We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk back in time.”

Osceola County Historical Society Pioneer Village
Ranked #26 of 84 things to do in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History meets nature at the Pioneer Village at Shingle Creek Regional Park! Step back in time as you tour the fully-restored dwellings of some of Osceola County's earliest settlers, furnished to depict lifestyles in the late 19th century. Visit our Seminole Settlement to see how Florida's natives lived off the land. Explore our hiking, biking and paddling trails to get in touch with Florida's nature on the Headwaters of the Everglades. Visiting Central Florida? Don't miss the Osceola County Welcome Center and History Museum! Journey through Osceola County's natural history as you crawl through a gopher tortoise burrow and climb into a life-sized eagle's nest. Venture through interactive exhibits that tell the stories of Osceola County's earliest industries including citrus farming, cattle ranching, and tourism. After you learn about Osceola County's past, explore what its present has to offer with information about local restaurants and hotspots, as well as discounted tickets to local attractions.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A walk back in time.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went during Poineer days and they had some people who spoke about coming to Kissimmee 100 years ago.l Very interesting

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Houses are great, but experience small”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We viewed this attraction during their Pioneer Day this past weekend. Glad we went while other activities were happening. The buildings themself are well preserved, and offer a good assortment of the "Cracker" lifestyle from years past. However, the grounds are very small, and once you see the houses, that's about all there is to see. There are more expansive displays of Florida history in Christmas and Barberville, Florida. But if you are in this area, it may be worth a short stop if this is your interest and you are not traveling near those other locations. Since we've moved to Florida, we've learned a lot about the pioneer heritage here - this attraction offers you but a very small slice of history. A new history center/museum just opened up on 192, right up the street from here - so combine the two into a single visit, and you will get a better idea of Florida pioneer history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTwoCent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really like this piece of 'real' Florida”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited here with the children to have a morning away from the parks. It's very small only 4 things to see, but we really enjoyed it. There wasn't anyone else there so we had the guide to ourselves. She was very Knowledgeable and included the children, encouraging them to touch things and use their imagination. It didn't take long to get round the houses, but then we went over the road to the nature reserve for a walk which the kids also enjoyed. Nice clean toilets, easy to park and probably only take about 1 hour to see it all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank happycat318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“small site”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

not much to it very small ,husband didnt want to stop there wasnt much there to see

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debilee313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pioneer history”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

A small set of of floridian houses and buildings from the 1890`s in a "cracker" style. The houses gave a real good sense of history and how hard life would have been for the early settlers in the area. There is also a small museum which houses artifacts from the local area. All in all worth a look for history buffs if you are in the area. The only fee is a sugested $5 donation to the historical society.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osceola County Historical Society Pioneer Village also viewed

 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Osceola County Historical Society Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing