We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice, but some negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Huge place, rooms were very nice (we had a 2bedroom), golfing everywhere. Lazy river was fun, pools ok. We stayed for a week and had overall good experience. Was somewhat disappointed in that RCI recommended this place over Vistana resort (where we had stayed about 5 years ago). I would not agree with that--Vistana was definitely more FUN (for kids especially). The amenities at Orange Lake (arcade, pools, restaurants) were very crowded and they nickel and dimed you for everything--not what I expected for a Gold Crown Resort. If you want a nice place to bum around and golf, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you have kids and want to swim...stay at the River Complex--that way you don't have to drive...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deanintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello Dean. Thanks for allowing us to host you recently and welcome back from your visit. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall! It looks like that your villa was just what you needed to make you feel right at home. Our resort is a bit bigger than the traditional resort. However, we have plenty of activities and four different villages to enjoy the fun. All of these are easily accessible by our resort shuttle regularly travelling around the resort. We hope we’re a consideration for a future trip to the Orlando area. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,954)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,446 - 2,452 of 5,954 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

First - my stay was using miles to enjoy a property near the theme parks - mainly universal studios. It was about 20-30 min away - not bad. Check in was great - except for the promo pushing for timeshare; I was able to remain firm with my disinterest.

I was checked into one of their MANY buildings - and very pleased with my location (quiet, on the golf course, modern, spacious, clean and nearby the building with the lazy river pool). Housekeeping was excellent since my child fell ill and we needed several exchanges for clean towels and linens.

My only personal issue is with how large and expansive the resort is. It takes quite some time to enter/exit the property since it is such a large resort/time share property.

My only complaint with our unit is that the kitchen cabinetry was broken and dangerous for my children (ages 5 & 9) since the doors hinges were broken and fell upon opening - nearly causing injury if it weren't for them being cautious.

We had a tough time sleeping since the pillows were awful - too thick and very uncomfortable.

Otherwise - pleased with the convenience of having a Publix grocery and Walgreens at the exit of the property which were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieTinMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We’re glad that we helped provide the family getaway that you were looking for. You’re right; our resort is a big bigger than a traditional resort experience. However, we provide plenty of activities, restaurants, amenities, and fun so that you have little reason to leave! When you do, we are just a short drive away from local attractions and shopping. We’re sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your kitchen fixtures. Our team is always willing to assist in correcting issues immediately if brought to their attention. We hope to see you again to provide a stay that is comfortable and exceeds expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This year Grandma, from Texas, decided we should use our points to stay at the River Island Resort area at ORANGE LAKE. We invited cousins over from the Tampa area...they brought elementary age grandkids. We had a 3/3 w 2 kitchen areas! Plenty of space for everyone! We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the river and cabana we rented. The pool & river were clean and the grounds were groomed and refreshing, especially after each rainfall...after rainfall...after rainfall...this IS the mansoon season, you know...?!! After a sufficient time of family reunion, we left 2 days early ONLY because the rains would not let up...5 GREAT days were enough, especially for Grandma! THANKS, River Island!!!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank ToeKneeNTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our most recent stay at Orange Lake was very good except for one glaring thing. On the third day of our vacation, one of the workers decided to back into our car and not once in the process did he, nor any of the security people who took the report ask if anyone in the car was ok, or offer even a simple 'sorry'.

The stay was good, there is a lot to do on property which is nice. Our room had an enclosed balcony, which was nice when the weather was bad outside. The room was big and deluxe with a full kitchen and things to cook with.

We arrived late at night, so we didn't get the whole time share pitch which was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uncbears21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hello. Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us at Orange Lake Resort. We’re happy to hear that your stay met your expectations overall. We apologize though for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit. It’s good to see that our team was quick to assist in filing a report for you and looking into it for you further. We hope to be a consideration for a future family vacation and another relaxing visit full of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I stayed at this resort the week of May 25th to June 1st. We have stayed here various times and we have made this resort our home resort the last several years that we have come to the Central Florida area.
We love this resort, there is so much to do. There are several pools, several golf courses, two mini golf courses, movie theater, several restaurants and fast food outlets, a couple of convenience stores, three video arcades and is right next to Hwy 192 with quick access to various restaurats and stores, plus right next to a Hwy (sorry forgot the name!) that takes you straight into the Disney Amusement parks. Our children 14 and 15 love this place and we look forward every year to coming back.
Remember this is a time share resort, so there is no daily room cleaning like in standard hotels. Your unit will likely have a full size refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave, washer, dryer, dish washer, plus all of the amenities of a regular home, such as at least a couple of TVs, DVD players, free WIFI, full kitchen plus sets of plates, utensils and cooking pots and pans. WHich is great if you wish to cook some of your dinners
Just say no to the Time Share presentation if you are not interested and they will leave you alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with close proximity to one of the main pool complexes (River Island, North Village o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacationfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We’re honored to have recently been a part of your family getaway and to share in an enjoyable stay for all. We love hearing from our return guests who continue to find the activities, amenities, and atmosphere of our resort to meet their vacation needs. You paint a great picture of what a guest can expect during their stay with us, thanks for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again for more good times at Orange Lake Resort real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have just got back from Orlando stayed at the Holiday Inn orange lake. I would definitely recommend this resort. I have been going to Orlando for 25 years and I will be returning to this resort next year. Its a massive resort built in sections east west ect. originally I requested to stay at the river island section after reading lots of reviews it seemed that was the best part to stay. But on arrival I was told that you have to pay extra to stay in that part. I travelled with Virgin holidays but you are not told this when you book. But we were not disappointed we stayed in the west village in a villa the patio doors that opened up onto a gulf course with a lake really beautiful woke up every morning to wild life fedthe ducks and birds every morning although there is a sign not to feed the wildlife but how can you not. There are several pools all are lovely river island has a lazy river and Caribbean style bar and restaurant lovely in the evenings after a long day at the parks. The resort is on the 192 west. five minutes from the Disney turn off and easy to find
also easy to get onto the I4 to get to Universal Studios. If you don't mind staying on a very large complex this is the place to stay. Don't take any notice of any of the negative comments Its mostly the American,s that complain I don't know why I cannot fault this place Look forward to going back next year. and if you do stay here or anywhere else in that area you most go to the Alehouse restaurant just next door to the holiday Inn its an American bar restaurant with lost of tv,s showing different sports channels lovely atmosphere, the food is excellent and the price of the drinks and food is half the price of anywhere else I have had in orlando I had a whole lobster for 10 dollars cant wait for next year

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a part of the resort over looking pools or gulf course or you may get a view over loo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank den123552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to Orange Lake Resort. We can’t be happier to see that you seem to have found a vacation home with us and that you’ll be returning! From relaxing by the pool to feeding our wildlife friends, we try our best to provide an experience that is memorable, relaxing, and most of all, fun! We can’t wait to have you back with us for more good times in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Orange Lake Resort is a Timeshare but often there are deals to buy 3-4 days to preview/test it out. Of course you have to attend the timeshare presentation for 2 hours. This offers very affordable, decent lodging. There are several golf courses, numerous pools. There is mini-golf, lazy river (tube rentals extra), and my son's favorite a 40 ft inflatible water slide.
There is a "Play Pass" you can purchase. There is a small lake with water toy rentals. The accommodations are clean but most are dated. Seems to be very safe. Great location convenient to the theme parks/attractions if you do want to check some others out. Numerous restaurants on site. Publix grocery right outside property so you can stock up and eat in if you want. Shuttle service to get around the property or you can drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
5.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
6.4 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
5.7 mi away
Reunion Resort, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
1.8 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,822 reviews
7.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 154 in Kissimmee
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34787 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom. At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river, 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the fun with your own personal attraction ticket concierge located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face, 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf, a bowling alley, arcades and 54 holes of golf. What's more, we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resort's activities. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service, nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing