We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice addition to the Marriott properties. We stayed for a weekend prior to the start of a convention for my husband. Rooms were very clean and we had a room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful interior of the property. The kids enjoyed the alligators and turtles in the center atrium. The weather was too cold to enjoy the pools outside but people who were outside seemed to be enjoying the areas. We missed having the Marriott concierge level benefits, but it appears they are adding that in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,912 - 2,918 of 4,602 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Being a platinum rewards member I was very excited to see that a convention I was attending was being held here. I absolutely love staying at Marriott properties. Now this property is a top notch hotel but they DO NOT value a platinum member at all. The only benefit is access to the sauna and a separate check in? No breakfast, no concierge room? That is a shame. Oh and the resort fee of 100 for a 5 night stay? Valet of 24 per day? 18 to self park? Plus the taxes you are at 75 a night before you get the the room??? Lovely hotel but never again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gaylord Palms for 5 nights while we attended a convention there. Upon check in by a very friendly and professional gal, we were upgraded to a suite for being Marriott Elite members. Our room overlooked Old Hickory Restaurant and had a balcony. Our room was very clean, had a walk in shower, a nice sized living/dining room area, and a nice bedroom. We had no complaints and felt truly recognized for being Marriott Elite members. We will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Disney resorts were way too expensive and we are SO happy we stayed at the Gaylord Palms! Now it's part of the Marriott chain, which is another plus for reward members.
We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the everglades atrium and a view of the steakhouse with a balcony wide enough for two chairs! The room was spacious and had all the standard amenities as well as a little fridge!
The shower and toilet are in a separate room. The double sinks were nice but a little cramped for space on the counters. Bed was so comfortable and the room is nicely decorated.
The resort has two pools: one for adults and one for families and kids with a huge screen that plays movies in the evenings. Both were really nice and the water park at the resort was a nice addition.
Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful. Room service was great at any hour and never took longer than 25 minutes. You have to try the Wrecker wings!! So tasty we ordered them every night with a ceasar salad after running around in the parks all day.
Just be prepared for the daily resort fee, valet or self parking. Only about a 5 - 7 minute drive to all the theme parks. We will definitely stay here again and are thinking of making a trip to visit other cities with Gaylord properties!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an atrium view at the Everglades section - quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMF2_On-The-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

my second visit here - hotel just as nice as 4 years ago... staff great, hotel services great, fitness center great and pool great. I highly recommend. the location is great for Disney parks and has complimentary shuttle. Breakfast buffet great - ladies in Java Hut very friendly

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daytonaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord Palms for a week during a convention we attended there. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor (of 5 floors in that section) overlooking the Key West Atrium. We had a balcony we could sit out on and we over-looked "Sunset Sam's", which is a restaurant made to look like a sailboat (lighted at night also) sitting on a "lake" that is stocked with actual fish (which are fed on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays at 1:30PM). The Gaylord is a very nice hotel and is quite big, although not as big as the Gaylord Opryland in Nashville, which we stayed at for a week a year ago. Maps are given to you upon checking in so you can find your room and way around the (entirely enclosed) resort and convention center (which is easily accessible by a walkway from the hotel to the convention center). The interior grounds of the Gaylord are very pretty with trees, bushes, and many flowers to look at and take walks by on the "trails" winding through the resort (the outside grounds of the resort are also very pretty and well-maintained). There are a few "waterfalls" on the walkways and one of my favorite spots was another "pond" where probably a dozen or so small alligators and many turtles reside. There are guardrails and metal fencing around the alligators so it is perfectly safe to observe them. The alligators are fed 3 times per week (like the fish in the Key West atrium's pond) on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday nights at 6:30PM. My only complaint about these public feedings by the staff at the Gaylord is that one, a microphone should be worn by the people who are doing the feeding so that the public who is there to watch the feedings can hear what is being said. The man who fed the fish told the crowd what kinds of fish he was feeding and he answered any and all questions about what he was doing, but it was hard to hear him as he was a ways away from where we had to stand on the "dock" to observe him feeding the fish. The gal who fed the alligators also had no microphone and she didn't talk at all to the many people watching her feed the alligators - she just fed them. I would have liked to have heard about why these alligators are at the Gaylord, how long they stay there, what is being fed to them, etc. That part was disappointing in not being able to hear anything about the feedings.
The room we stayed in was clean and nice. There were 2 sinks in the bathroom and that's always nice. A few observations and suggestions for the Gaylord hotels would be to put in "makeup" mirrors in the bathrooms and also to put soap dishes on the bathroom countertops. I've never understood why there are no soap dishes in hotels. We used the plastic top off of a glass to put our soap in so it wouldn't slide all over the countertop and get the countertop all mushy and wet.
The $15 resort fee (which added up to even more when all the taxes were added onto it) gave us 2 bottled waters each day and the ability to have wireless internet in our room and around the hotel grounds. That was what we used the money we had to pay towards the resort fee for most.
When getting a room at the resort, I'd suggest getting a high enough room to be able to see out into the atrium of which your room is located in. Our biggest complaint about the Gaylord and having a room overlooking an atrium is the noise. There was no peace and quiet in our room except in the very dead of the night (I awoke at 3AM and it was quiet). The music from the restaurants and especially from a couple of bands that were playing out on the lawn for various groups attending the convention were extremely loud at night. During the day, the sounds of people talking, the restaurant music, etc. made for a louder noise level in our room then I was expecting. So be aware of a louder noise level in the atrium facing rooms then what you might think. I think this was our main complaint about staying at the Gaylord Palms was the noise.
It is a very nice and attractive looking resort and the staff were all nice and friendly and helpful - but be aware of the noise level when staying there. Also be aware that being a resort, EVERYTHING is very expensive there, from the restaurants to the shops to parking in the resort (on top of the cost of the hotel room itself). Bring a full wallet with you.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor to be able to observe everything in whatever atrium you stay in. We stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just got back from the Gaylord Palms, Florida and had a great time. My husband, myself, and my 2 children. Everything in the hotel is beautiful. We had a minor issue when we arrived but the hotel took care of it immediately. Apparently the cleaning lady was half asleep when she cleaned our room that we checked into. The front desk upgraded our room and had the bell hop help us move. We really appreciated that. The hotel water park and pool is amazing and the water was so warm. I have never been to a hotel were the pool water was that warm but it was so nice that we could swim at any time and not be cold. Keep the pool that warm in the winter because it is awesome. The food is good but over priced and so are the drinks. We love to eat out and we did all the time at the hotel but it was way way over priced for what you got. I don't mind spending $40 on a meal but it better fill me up. The buffet was the best by far. You got filled up and the food was outstanding! Besides the food and drinks being overpriced we wish there was a hot tub near the family pool. The only hot tub is at the adult pool and we have 2 small children so we could not enjoy it. We loved our vacation at the Gaylord and we will go back. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
4,457 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 339 in Orlando
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,468 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
1.5 mi away
Orlando World Center Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 West Osceola Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $219 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando and Sea World, the 1,416-room Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort in Kissimmee, Florida features 4.5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Water Park, featuring a double FlowRider and drop slide in addition to a multi-level treehouse water playground; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing