We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theme park-like atmosphere, expensive restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very clean hotel, located inside a several acres large weather and temperature control glass atrium. We were on a business trip and stayed for 4 days and didn’t rented a car, we ate at the different restaurants inside the atrium. All the restaurants offered good food but very expensive. The gym is located inside the atrium a short walk from the hotel. The gym is large and well equipped. The atmosphere inside the atrium recreates a Florida theme much like seen in Orlando theme parks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudy19771982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,843 - 2,849 of 4,788 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My son was involved in the Summer SHINE2013 through AMTC. From arrival to departure we had nothing but a great experience. My mom, aunt and daughter tagged along and vacationed and was very happy with the location to all the parks, as well as local restaurants, and shops they are used to where they live. In fact, my aunt was so impressed she is recommending her next teachers international convention be held here. Yes, the onsight shops and restaurants are pricey but within a mile are many other options and the hotel had no objections to us stocking up on small food items and using a microwave at Java Coast to heat and eat.

Room Tip: If you like action, request an atrium room, for quietness, an outer hotel view or to see the nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We drove all the way across Orlando to stay at the Gaylord Palms for the July 4th weekend. Everything was wonderful. We spent most of our time with the kids at the pool. We were there from early morning all the way to the end of the movie they showed at the pool at the end of the night. There were lots of poolside games for the kids and attentive servers to make sure the parents don't run out of margaritas.

Room Tip: One of the elevators on the Everglades side was broken this weekend, so at times there was a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atroposbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Gaylord Palms is a great property. The staffers are eager to please. The convention services are equal to the best I've ever experienced. There are three(3) major restaurants at this Hotel. Two of which are great and the third not so much. The Old Hickory steak house is very good and has great service. SORA, the Sushi restaurant is very good and it too has great service and a very nice atmosphere. Then there is the Breakers Sports Bar. The facility is beautiful, with LARGE theatre style state of the art video for watching all of your favorite sporting events.. However, the service and the food quality are lacking big time. Once again, Beautiful facility, but terrible as restaurant..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to Orlando. The hotel reception staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was a long long way from the lobby or the swimming pool which was not ideal with children. The room was large and comfortable.

Bathroom did not have a fan and smelled as a result. Wifi worked ok although it intermittently disconnected when using an iPad.

I had several problems with the safe not opening, and no one occasion, the towels in the room were not replaced. Due to the size of the hotel, it took time to get problems sorted out.

Location is very good, close to all the Disney and Universal studio parks.

Room service was good and efficient. A main concern is that the food at the hotel is expensive. For families, they will do well to have cheaper options available.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a room close to the pool and arcade (not in Key West wing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a good time very nice pool staff ... Misael was very friendly , funny and entertaining. The kids loved the pool area and fun activities . Room could be a bit better as far as the bathroom storage is concerned as well as the mini fridge was not cooling properly. Maria at the front desk was fabulous as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Barby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The place is enormous with several restaurants, very open areas that gives the illusion of being outside without the suffocating humidity Florida is notorious for & the rooms are very spacious. Without a car, you may feel trapped and limited to the very expensive transportation options. They do offer free shuttle service to the main theme parks, and why else would you come to Orlando? But I did not come for Disney or any other such fun, so I did feel a bit isolated. However, I only left the property once but never felt claustrophobic! It's a great spot for some R&R. Hskp missed my room a couple days during the stay but not a huge deal. They were quick to correct the oversight. Overall, thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#90 of 340 in Orlando
3,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,682 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 W. Osceola Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $244 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando and Sea World, the 1,416-room Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort in Kissimmee, Florida features 4.5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Water Park, featuring a double FlowRider and drop slide in addition to a multi-level treehouse water playground; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing