We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Nightmare!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Where do I begin? Upon arrival I proceed to check in which is like a zoo. You have 1 main building for check in which is for 3 different places. People all over the damn place. Didn't know if I was in an airport terminal or free food line, disgusting! Finish check in and proceed back to my car at which time the streets look like a golf cart raceway. Golf carts everywhere and going at high rates of speed. No regard for customers at all. Get to the room and its very old and outdated. I wont mention the earwig running on the floor which was gross. I go with my sister in law to her room and what a surprise, there's somebody in the room already checked in. Go back to the front desk and get another room and its not the room we reserved. Reserved a 1BR and was put in a studio. As an owner, absolutely not cool. We were so pissed off and fed up that we said FK it. We already knew our July 4th weekend was gonna be a bang but in a bad way. People all over the damn streets walking around because the place is so overcrowded. As an owner you get a privilege card which gives you complimentary activities during your stay. Not bad but lets talk WIFI. Who the hell charges for WIFI? Westgate sure does. So pathetic. The pools aren't to bad if you don't mind feeling like a crunched up lily pad. No lifeguard on duty so naturally you have the morons jumping, doing flips and climbing to jump off the steps. I need a vacation after my vacation. Never ever again will I step foot on this property. Absolute disgrace. the employees are not the very best either. Clueless and not knowledgeable in their area of work. I can be here all day and night but I'm sure you get the hint, DONT DO IT!!!!!!!!!!! ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!! You have been warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pokerg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are an extremely popular destination resort and during the summer we have a lot of people checking in. Please accept our apologies for the lines and wait-we are reviewing this to make it more efficient, including better signage. Please contact our Owner Customer Service at 800-925-9999 so we can address your room and WiFi issue-owners do indeed get free WiFi. We will review your comments with our team, as we are always looking for areas in which to improve. We hope to have another chance to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we arrived we walked into a very large and noisy lobby to check in. We were instructed to move from one station to another before we finally were directed to our room. The second station was where we can obtain information about the activities card and tickets for the parks. Well, that ended up being where they sign you up for the timeshare tour. We told them that we are not interested in another timeshare as we do not get to use this one very often. So they signed us up for another presentation which “was not a timeshare” and it was only going to be “90 minutes”. It ended up being a 2 ½ hour power point presentation. We were glad that we did not subject the rest of our family to this nightmare. When we arrived the next day to the presentation, they took us into a room with a bunch of tables. The man (who was not very well dressed and had stains on his clothing) asked us a bunch of questions but would not answer any of our questions until we saw a slide show. While he assured us that this was not a timeshare presentation, we quickly found out it was very close to one. When we told the salesman we were not interested in this product they quickly came down in price and called another salesman over to give us the “employee rate”. However this seems attractive, the rates do not include airfare which is needed to travel to anywhere we would like to go and there is a fee to use the travel program every year you use it.
Just as everyone mentions, it was like stepping back into the 1980’s. The furniture was not clean. There were smudge marks from prior spills on the coffee tables and night stands. All of the bedrooms uncomfortable mattresses that were on a wood frame with no box springs. We had a three bedroom suite which consisted of two adjoining rooms that were connected by a foyer. Room “A” had two bedrooms and room “B” had one bedroom. When the bellhop assisted us to our rooms I mentioned that there was a large square hole cut in the screen on the patio. He told me that he would mention this to the front desk. No one ever came up to fix it the entire week we were there.
The first night of our stay, there were people playing around in the pool area at 3 am. This woke us all up. We heard some other guest asking them to be quieter, but then the ignorant people in the pool just got louder. There is no security minding the pools at night. Later in the week when this occurred again, my fiancée mentioned this to the front desk. Only to have her shrug her shoulders at us and tell us that there is nothing that they can do and the pool hours are from 8 am to 10 pm. My fiancée and I asked if security drives around to check on the pool areas and we did not get a straight answer from her. It is evident that they do not lock the pools at night. We even went from pool to pool. There was only one faded sign inside the pool area that was obscured by foliage stating the times the pool was open. The pools were always over crowded. People were not using proper pool educate. A life guard would be very nice to have around especially in the larger pools. Thankfully there were other pools to go to but they were not vacuumed also they were heavily chlorinated.
When we woke the next morning, my nephew came out of the “B” side where he was sleeping for the week. He informed me that the rug was wet by the sliding glass door and two mushrooms were growing out of the night stand. I should have taken a picture of it but instead we were so excited to go to our first theme park, we neglected to do so. We called maintenance before we left. When we returned the mushrooms were gone and the rug was dried. However the room looked exactly as it had before. You can tell that this is an ongoing issue with this room by the look of the furniture and the wood trim which still had mold on it. So we assume that the problem was not fixed just as the screen in the other room was not fixed. No offers were made to change our room.
The rooms were so misleading on the Interval website and the literature in the reservation as well. Westgate does not supply room service as they noted in their brochure. We were told it was once every 4 days after calling the front desk to find out where they were. However, on the fourth day, when housekeeping came, they did not knock on the door. They just walked in. They did not resupply any items such as coffee, toiletries, and towels. They did provide us with 2 more trash bags for each room because we asked for them. In fact, before we found out that housekeeping only comes once every four days, we found out from another guest that we are to place our trash bags outside of our room for pick up.
We tried a couple of times to go on the swan boats throughout the week. The first time we waited in line with our activities card and were told that we could not board the boat after 7 pm when they were open until 8pm. The next time we waited for about 45 minutes. They went as far as placing the life vests on us. Then when he asked for the ticket, I handed him our “activity card” and was denied access to the swan boat. We were told at that point we needed to sign a waiver and go back through the line again. No one had informed us that we needed to sign any waivers before this. Nor were there any signs outside on the dock stating that a waiver is needed.
The staff rides on golf carts though out the facility. The golf carts are not for the guest’s to rent or use. Many of the staff members have a heavy foot. When going for a walk around the large lake we were almost run over by a security guard.
Lastly, the game room attendant was able to make change for large bills to load the game cards needed to operate the games. The machine that provides game cards cannot take anything higher than a twenty dollar bill.
This is the first time we stayed here at a Westgate facility. We are incredibly disappointed. We would never recommend this group of hotels to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. We are a timeshare resort and offer all of our guests the opportunity to participate in one of our timeshare presentations. Participation is voluntary and our sales team is there to assist you in any way they can. Regarding our suites, we are rolling out comprehensive renovations that we feel will enhance our guests' experience. We will share your comments with our team, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to having another chance to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ms. Griselda Rodriguez was great and very helpful. She went above and beyond to help us with our request and we were very grateful. Thank you Grace for being the first person we get to see and to deal with and for being so kind, helpful and courteous. You are definitely a positive force to the resort and a friendly face to meet and greet guests.

Room Tip: Get a room closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. This always helps us to improve the customer service experience. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here this past week. Although the hotel grounds were nice, I found that the rooms were really outdated. The TV in our room must have been from 1994 and the kitchen was a disappointment. The only good part about the room was the bathroom, which was big and had a jacuzzi tub. The smell of our room was really odd as well, I can't explain it but there was a strong odor the whole time. Like other reviewers have stated, the pools are very small and the "pool bars" weren't even open. Also, the restaurants, or lack there of, on the premises was disappointing. Their main restaurant was a sports pub type place and very laid back. They didn't have any finer dining options, which was something we were hoping for. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, and overall they seemed friendly and helpful, except for one morning at 8am when housekeeping was in the room next door being extremely loud. Overall, I would choose somewhere else to stay on our next trip to Orlando.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you found the resort grounds nice and enjoyed the big bathroom and jacuzzi. Please accept our apologies if your stay was not as satisfactory as you expected. We are rolling out comprehensive renovations of our villas that we feel will enhance our guests' enjoyment. We will share your suggestions with the rest of our team, as we are always looking to improve. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Westgate goes out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. Spent most of the time at the pool while there. Not over crowded. Staff was very pleasent. I stayed at the villas witch the older section, I think that's why it wasn't crowded. First time there and it will not be the last. I will be back! Thanks for a good week Westgate!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jocsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We train our staff to be friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the pool! We really look forward to you staying with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very nice staff. Prompt in getting to the counter but it took 35 minutes to get checked in. Per the attendant "thank you for your patience we are short staffed.". Asked for a room with a view and first room was on the second floor with a view of service golf carts. This room smelled of mold and wet mops. After returning to the front desk we were quickly moved to a room on the 4th floor that was very clean and had a view of one of the lakes on the property. Over all stay was good. Would like to see them upgrade the furniture.

Room Tip: Get a room 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SChelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Allow us to apologize for any issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We understand that your time is valuable and we will continue to work with our partners to assist in a smoother check in process. Our goal is to provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations. We hope that you will visit us again in the future, giving us the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we got here late at night, spent 25 minutes waiting for them to find us a room. they found a corner to stick us in and there was a pile of garbage and a sac of old linen outside the room. They gave me a $25 gift certificate to shut me up.The room had shoty wifi service. They told us we could only use wifi one at a time when we do use it. Even then we sit there waiting for it to buffer. They advertise they have 13 pools, they are so small, we got hit twice with the ball kids were throwing cause there is no room. We are owers for over 15 years and I wish we never bought here. spend over $800 a year in maintenance and when you think of what time shares get, we should have a much better experience. now i know why we haven't returned since we bought here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daniNJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your stay was not as satisfactory as you expected. We are always looking to improve, and your comments are of great help. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#32 of 155 in Kissimmee
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 155 in Kissimmee
327 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area
0.5 mi away
Westgate Towers Resort
Westgate Towers Resort
#33 of 155 in Kissimmee
659 reviews
0 mi away
Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa

Address: 7700 Westgate Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-4630
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: $89 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Villas with All the Comforts of Home Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa in Kissimmee, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home with accommodations ranging from studios to spacious four-bedroom villas, all within minutes of Orlando's world-famous theme parks and attractions. With a variety of onsite amenities and dining options, your vacation is waiting at Westgate Town Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Town Hotel Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing