We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tenampa

El Tenampa
Ranked #38 of 786 Restaurants in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
PRESTON
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited this restaurant as a party of 6 as we all wanted to eat Mexican but not in a chain restaurant.
Must admit when we pulled up outside the exterior was a little off putting, however we were all hungry and decided to have a look inside. We were all pleasantly surprised by what we saw, the place was packed with locals and tourists-seeing locals is always a good sign. Great atmosphere.
We had to wait for about 30 minutes for a table and even then had to accept a 4 seater and a 2 seater but the food and drinks were definitely worth it. I would rate it as one of the better Mexican restaurants I have visited.
The only downside was that there was only 1 ladies toilet and in a busy place like this that is not enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    121
    26
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food. Give it a try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

El Tenampa Mexican Restaurant serves very good Mexican food. 07/30/13
4565 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Highway
Kissimmee, FL 34746
We stumbled in on this place back in May, like it, and decided to give it another try (7/30/13). The building is not impressive on the outside but the inside is nice. A Mexican market is located in same building (single story with tile roof). Signing is not too obvious, so be on the lookout as you get near. You can use the “India Diner” sign just to the southeast of El Tenampa as your landmark.

The food is very good and the portions are more than ample. We had a ‘buy one get one ½ off’ coupon we found in a local flyer and since the wife and I both wanted fajitas, we ordered two dinners at $10.00 each. When they brought out our dinner we each had a skillet full enough to feed the both of us from just one of the plates. They also brought out a plate full of beans, rice, pico de gallo, lettuce, sour cream (and guacamole if you wanted it; we didn’t) which we thought was for the both of us until they brought out a second entire plate full. We ate our fill and took home leftovers enough for another meal. Oh, and lest I forget, you also get the obligatory chips and salsa.

Although we did not imbibe, my wife did ‘sample’ two of the several flavors of ‘fruit drinks’ they call Fresca’s. Some with familiar (pineapple, coconut, and some (to me) unusual names, Wa-Wa being one. One day we’ll have to get adventurous and try one. We were told they do different flavors throughout the week.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice food at very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on its ratings on trip advisor and were certainly not disappointed.

Do not be put off by the exterior which is not overly inviting - a lot of people were not and the place was packed for the duration of our meal. Some even chose to leave as they felt the wait for tables to be too long.

As a party of 6 we waited about 20 minutes before they offered us a 2 and 4 seat table. We accepted as they told us it could be much longer before we could sit as a 6. As it happened, a 6 seat table became available 5 minutes after we were seated and went to the next people waiting which was a bit of a pain.

The menu was extensive with a very good choice. The prices we found to be very reasonable for both food and drink. A very large traditional Margarita was only $5.99, a bottle of corona $3.50 which was much cheaper than we paid elsewhere.

The food on a whole was good. The only slight issue we had was that one of our party ordered a chorizo chimichanga, and when the meal was brought out they told her they did not have any so had replaced it with another meat. It would probably have been better if they had asked prior to making this change as she did not like the meat used, and so as not to disrupt the rest of the parties meals and so that we could all eat together she just accepted the alternative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyGards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican food! Defiantly will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently moved to Orlando and have been looking for a great Mexican restaurant. After asking several people for recommendations we headed here. We were quickly greated and seated at a table. Staff was friendly and helpful. The selection on the menu is great with several different meats to chose from. We ordered the guacamole, fresh and tasty. We also order tacos, a gordita and an Alhambra (sp?). Everything came out quickly and hot. They have a big selection of frescas and offered sample, all were wonderful. Don't be turned away at the exterior, the inside is nicely decorated and well worth the trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tasted like all the other Mexican I have had”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

So the food is fine and not the reason I rate this low. The restaurant is so crowded and they let homeless people haggle you right in front of the door. You just don't feel safe. It was also hot and very loud. I will not ever go back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tenampa also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to El Tenampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing