We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was our second time at Westgate. The 1st time we stayed in the Vacation Villas in 2008. This time we stayed at the Town Centre, which is all part of the same complex, the Villas are two buildings, while the Town Centre is 6 to 8 storey buildings.

For the most part our stay was fine. We arrived later in the evening on a Monday and check in was a breeze. No timeshare pressure, nothing, although they send you to three different people prior to someone taking you to your room, but still took less than 20 minutes.

We had booked a 2 bedroom suite from Expedia.com. The suite was nicely maintained, pretty clean. Two double beds in 2nd bedroom, I think a queen in master room, and pull out couch. Well stocked kitchen. Bathrooms had plenty of towels and toilet paper. The only down fall was that this suite faced a very busy, very loud pool.

The first night, since we arrived later and were very tired, we did not call security, but the 2nd night it was even louder, there were lots of young adults in the pool and hot tub. Around 2:00 a.m. I called security. Security claimed that the pool gates were “locked” every night and that the people must have “jumped” the fence. Somehow I don‘t think that the pools are locked, because you can hear the gates slamming shut when someone opens them. But security said they would send somebody and they must have because it did quiet down.

The next day (Wednesday) I asked to be moved to a quieter building. They moved us no problem. Second unit was great too. The only issues with that suite was that some maintenance guy rang our doorbell at 12:45 a.m. Saturday night to ask if we had used the hot tub in the past week, and then mumbled something about a leak in the unit below us and left??? Not sure exactly what that was about. We had our infant daughter with us, so I was NOT impressed with that! The 2nd issue was also on the Saturday. New people moved in above us, and it was like a heard of elephants. They were awake until 4:00 a.m, screaming yelling, jumping, running, etc. The walls and floors are very hollow. Sunday night same thing, finally called security about 3:00 am. After that night, they were okay, you heard a bit, but it was manageable.

Every morning, housekeeping came by to take the garbage and see if we needed new towels. Everyone we encountered was friendly.

We did get a timeshare request late in the day, the day before we were suppose to leave. A man called saying I had to sign a sheet saying everything in the unit was in working order, so I met him at the main club house, and after a few minutes realized it was a timeshare pitch, I just politely declined, stating that we did not travel often enough to invest in a timeshare. Besides, now that we had a baby, we needed to put money into her education savings. He was fine with that and I went on my way. If we ever go back, I will know to decline that phone call.

We used several of the pools on the complex. Being March, they were all pretty busy. All of them, except for one were warm. Warm enough so that it was comfortable for our 11 month old. We walked around the complex quite a bit and it was nice. The only thing what would have been nice, would be for Westgate to add a children’s splash and play area, the kind where little kids can sit and stand and play in water not too deep, but I think that they might be adding that when they start construction on the water park.

Check out was quick and fine. Although the young girl at the counter had as much personality as a wet dish cloth. To my way of thinking, if you are in the hospitality industry, then you should have people who are friendly and outgoing, especially at the check in/check out desk, which by the way is different from the Guest Relations desk. The Guest Relations people I spoke with were friendly and very helpful.

The only other complaint I have, like a lot of other people is that they charge $40.00 for internet for 7 days. Which is expensive.

If we were to go back, next time I would request a room in the Villas, which are presently being renovated.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

we booked our trip to stay at the westgateTOWN CENTER in the beginning of january. we had stayed with them in 2008 in a 1 bedroom 2 bath in the 5800 building (later we found it was called a 1bed rm lock out) we requested the same type of rm and were assured we had that and we were consideringing purchasing it, however upon arriaval wethey tried to shove a family of 4 into a tiny room that was a stretch for 2 people. the plains are no where on westgates site for this time of rm. the pullout sofa opened up into the kitchen and you couldn't move in the unit with it opened. we travel w/2 teenage football playing boys that don't fit in a queen together and we bring an airmatress for one 2 sleep on. there was no room for it. we had already spent 1hr checking in because they had no staff on duty. when we said this was not what we ordered they said they didn't have any of those rooms left and i would have 2 pay 200 dollars more to move to a 2 bedrm.We were told we booked a 1 bd standard and previously we had a 1 bd lockout. when i pull out the 2008 paper work everything we described the same except it didn't say jacuzzi tub in the description in the master bd. it even said 1 bd standard.
we went on line and found they still had theose rooms advertised for that night. i spent 4 hrs with customer service if you can call it and finally forced a manager to talk with me.
they moved us to a 1 bd at the westgate towers which was small and no balcony but at least we could fit. IT TOOK A TOTAL OF 5HRS from the time we arrived till we got a rm. we were promised free internet for the inconvience but gues what they only waved an ativation fee and still charged 49.95 for the week. we stil had to do a timeshare presentaiton. i laugh my a@@ off when she said there is a maintaince fee to maintain property. we were in a supposed renovated rm. it had a leaking shower the kitchen looked like it was out of 1992 as well as the furniture. A dead praying mantis was in the bedroom. we had no balocony and a view of the parking lot which u can here the staff laughing and joking every morning at 7am. the walls are like paper. the only update was 1 flat screen tv in the living area. I will say the hotel staff was very nice and we always got clean towels w/in 5 minutes of asking.
THE MOST SHOCKING THING is we found 4 other couples they ran this same scam on telling them they would have to pay more on arriaval because they weren't booked in the rm they thought they purchased. i know 1 couple was moved to the towers like us not sure what happened to the others. it appears anyone who booked earlyier and cheaper got bumped for someone willing to pay more. SHADIEST COMPANY I"VE SEEN IN YRS.
it's complete pot luck what room type you get with or what resort you actually wind up on with the group of hotels. . one couple was not going on a time share tour and they were still trying to bump them up in price. BEWARE OF ANY WESTGATE HOTEL.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yoda900_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Having read a number of the reviews here we didn't know what to expect, but everything exceeded our expectations. Check-in was quick and easy. Once we said "no thanks" to the time-share breakfast we never heard about it again.

Our "efficiency" unit was more like a one BR suite - big living area, balcony, BR that could be closed off, 2 TVs. As an "efficiency" there was no stove, but full size refridge, microwave, coffee maker, flatware, plates, dish towels etc.

Resort provided lots of activities on-site and was very convenient to all Orlando attractions.

As someone else noted, there are signs that there are plans for new restaurants on-site. For the size of this resort (huge!) it seemed strange that currently there are no restaurants. That said, the deli was fully stocked and very convenient and there are loads of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here two years ago and had a great stay. This time was just as good. We actually had two 2br units (friends stayed in the second one) just a few rooms apart from each other in the 5700 bldg facing the lake in the middle. We traded through Interval for one and used a bonus week for the other.

I did the pre-check-in in at noon, rooms weren't ready, but that was expected. When I returned at 8pm to get the keys I was in and out in less than 3 minutes. Minimal timeshare pitch pressure, I just declined and was never asked again.

Good: Very clean, granite countertops and table, fairly new furniture, comfortable beds, HUGE jacuzzi tub in master bath. Two issues that we had (safe and dvd player) were taken care of immediately, and staff followed up to make sure everything was fine.

Bad: Nothing really bad, just differences between this and top-class places. Like: **a couple beer bottles and cans on the ground that hadn't been picked up yet; **DVD players are total junk (Really, they must cost about $5 each - no pause, ffwd or rewind - just play and stop; any scratches and it won't play at all). If you plan on watching lots of movies and you're driving, bring your own DVD player. You won't regret the decision.
**Also, only about half the jets in the hot tub at the pool worked.
**Tv's and stereo need a tech refresh. Still tube tvs in the bedrooms. The unit we stayed in last time had all flat screens, so I imagine they just haven't gotten to this bldg yet.

Disclaimer: We didn't spend much time in the room overall and used very few of the services. We were at DW most of the time.

Observation: There's a sign advertising a coming water park and new restaurants on property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Really liked this hotel from the moment we arrived. Very beautiful. Very nice staff. Already have a timeshare with them so wasnt bothered about that. Very helpful with finding good area restaurants. Helped to set up free shuttle to disney which you book in advance. (Shuttle was about 30 min late and very full though). Stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and one of the doors was broken but they immediately fixed it. Very clean and very nice room. Nice few of the fireworks at disney and lake. Very nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1951merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

More like a large apartment complex than a orlando hotel. Our room was actually very nice, but be prepared for the timeshare sales pitch upon check-in. They escort you to your room from the main lobby all while attempting to get you to attend a breakfast and a tour of the facilities. I find it annoying, but supposedly they give you disney tickets for participating. Overall a nice, quiet place to stay near the parks....not bad for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lattitude3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We received a bonus week for banking our Marriott timeshare week early and this was one of the places available. We usually stay only at other Marriott properties. The check in was a bit tiresome because we were taken to a desk to be given a card, then got in line and saw the front desk person, who then gave our keys to another person who signed us up for the breakfast and timeshare speil, (we did it for the free breakfast, disney gift card and discount park tickets, and free access to mini golf, swan boats, and sports equipment on site.), then we went with yet another person to show us where our room was. It took about 45 minutes and there was no line.

Our room was very dated and there were a lot of mirrors in the bedroom. We were in the CCC building. It was sort of clean. There was what looked like coffee and leaves in the kitchen sink. There were lots of towels and pillows. The beds are a bit hard and the kitchen was a bit tight. There are a lot of pools at this resort and there was one right across from our room. However the pools by the towers have a kids splashing pool and are much more up to date so we drove over there and used that one after the first day. There is also a train they told us that would take you around but it runs very limited hours and after about 2:30 it really only does a loop from the front to the employee building for them to get off and on. Also the shuttle to the disney parks runs only two times in the morning. It is very close to the parks and several places to eat. There is also a super Target close by that is great for stocking your room up.

The time share pitch was ok. We had a guy named Joey who did all the normal things like tell us about his personal life to make him seem like our friend. But he talked fast and his spiel was over quickly. Also when the guy was brought over to give us the price and my husband said no he tried a bit to get him to change his mind but did not get too pushy. He was obviously a bit annoyed but it was not too long. He also told us about the other building that they normally take people who are not staying at the resort he said you don't want to go there. (this was during the golf cart tour of property) so after we went to the gift room to get our stuff and they offered us a bonus gift of discount tickets to a dinner if we went to another presentation that was an hour long in that building. We declined.

Overall it was an ok place to stay not fancy but we were at the parks most the time and it was free for us. I would stay there again if it was with a free week but otherwise I would go to another Marriott property.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMac17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#30 of 154 in Kissimmee
767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.7 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 154 in Kissimmee
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westgate Vacation Villas Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Westgate Towers Resort
Westgate Towers Resort
#32 of 154 in Kissimmee
641 reviews
10.0 mi away
Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa

Address: 7700 Westgate Blvd, Kissimmee, FL 34747-4630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: $90 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Villas with All the Comforts of Home Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa in Kissimmee, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home with accommodations ranging from studios to spacious four-bedroom villas, all within minutes of Orlando's world-famous theme parks and attractions. With a variety of onsite amenities and dining options, your vacation is waiting at Westgate Town Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Town Hotel Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing