We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Gaylord but pretty good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best Gaylord but pretty good.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for a business conference June 22-26. The room was very nice and clean but we requested a king size bed months before and had to take 2 queens instead. The lady at the desk assured us the view was wonderful from our room. When we opened the curtains we saw a roof with a/c units in all directions. Ha. Since it was a business trip we overlooked that issue. We really enjoyed watching the fish in the lobby by the large ship and the alligators. We went to the Java Bar and the Ice Cream place and they were good. I had the chance to go to the spa and enjoyed it but the robes were very worn out and not heated. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating and helped us several times. We took a taxi down to Logan's Steakhouse for $6 then just walked back. It was about a mile along a busy four lane highway. There is also a Walgreens in that direction. My only complaint is that it is difficult to get anywhere unless you take a taxi. The closest bus stop is about a mile away.

Room Tip: In no way stay in the Key West wing room 2198 unless you are an A/C salesperson and like to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    1,363
    571
    314
    242
See reviews for
1,467
638
79
1,648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This Gaylord property is by far the best of them. My husband and I have stayed multiple times at three of the Gaylord Resorts, and the Gaylord Palms is by far the best! The Gaylord Opryland is a nice hotel, and our stays there have been okay. The Gaylord Texan is my least favorite, and I did have a bad experience at the concierge desk in Texas.But at the Palms, we are always given the best service I could ask for. There were two girls at the front desk that need mentioning...Jaide and Starsha...they were so accommodating with our requests and needs I would hire them for my business anyday. Every aspect of this hotel is wonderful. The employees from the front desk, to the restaurants, concierge, spa, and everywhere in between can't be beat! Looking forward to my next visit in February!

Room Tip: Love the atrium rooms, but you can't beat the executive suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FML831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Gaylord Palms is amazing. We were lucky to stay for a weekend free of charge. The place is huge and beautiful.
I believe it has two or three swimming pools. Our stay was amazing. We had room service one time, and it was awesome. We also ordered lunch one day by the pool. Prices were reasonable and food was good.
We did not eat dinners in the hotel restaurants. We went out of the resort/hotel to eat most of our meals. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laplaya00612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Treated well by the staff from the beginning to the end. Great place for family - well designed pools and hotel layout. Our rooms that faced the atrium provided a great view of the superb architectural design and layout of the gardens, several restaurants and shops within the hotel. Breakfast is not included in your reservation but the restaurants provided great choices.

Room Tip: As for Atrium View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laikipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Gaylord has always been known as a nice hotel. I have spent time at other locations. I was a little dissapointed with this location though. It was very pretty on the inside, you can tell there was a great deal of time and money spent on the flora and fauna. What did make me a bit upset was the lack of cleanliness of the room, and in particular the bathroom. There was hair on the floor from previous guests. The sink counters where not clean. So it may be a bit concerned about the rest of the room. It was cleaned the next day. The size of the room was no more than a Hampton which I had had larger ones at other locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryg517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
563 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to have or go to a convention. First it's huge, so be prepared to walk a lot. The good part is tons of cool stuff to see. Koi ponds, alligators, cool themed restaurants and just a very cool setting. The rooms are great, coffee makers and mini friges. Lots of room and a nice little balcony. The service is always top notch. The staff always goes out of their way to help. The restaurants are great too. I look forward to coming back

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, FL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked the Shrek Experience weekend for our oldest sons 10th birthday. There were 4 of us in our party. I had booked the room on my card but with my husbands Marriott reward number. The reservation was in my name just as it is on my card. While my husband managed the kids and attended to the luggage, I went inside to check in. They were not going to allow me to check in because my husband was not with me because it was his reward number. Seems a cc number would have been more important than a reward number. Oh, we have the same last name too. So the "new" front desk clerk asked another front desk person if she could check me in without my husband and was told no. I'm still unclear as to what the big deal was but the moment my husband walked up with our kids the employee seemed relieved. At this point I'm thinking, not a great way to start the weekend.

So once we got our keys, we began asking about the amenities included with the Shrek Experience, which the front desk knew NOTHING about. Referred us to the concierge who was only a bit more knowledgeable. She knew what time the meet and greets started but had no idea where any of them were located. As we searched the vast property for the likes of Sherk and Fiona, Puss in Boots, Kung Fu Panda Po and King Julien, we found them only because we stumbled across them in the atrium or spoke to other folks searching as well. No employees in the shops or just walking around had any information. Once we did locate the characters, they were interactive and engaging.

Now back to the concierge. The weekend we stayed here was also the weekend of the Kentucky Derby which we wanted to see in the resort bar. While at the concierge we asked what time post time for the Derby. She looked at me puzzled. I rephrased it to the Kentucky Derby race time and she was still confused. So she called the bar (Wreckers, which, I might add is a great place to watch the Derby or possibly any sports event) to find out. Now, in my opinion, a concierge at a resort property such as this, which is owned by Marriott, should know the answer to that question. BTW there was a private Derby party going on and Wreckers was jam packed. Makes me wonder if she would have had information for a more popular sport like the World Series or NBA finals.

I felt like no simple or complex (and believe me, our questions were not overly complex), could be answered without involving one or two other people. Very poorly informed staff. Some didn't even know there was the Shrek Experience going on even with pole banners hanging throughout the atrium! Marriott should be ashamed.

The best experience was the pool area with fun slides for our kids. As another guest stated the prices are OUTRAGEOUS but it is a resort so inflated is expected but these seemed gouging. I don't mind paying but for the bad service/information is unacceptable for those prices. We arrived at the pool late afternoon so there were plenty of chairs available but I do see where they could fill up quickly as there limited numbers.

The room was spacious and comfortable, probably our only positive thing next to the fun our kids had at the pool.

Overall, our experience was completely disappointing. (See my reviews about Sunset Sam's restaurant and the Villa Flora breakfast buffet) With everything we had heard about the Gaylord Palms and then our experience we won't return. Again, we don't mind paying resort prices for resort service but this is the type of service I would expect at a La Quinta. Felt gouged.

They should take a page from Disney's playbook on being knowledgeable and well informed.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2BOYSMOM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Orlando Resort Bonnet Creek
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando and Sea World, the 1,416-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Water Park, featuring a double FlowRider and drop slide in addition to a multi-level treehouse water playground; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing