We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed hard as concrete, unfriendly, smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed there 2 nights. The beds were as hard as concrete. Half the hotel was empty but they put us in a room right next to the dumpster which smelled terrible. The bathroom door in our room wouldn't lock. I asked for a wakeup call and was told I should use the alarm clock instead. After I said I would use the alarm, they said they would also do a wakeup call but they messed it up and did it at 5:30 in the morning, the wrong time. When you first check in, they send you to a timeshare desk where you have to listen to a salespitch before they will give you your parking permit for the hotel. There are hotels all around that probably provide a better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallahasseefamily75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

I really had a great experience at this hotel, i reserved two rooms and i requested them next each other and also conecting, when i went at the front desk for check in, my request was not available,but we were very lucky because the front desk agent was very helpful and efficient, his name was Dario, Him and the rest of the front desk are very friendly people. I also liked the rooms,clean and confortable. Without doubt i would recommend this hotel to family and friends and anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viklo445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

For the price, you cannot go wrong. It was good for the money, access to the rooms convenient, staff helpful and friendly. The best feature is in the evening, when sitting in traffic coming out of Disney, it's one of the first hotels out of Disney along 192 West, so you can bail out of traffic before feeling like ripping out your steering wheel. We've stayed here several times, HOWEVER - When looking up this hotel and booking online, do NOT confuse it with that horrible "Ramada Maingate West" accross the street. Two years ago, Google Earth did a poor job differentiating these hotels (but improved now with links to reviews, hotel website, etc.) and we booked at the wrong Ramada. What a mistake. They are a world apart. Make sure you select Ramada GATEWAY not "Maingate West" or you'll regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry_happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This hotel is not fancy. Just a place to lay your head at night when getting in from the parks. Staff not very friendly. Lots of kids running around unsupervised. Fire dispatched twice while staying there (6 nights) because kids playing in the elevator. Smokehouse Grill not very good. Food very greasy. Our room was not cleaned until late in the day each day which meant one day we were taking a nap and didn't get cleaned at all. They never replaced our toilettries or toilet paper the entire time we were there. Had to check out at 5:30 a.m. to catch our flights back to Texas, and took 10 minutes for the front desk clerk to come to the desk. I know it was early, but they didn't even have a bell to ring.

It is close to the parks. But, I recommend renting a car. The shuttles only go a few times a day, and you are at their mercy. It says Animal Kingdom is very close, but that is not true. Took at least 10 minutes each day to get where we were going by car (to the parks).

We plan to go back in the Winter, and won't stay here.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank kpalomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I want to give people an honest review of this hotel as when i was reading them before i went i felt nobody gave a detailed good review. And if i had had this info before i went it would have made things a whole lot easier.

When i read the bad reviews i just ignored them thinking it was people being snobby. Im a student so used the not the nicest of conditions but i was surprised when i arrived. One review said it felt like being in a horror film such as Vacancy. I do agree with this. That was exactly what we thought when we arrived it just seemed really dodgy and the rooms were identical to a motel in a horror film. However after being there a few days you do realize that it is completely safe place to stay.

I did think the other bad reviews were making it out to be worse than it was, but the room is pretty bad. Like it smells pretty strange and the bathroom is just gross. There were hundreds of dead ants in it every day when we arrived home. The bed and sheets were clean thou - so just the bathroom and smell really. Also was the odd bug found. The maid service was excellent thou, made the room feel alot nicer to come back to.

The staff are pretty rude as mentioned in a review. Like when arriving and checking in they spoke in spanish (obviously about us). We were not made to go to the concierge desk before given our room key, probably cos we were a young couple and obviously couldnt afford to buy into time share. However older couples and families in front of use were. So thats a pretty bad thing, When all you want to do after traveling is get to your room and you have people shoving time share at the promise of cheap tickets down your throat.

We chose to stay in this hotel over a villa as we did not want to hire a car and thought people would help. However nobody would help us with anything. The hotel reception and local tourist info points know nothing (apparantly) about the public transport. Yet conveniently all are friends with this guy that runs a shuttle to universal for $20 each, each way.

Anyway getting around was OK. not the best but ok. The shuttle that the hotel runs leaves at 7:35am, 10.15am and 12.05 am. With return times being at 6pm, 8:15pm and last one at 10pm. Which is the time the fireworks start at Magic Kingdom. The ones at hollywood studios are 10.30pm. So if your wishing to see the fireworks you will have to pay aroun $25 dollars fare in a taxi back to the hotel. Yet many of the drivers we experienced did not know where our hotel was. And it is not easy to direct to either as all the roads look identical.

Anyway to get to places such as universal studios here is the way to do it - without paying for a taxi (which cost $40 each way). You get the the Links buses from the disney transportation centre. (which is where the hotel shuttle drops you for the parks) So you catch the links 50 to Sea World, then the 8 to Wet and Wild and then the 37 to Universal. (dont believe someone when they say its a 10 min walk from wet and wild!)
To get to and from the disney transportation centre (the disney transport system place) you can also get the links buses. To get from the Ramada to the centre catch the 55 (the stops near the hotel) then the 56 to the transportation centre.

So if you go to universal without using the hotels shuttle you will have to get 5 buses in total to get there. Kind of annoying really. But after youve done the journey a bit you get used to it. Just make sure you know the last times for all the buses. (the 55 stops at 9 so doesnt help if your planning on staying in the parks late)

We never went in the hotels pool so cannot comment on that. The reason being it was very crowded and we were intimidated by the big groups in and around it.

Anyway i hope this helps somebody as we were very stressed about how to get around the first few days. And as i have stated none of the staff will help you as everyones interested in selling you something.

We only paid £200 each for this holiday as it was extremely last minute so we were pretty satisfied at the end of the day. But if your planning on paying a large sum i strongly advise you to look elsewhere for accommodation. We would have been so angry if we'd paid much more than that for what we received. And that price included the flights - so the hotel much have cost hardly anything. Do not pay much to stay here. And do not think my review is exaggerating. Its telling it a it is. There were ants and funny smells. Yet we just saw it as a place to rest and didn't spend much time there. :o)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshineel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We just got back from 3 nights is this hotel and the staff is a bit slow but it was really nice for the cash. We loved the game room and the all around feel. The tower rooms are where you want to be due to the noise from the pool area. All around the staff the room and the hotel is a good deal for the MONEY and after all that what most trips come down to. Spend the extra money on some shows and in parks. AND DON’T EAT AT THE GRILL IN THE HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayers2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Excellent value for money, concerned by reviews we requested a tower room which was given with no problem. Room was clean and with new matresses. Fridge with small freezer in room. Bathroom was a bit dated but was clean and linen was changed daily. Hotel was 30 mins from Airport by car and the most it ever took us to get to the Magic Kingdom was 12 mins by car - buses available but we had hired a car. We felt very safe with 2 small children in our party. Pools were also clean and not crowded. No time share was ever mentioned and I never saw anyone being offered this. We had breakfast there once - ok but cheaper and better options a short walk away at Ponderosa. Launder facilities on site which we used whilst kids in pool which meant no dirty clothes to return to (woo hoo!). I believe that you could also use the facilities at the Ramada across the road but we never did.

Over all clean, cheap, family friendly, parking not an issue with security on site. I will return and will happily recommend to friends and family...and also a little quieter than that of the rat race in International drive!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgych25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Resort & Conference Center Orlando
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
1.0 mi away
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Maingate Lakeside Resort
#96 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,166 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#92 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,727 reviews
7.0 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#18 of 154 in Kissimmee
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Kissimmee Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Kissimmee Gateway

Address: 7470 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $42 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Kissimmee Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Gateway, one mile from the gates of Walt Disney World®, is a designated Walt Disney World Good Neighbor® hotel and close to other popular tourist attractions such as Sea World Orlando and Universal Adventure .Our high-rise, deluxe rooms feature the convenience of microwaves, double sinks, hair dryer, iron and board with panoramic views. If you prefer more modest accommodations, stay in our standard Inn rooms - providing views of our covered garden area and tropical landscaped pools. Complimentary scheduled transportation daily to Walt Disney World®, Sea World, Universal Adventure and Lake Buena Vista Factory Outlets shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Kissimmee Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Gateway Kissimmee Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Kissimmee
Ramada Hotel Gateway
Ramada Plaza Gateway Orlando
Ramada Plaza Gateway Kissimmee
Kissimmee Ramada
Ramada Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing