We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud music, sewage and overbilling by $4400” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loud music, sewage and overbilling by $4400”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I attended a 4 day conference at the Gaylord Palms. The first night we stayed, a loud concert was held in the Atrium until 10 PM which made it impossible to sleep. Day 2, sewage backed up in our room and Gaylord charged us $1800 for a $800 credit authorization on our debit card. Our debit card was closed down by our bank. We could not leave the hotel as we had no access to funds. Our final bill was $767 and Gaylord charged our debit card $2600 the day after we returned home. It took two days for Gaylord to refund the $2600. My bank advised me to cancel my debit card due to the unauthorized charges by Gaylor Palms. Over a 6 day period, Gaylord charged by debit card $4400 for a $767 bill. They eventually reversed all charges except the $767 bill. Our debit card account went into deficit twice and our account was put on hold twice during this period. We spent countless hours on the trip and after the trip to get all hotel charges corrected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,329
    554
    302
    230
See reviews for
1,418
627
77
1,595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the Gaylord while attending a conference that took place in the conference center connected to the hotel. Where to start when reviewing such a great venue? For a start all personnel is really friendly and helpfull. The inner garden of the hotel is a great place for a walk or for a meal in one of the restaurants. The rooms are spacy and provide all comfort needed. There's free internet, wired and wireless in your room and wireless throughout the entire hotel.
One of the things I would like to emphasize is the pool facilities. There's two pool areas. To start with there's the adult area. No children allowed inhere. The pool is a long rectangular one. Ideal for swimming long distances. Too shallow for diving still. The other area is a small taste of heaven for the small ones. The huge pool is shallow all the way with a big water playground around it with slides and such. Very good thinking there!
Luckily the hotel leaves nothing to be desired as once outside, you're out in the desert. The hotel lies next to the big theme parks but on the other side of the motorway. So you will need a ride once you're out.
To be conclusive, this hotel is a great stay for multiple reasons. If you would force me tell you any negative all I can think of is that the A/C and fridge were making too much noise at night but I know of some good ear plugs to remedy that :-).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xof_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was not impressed at my second Gaylord Resort (also stayed in DC). I was just here for a conference (stayed at the Parc Soleil by Hilton -much nicer and cheaper!)...

This place is TOO big. Too far to walk. Too expensive. Too much glitz and not enough substance. The conference was great but they shoved us into small conference meeting rooms and people had to sit on the floor.

Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knittykitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Come here and no need to leave your room... it's like going to an amusement park inside your hotel... You need at least 2 days to tour the hotel of all the places it-has and all the amenities , restaurants , shops, bars,etc..

Make sure you spen at least one day in the pool, cause once your there, you won't want to leave the pool.. food and drinks at the pool are outstanding.. Me being a low budget travein guy.. I always look out for the sale days they have,, normally 50% or more discount.. when ever in Orlando check this place out
Gil

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KANEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed 9/27 - 10/2. Mears shuttle provided transportation to & from airport. Only fridge in room, no microwave (closest one is at JAVA coast coffee shop). Food is somewhat expensive, especially for a turkey sandwich. I hiked about 20 minutes down the street to nearest Publix (grocery chain). Bought groceries and took back to room. Publix also fix awesome footlong subs, made with fresh bread. Logans, Walgreens and other eateries are near the Publix. Only purchased a $3 cup of coffee and a $3 candy bar from resort during stay. All other days I microwaved my tv dinners, ate turkey, cheese& crackers, soup in a can, etc. My breakfast consisted of pop tarts or cereal. I was there for a conference and didnt mind my food budget. In all, I spent $42 on a weeks worth of grocery & snacks. Please remember, fridges are not that huge, but decent size. Lake Buena Vista outlet provides free shuttle to outlet mall, you do have to call and pick up will occur at Bus Shuttle. Not a bad place to visit, but shops & food eateries are limited and stores arent that great. Overall, room was great and resort very nice.
DONT EXPECT LATE CHECKOUT, no matter how much you plea!

Room Tip: request a room in the st.augustine atrium WITH A Balcony. you will be able to see live bands for fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100sunnyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel was great for our conference. Room was always cleaned promptly. Lots to do & see right within the hotel. Wreckers was a great sports bar (loved the big screens!)

The rooms were not too far from the conference center - I've been to conferences in Vegas and it's a really LONG walk. This was very convenient.

Conference area was not too cold - but I still recommend a sweater.

We had dinner/drinks in Key West section on the boat - that was really great! Very relaxing. All staff is extremely friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent 4 nights here attending a conference. Only wish I could have stayed longer. From the moment I checked in to the moment I departed- the whole experience was wonderful. Every employee was helpful, upbeat and I could tell they loved their job. The entire property is well kept and enjoyable. Plenty to do without even leaving! I had a top of the line steak at the steakhouse with outstanding service, as well as one of the best breakfasts. The conference staff and conference areas were well equipped, and the food was delicious and abundant. My room was clean, cozy, quiet, and comfortable. I was able to enjoy everything the hotel had to offer. I like that they had a free airline boarding pass printing station. Usually you have to pay for printing items, so that was a nice surprise. the fitness center is well equipped and clean. I can't think of anything negative about this property. Highly recommended, and I will be back.

Room Tip: The atrium side is nice because it has a balcony, but if there are events going on, you may not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatclov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Orlando Resort Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing