We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing stay-not long enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Crossroads, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stay-not long enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a conference. Was pleased that the resort never felt crowded even though it is huge! Check-in was a little shaky with what seemed like trainees at the front desk. Only complaint is that when asked to have a room near my colleague, it was not all that close. Understanding there are a ton of rooms, would have been nice to at least be on the same floor. :(

The room was great. The understated decor was perfect-contemporary and sheik. The closet was huge and the drawers in the dresser were really deep! I love that they were soft-closing too! Although on my way to check out, there was a cockroach in my bathroom. The Elite Rewards counter and concierge were extremely helpful in letting me bypass the crowded front desk to listen to my complaint. I get that it is Florida and they have bugs, but ew, gross!

Loved everything else about the resort. Wreckers was a ton of fun and Luis, our waiter, was a total blast! Had the loaded fries and wings, and thought it was a bit expensive for the quality, although the quantity was great. Would have been okay if I was at home and could've taken it home with me! Also had a croissant at Java Coast that was the perfect breakfast.

Was disappointed I did not have time to use the pool because it looked amazing! I wish it was open later (midnight?) as it would have been great to use the hot tub to unwind after sitting in conference sessions all day. Although the firepit next to Wreckers and the adult pool was amazing! Overall had an amazing stay and can't wait to head back with the family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Adventure_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    1,264
    522
    281
    209
See reviews for
1,311
597
76
1,534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our party of 6 was there for both a meeting and a visit to Disney World. We had 2 rooms side -by- side. We checked in on Sunday and for the next FOUR days had to call every evening for housekeeping. Three days housekeeping had clearly not set foot in the room at all before we complained. One other day they had made an attempt but left dirty glasses in the room, did not leave clean glasses and did not leave the "complimentary" bottles of water in our fridge(part of the $15 per day resort fee). Our group in the next room appeared to have had housekeeping everyday. However, that turned out to be only very surface cleaning. On Friday our 2 year old reached under one of the beds and pulled out a can of smokeless tobacco. As none in our party partake of that product, the mind reels at the thought of how long that had been there untouched by housekeeping. I've had better housekeeping service at a Sleep Inn. The hotel devotes far to much to making the hotel look lavish and unique and ignores basic customer service.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Even though I was there for a conference, I love this hotel. It doesn't even feel like a hotel. It is an Island Paradise! I absolutely would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay for a weekend for a week. Can't wait to come back and bring the family!

Room Tip: My room overlooked the pool. Which is a beautiful view! Highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Its been three years since we last stayed at the Gaylord and i must say the renovations and upgrades to the decor are fantastic. The pool area is amazing although i wasn't too thrilled on the strict entrance to the poolside. The children's pool is fantastic. The Sandbar poolside is great. We also enjoyed Wreckers. Great sports bar. The Sunday brunch at Villa Flora was outstanding. The Gaylord does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Atrium view is always the best especially when you select the St. Augustine area. You can literally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaG6unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very nice property overall.
Valet was good, front desk was quick & friendly, rooms are nice (big, clean & great view).
Food overall was good.
Steak & Asian places were good (a bit pricey, but that's to be expected at a resort this size).
The sports bar setup is nice & the large screens for games are a great touch.

The only real negative was the very slow service at the Sports bar. It's the main thing that stands out to me. We would leave & go to the store in the middle atrium to get drinks because the service was so slow.
We went 3 nights in a row to the sports bar (I guess we like punishment) because it was March & there was no better place to watch the games & the service was poor all 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Its been several years since we stayed at the Gaylord Palms and since then they have completed a $50M renovation program both within the hotel and the outside facilities. The visit just completed deserved the usual 5 stars as from the check in process to checkout process it was the best. The staff upon arriving tripped over themselves in trying to help. They were attentive and went out of their way to help. The rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious. Our favorite restaurant Villa de Flora hadn't changed and the buffet food was plentiful with a large variety of quality choices. Kissimmee shops including tourist, area chain restaurants, grocery stores, drug stores are within a mile and offer other choices than those at the hotel. Some have complained in other reviews about the costs in the shops. Yes they are more expensive, but when you go to a 5 star establishment you have to expect such. As said, Kissimmee is quite close. Others have mentioned the renovated pool areas. The children will love the huge pool and play area devoted to them. Its safe and fun for children and their parents as well. The adult pool is also quite large and extremely nice for gathering of a more sedate crowd. This pool is age restricted which makes it nice and quieter. So I'll give the Palms an A++++++ and you will not be disappointed in staying here. The large Atrium can have noise when certain programs take place. So just close your French doors overlooking it or choose a Florida view.

Room Tip: The Florida view rooms will be quieter as they face away from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great and spacious resort with amazing amenities includic sea life and alligators.
The steak house was better than the sea food restaurant. The staff is great (very responsive). The adult pool is beautiful, but the background music (always playing), makes it difficult for leisure reading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobcatMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#33 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 333 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 155 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746-4414
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing