We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time at Disney”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kissimmee, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
krisans5
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location but hard beds”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 8 days at the Calabria rental property in Kissimmee in early December. We were 5 adults and 3 kids. Here are what we liked and disliked about the rental.
Pros:
1. The location of the house was very good. Lots of restaurants, supermarkets, gift shops, gas stations were very close. Plus it was around 15 – 25 minutes away from all the Disney parks (closest – Animal Kingdom; farthest – Magic Kingdom).
2. The décor of the house was great. Very nicely done with great details throughout. Everything looked new and updated. The game room looked nice though we never used it. One thing that did not make sense is the lack of function in the curtains in the bedrooms. While they look nice for décor it offered no protection from the light outside.
3. Plenty of room for a large family or a group getting together. The combination of bed sizes was nice. We looked at a lot of places but found the room combinations in the house the best.
4. The security system was an added bonus. Made us feel secure when we slept during the night or went out. As another guest mentioned, the security went off even when you went outside in the pool area. We had three kids and thought this was an added bonus.
5. There was a good pack and play that we used for our baby.
6. Quite house with no backyard neighbors. This is a new area that is still under construction so it is very quite during the evening.
Cons:
1. All the beds in the house were horribly hard. It couldn’t even be considered extra firm, it was several degrees harder than that. It felt like sleeping on a slab of rock. It was so uncomfortable for one person in our party that she ended up sleeping on the sofa the entire time we were there.
2. The pool was very lukewarm. We had to pay $20 for each day of the stay and felt that we did not get the value for what we paid for. The first few days of our stay, we were out and about in the day and wanted to jump into the pool in the evenings. However the temperature of the pool was very lukewarm. The hot tub was actually a little cooler than the pool. Upon calling a number in the instructions booklet left by the owners, our call was not returned. We sent an email the next day asking for what action is being taken on the pool. The owner wrote back saying that the pool’s sensor says that it was 85 F in the pool. This was really nonsense since we can tell that it was not 85F by just dipping our toes in the pool. And even if it were true, how could 85F be acceptable for the hot tub? We were also told that during the last days of our stay, the temperature outside was around 65F and so the pool will not heat to 85F. Nowhere during our initial conversation and booking was this mentioned, nor was it in the instructions book in the house, which the owner says contains all the information. We asked for our heating charges to be refunded, but after several back and forth emails, we were refunded 2 days of heating charges out of the 8 days, the reasoning being that we only complained about it on the 6th day and so everything should’ve been great for the first five days. If you stay in this house, do NOT get the pool heated unless you plan on using it only during the day during warm weather. It is a waste of money and the owners are not upfront or responsive enough about any issues you might encounter.
3. We had to move the garbage cans from the garage outside on Monday and Thursday for trash pick-up or they would charge you $50. But conveniently, there is no garage opener. So you have to raise the garage door the old fashioned way. It seemed a bit unsafe to put the garage door up and down manually.
4. The first day we arrived, the house was really hot (around 80F) and some of the air flow vents in the second floor bed rooms were closed. So we had to try to open them up and run the AC all night before the house cooled down. There are no fans in the second floor bed rooms and the house is big and so it takes a lot of time to cool down. We also second the opinion written by another guest on the owner’s instructing us to keep the temperature at a ‘comfortable 78F’. 78F is not comfortable in the muggy Florida weather. Maybe the owners should try staying at the house and keep the temperature at 78F and see if it is comfortable. While you were able to lower the temperature to 72, we noticed that the temperature would revert to 78 automatically.
5. The dishes in the kitchen were dirty. Granted that the management said that they didn’t clean it but the guests are supposed to clean the same, but it is not acceptable level of service to tell guests that you have to rely on the cleanliness of guests before you on plates that you use to eat. The dishwasher was really crappy and didn’t clean the dishes properly the few times we ran it. So we had to hand wash several of the dishes.
6. The high chair in the house had screws coming out from the base. So it was with a bit of consternation that we put the baby in it. Might’ve helped if there were a handy screw driver in the house.
7. The child safety gate for the stairs was the very basic wooden model and very ineffective. Our 17 month old was able to easily move it. Since all but the master bedroom was upstairs, it would’ve been smart to have a pressure mounted walk thru gate or wall mounted baby gate on the top of the stairs. The gate just was not safe at all. We had to keep an eagle eye on the baby the entire trip which did not let us enjoy the upstairs as much as we would like.
This was our first stay in an independent vacation rental house and based on the experiences above, we will not be staying at this house again nor would recommend it to someone else.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hard beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2013
We can certainly tell that these guests have never stayed in a short term rental home before as some of these comments are completely unfair and smack of being spiteful because pool heat wasn’t refunded despite them asking for it to be refunded after it had been on for 5 days. Not one other person has made complaints about highchair, baby gate, garage door, hard beds, dirty dishes, or being expected to put their own trash out. We accept that things do go wrong in the home and do our utmost to deal with problems in the correct fashion which is why we have just received Top Rental Manager award from Flipkey in Orlando for 2012 and an Excellence award from Trip Advisor.
My replies to each point are below
I am not sure what I can do about the hard beds comment – these mattresses are part of a $40,000 furniture package and are less than 2 years old. Over 30 families have stayed in the home and not one complained in any way about them.
Regarding the pool temperature. This home is fitted with an electric heat pump which comes on for 12 hrs per day with the pool pump – this is pretty standard practice in short term rental homes in Orlando. For this 12 hrs usage we charge $20 per day to cover the increased power cost. The renters had use of this for 5 days before asking for a refund which I feel is not acceptable and why I only refunded for 2 of the days. We have now had a leaflet produced which goes out to all renters who request pool heat in the cooler months which explains in more detail how the pump works and what to expect from it. We currently take care of 30 homes in the area and I must admit a number of guests right across all of our homes have queried pool temperatures this winter. I am not sure if the nights are particularly cooler than normal or we have had a run of people who have higher than realistic expectations of what an electric heat pump will do. We have also had the spa tested by an engineer and its working fine. We have put signs up explain to renters that if the want the spa at optimum temperature then they need to switch it on for 20 – 30 mins before it reaches this temperature in the cooler periods or at night time. Again you cannot have the pool heat switched on for 5 days and ask for a refund after the event.
Of course you need to put trash out if you are renting a short term rental home – this is not a hotel and bins need to be put out as they would in your own home. We can’t have rotting rubbish left in the garage or inside the home in a tropical climate as its unhygienic. We don’t fine guests for not putting garbage out once or twice but we will fine if after a stay there is a ridiculous amount of garbage left in the home due to guests being too lazy to put a bin out. We currently manage 4 homes in Calabria and each one has the same mechanism in that you have to manually lift the garage door to open it so I am not sure what the problem is in having to do this.
The AC system has been on the same setting for nearly 2 years and again this has never been a problem. If guests set at requested temp it would stay at this temp for 4 hrs and then creep back to 78. This worked well in circumstances where guests have it cooler as they go to bed but it would not stay so cool all night and wake guests up in the middle of the night freezing cold. We have taken this comment on board and have now set system to stay at temp guest selects.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haydock
Reviewed December 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cape may nj
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2012
In response to this mixed review

We do take some notes on board regarding the cookware. The home was stocked for 12 but it does seem that a few breakages along the way means we do need to replace a few items.

Some of the other comments are extremely unfair though

1. The alarms on all windows and doors which lead to the pool are required by Florida law to stop children wandering into the pool area. The alternative is a pool fence which most renters find intrusive.

2. Off course you have to pay for pool heat - This is the same with all homes in Orlando and it would be impossible to have this switched on and off each day as per a renters instructions. Also pool heat comes on each day when the pool pump kicks in. The manual in the home may state this comes on 8am – 8p.m and the timer is actually set for 7am – 7 p.m. We do this in the cooler months so that the pool is warmer in the day which is when most renters would like to use it. If the renters had contacted us and asked us to change the time of the pump we could have done this quite easily.

3. The air con is set to 78 degrees which is the recommended temperature for this time of year. There is no charge for air con as the renter states, there is simply a sign telling people should they set it below 75 then it can lead to the unit freezing up and breaking down which they would be charged for. This is pretty standard practice in all short term rental homes. Also if you alter the air con then it will stay at the altered temperature for 4 - 6 hours before gradually moving back to 78 degrees. If renters leave doors and windows open though then the unit will automatically revert to 78 degrees as this is a complete waste of power. Leaving doors and windows open with the AC on means you are effectively paying to cool the air outside the home. I MUST STATE WE HAVE HAD THE HOME FOR 18 MONTHS AND NOT ONE PREVIOUS GUEST HAS HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE AC

4. We offer BBQ hire for $55 per week. This includes delivery, cleaning and gas which I don’t think is excessive

Paul Melvin - Owner of Orlando Holiday Rental Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Would like to thank Jill and Paul for all their help and providing us with all the information needed for our visit. Pleasure to deal with them both. Would definitely recommend them if you are considering renting a villa in Orlando.

I am a very fussy person and the home was beautiful, exactly as the photographs and so comfortable. The pool area was lovely and being south facing had the sun all day long. Everything was provided in the home that you could wish for. (my husband even had premier league football - what more can a man ask for)

We did not use the cooker as part of our holiday is eating out and there are excellent restaurants on the 192 which are literally minutes away. Can recommend Houlihan's (we had breakfast there every morning, and also our evening meals on a few occassions),also Longhorne Steakhouse, Outback's, Bahama Breeze, TGI Fridays and applebee's to name a few.

The location of the villa is perfect, just off the 192 and within minutes you are entering Disneyworld especially if you use the new Toll Road (429) and such an easy drive. We even used this road in the opposite direction when we went to Universal as it was so quiet to get to the I4.

This was our 19th visit to Orlando and probably the best, the location could not be better, the villa was lovely, Shopping, Restaurants, Disney all on the doorstep we could not have asked for anything more.

Thank you once again.

Pauline and Robert
Wales

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Easton PA
Reviewed May 18, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing