking for a fun pleasant stay put this high on your list.
We stayed in the Cars section which was close to all amenities.
Any Aussies going to Disney World, book this place, you will be happy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Disney, what can I say. We have stAyed at all three levels of resorts and I honestly cannot tell the difference between the bottom and mid levels. The beds are sheets of plywood disguised as mattresses. The upper level beds are not much better so do not look for comfort sleep wise or financially. Three pools at art of animation. The big blue pool touts underwater music but the above water music is so loud it's hard to hear so it's no big deal after all. And there is no shade! There are kid activities lead by cast members like hula hoop etc but we stayed in the mermaid building and hung out at its pool. They are heated to about 82. The laundry services are good, take advantage of this and pack light. $2.00 wash/$2.00 dry. All this is easily accomplished while swimming. No kid activities at this pool though so bring goggles and dive toys or be robbed by Mickey. Foods better this year and if you are just feeding 2-3 it's worth the $ for the meal plans, Disney way over feeds so consider sharing and/or getting the least expensive plan. Make fast pass + a non-negotiable, this locks in an hour window for your desired ride. We had no problems using the mydisney app to change times when they were available. Let's face it, Micky mouse trips are expensive on and off property. Between the carribean, art of animation and grand Floridian the Floridian wins hands down for us. More amenities (spa) and nicer bath products and the closer you are to the kingdom the higher the price. It all depends what you want from Mickey and how much you are willing to pay. No more art of animation for us, would stay off property first.

Room Tip: The only room service is pizza and wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TotandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We chose the Art of Animation Resort because we were traveling with a multi-generational family and thought the family suites would allow us to share rooms and still have space. But let's be honest, we chose it first and foremost because of the theming which we knew would be a hit with the littles ones in our group. We also wanted to take advantage of staying at AoA while it was still new. We had six grandparent-age adults, two 40-somethings and their 4 and 6 year olds, and us... a youngish couple.

First Impressions:
It must be the resort closest to the airport, because I've never had a shorter ride on the Magical Express! When you get off the Magical Express there are easels set-up outside. What a neat touch and tie-in to the theme! Loved the lobby too! Even if you aren't staying here, I would recommend coming to check it out just to walk around.

We stayed in the Cars section. We chose this because we had visited the resort once before just to check it out, and thought that it had the best theming (I would say the Lion King section lacks in theming the most). We had four adults in our room. It was fun sleeping in the bed that pulls out of the wall. I just wish mousekeeping didn't put it back every day. There's no where to store the chairs, so that's kind of a pain. Every suite has two full bathrooms, which was great for us since we were staying with my parents! If you want to use the pull out couch you have to move some furniture, which is also not ideal. Our other family shared a room with four adults and two kids and it looked a little tight, but they never complained! I would say a family of two adults and two or three kids fit fine, but if you had six adults it would be cramped! The cars pool was often quiet (unlike the Nemo pool), but we didn't feel like our building or section was out of the way. The walk to the quick service restaurant was not bad at all. Speaking of which, everyone in our party of 12 enjoyed the cafeteria food. There were plenty of unique choices. I had the surf and surf sandwich (crab cake with fried shrimp on top) and highly recommend it to seafood lovers! The Nemo pool is not to be missed either. Make sure to put your head under the water so you can listen to the music playing! However, if you want to avoid kids, stay in one of the other sections.

There was never too far of a bus ride to the parks. Epcot and Hollywood Studios are the closest.

The only complaint I heard form our group was about the other people staying at this resort. I was told the "clientele" was less than desirable. That sounds so snobby, but if you've ever stayed at the All-Star resorts, you'll know what I mean. However, I didn't notice it as much as the All-Stars. It just wasn't a very calm nor relaxing place. You definitely feel like you're right in the middle of the action (except when we swam in the cars pool.... then it was very tranquil).

Overall, AoA is one of those resorts that truly captures the magic of Walt Disney World!!! I'm so glad I stayed there and would stay there again!

Room Tip: The Cars Section is far enough away from the hustle and bustle without being to far of a walk to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DisneyTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

All I read is how far the walk is from the Little Mermaid rooms, and unless you are not able to walk, it takes about 2 minutes to get to the animation hall. We traveled with 6 adults and 6 kids, all under 10, and never had an issue. Great value! Bus transportation was the worst part. A LOT of wasted time standing around. Some busses go to multiple places, one came after us waiting at MK for 50 minutes on Sunday Evening. I feel like we missed a lot while waiting for busses and making unnecessary stops. I would bring my our vehicle next time and avoid the standing around.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Amber '
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Art of Animation in January for 3 nights, and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and the size of the rooms. We were in the "Cars" section in a family suite. There were 3 adults and 3 children, and plenty of room. There was 1 bedroom with a queen bed, and in the main room, there was a pull out couch and a murphy bed, which both were very comfortable. (a lot more comfortable than the pull out couches at the All Star Music resort).
There are many pools at this property, but we only stayed at the small one near our room, which is a perfect size for our 3 boys.
the cafeteria is busy and large, and very typical of the cafeterias in the other value resorts. The laundry facilities are very handy and happened to be very close to our building, and that makes it easier.
Because this hotel is still very new, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent three nights at the Art of Animation hotel in the Cars Suite. There were 4 adults and two young children. We were very happy with the suite - had a separate bedroom and two baths, refrigerator and microwave. It easily slept six with a sleeper couch and a murphy bed in addition to the double bed in the bedroom. The resort itself is great and has two wonderful pools and a nice play area. As a previous writer said, the only drawback was the cafeteria. The hot food was bad and my daughter found a bug in one of her food items. The pre-packaged food wasn't quite as bad but not up to Disney standards. There were laundrymats on the property which came in handy. I would definitely recommend the hotel, especially the Cars Suite, but not the cafeteria.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Art of Animation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Property: Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Address: 1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830-8400
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Art of Animation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be surrounded in the artistry, enchantment and magic of Walt Disney and Disney•Pixar movies. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that invites you to explore the storybook landscapes seen in such classics as Finding Nemo, Cars, The Lion King and The Little Mermaid. From delightfully themed family suites to wondrously detailed courtyards, Disney's Art of Animation "draws" you and your family in to become a part of some of your animated favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Art of Animation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing