We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is an extremely nice hotel with all the amenities you would expect from a Gaylord. The one caution I would highlight is how expensive the shops & restaurants can be. Everything outside your room is outrageously expensive and generally way over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    1,264
    522
    282
    209
See reviews for
1,311
597
76
1,535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a business seminar at the Gaylord Palms in the beginning of October and I loved my stay. The hotel grounds are just spectacular. Sometimes you’ll feel you’re inside a forest. It’s lovely. They’re pool area is sensational. I got my last day off and I was at the pool relaxing all day long. They have many food options, but I think the prices are a bit unreasonable, but since it’s far away from other places you’ll end up eating there. Although I saw many pizza boxes outside some rooms, so delivery is an option. I loved my room, its size, the amenities, the bed… Everyone at the hotel is very polite and customer service is very nice. Room was also very cleaned. I would definitely recommend the Gaylord Palms Resort!

Room Tip: It seems the old rooms have bathtubs and the renovated ones, close to the atrium, don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priscilla_M_Anjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is changing... They added a great sports bar that is huge but comfortable. Rooms are very comfortable. One bad thing, they changed their coffee shop and they no longer have their CubanO or hot turkey sandwich. These were so good after a meeting or late at night.

Room Tip: Ask To stay close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markeparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

As expected with any Gaylord property its beyond ginormous. Had a double queen room. The property is kept in impeccable shape. Wayfinding could be a little improved as I would up somehow in the basement trying to find my way back to my room.

Food options are present, but not exceptional. Really have to go off property at some point. Keep in mind, they charge you for everything. Parking, resort fee, etc.

My room keys for some reason kept not working. Had to go back to the lobby several times to get them fixed and burnt 3000 calories getting there.

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind trekking miles to go back to the lobby stay, in the Emerald side. Close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexgo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights.
The good:
The grounds are amazing.
The pools - One family, one adult are fantastic.
The rooms are large with comfortable beds.
The staff is impressive.
The disappointing: The bathroom has no tub, just a shower in the room. My wife hated this. (We had a real mildew issue in the shower, which was not resolved during our stay)
The prices are outrageous -$8 to 9 a bottle for a beer!
The price for food is prohibitive for a family.
$20 to park either as a hotel guest or just to visit.
And the hotel is close to nothing, almost isolated.
As a convention hotel it is perfect. As a family vacation hotel - never again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you belong to a sizeable organization that has trade shows or conventions the Gaylord hotels are where you want to be. they truly know how to organize large banquets and move herds of people easily and without any interruption to their day. Every meal they prepared was always top notch and the service was fantastic even with there being over a thousand of us to feed daily three meals. The rooms are very nice and relaxing my only complaint is no sitting chair in the room to watch TV from. They provide you with full-size bars of soap and larger shampoos than normal. The water pressure was good and the towels always fresh. They definitely know how to pamper the weary traveler but you will pay a premium for this service. They are not cheap, but I would rank them in the top five hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottH040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Convention Center is awsome, service at restaurants and hotel are the best. Very nice hotel, clean, confortable, nice view, close to parks; places to have dinner. Very nice place for couples, families, business, conventions, weddings. Congratulations to this new member of Marriott Hotels!

Room Tip: A view to the Atrium will be very nice for you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perla35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#34 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 333 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 155 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746-4414
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing