We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay - HUGE Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #17 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay - HUGE Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Good:

Great location, close to restaurants, shopping, attractions, etc.
Large, well-equipped suites, comfy beds, screened in porches
Several reasonably priced restaurants on site ($5 kids meals)
Starbucks
Lazy river, awesome pools, lots of seating, mini golf
Sandy beach with kids playground


The Bad:

Long line to check in
Having to drive everywhere in the resort
Cheap beach towels
Cheap toilet paper...how much can it cost to have decent toilet paper?!
Unmotivated/undesirable employees everywhere (restaurant staff were good, I guess because they are getting tips)
Pizza coming 2 hours later after going to the wrong room...they did give us a refund after complaining

Would I go back? Probably not, there are so many resorts in the area to check out.

Room Tip: We were in the East Village (Golf Course), but having kids would have preferred to be near the actio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoTakeaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your recent vacation stay with us, we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. We appreciate you letting us know what you enjoyed about your time spent with us and what you think we can do better for the future. We are constantly striving to make sure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible, and comments like yours are very important to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,350
    1,780
    717
    422
    420
See reviews for
3,898
624
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benito, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This resort was great. Lots of activities for every age group. We had a two bedroom condo. It was clean, well maintained, very family friendly. Would definitely stay there again! The staff was great, helpful and friendly. Very close to Disney!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eaglelca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Greetings, and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway with us, and you found the room to spread out and have fun. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort several times. In all types of rooms. Our latest stay was in a 3 bedroom. Honestly I wasn't so impressed. I have stayed in better rooms here. They sent us a dirty crib for my son. TV kept blacking out. Once we called for service both were taken care of but the things should have been checked before given. It's annoying that when you tell them at the front desk that you are not interested in additional timeshare options they continue to ask then call your room. You have to pay for all the additional things located around the resort like the hippo slide, mini golf, and tubes for the lazy river. If you are an owner these are things that should be included. Other then that a great resort for a family.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kjls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that you enjoy your time around the resort. While we are disappointed you did not enjoyed this most recent stay, as much as your others, it’s always great to find the areas around the resort that fit your vacation style. We appreciate your thoughts about what we can do better for our owners and guests in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently returned home from my stay at this property from March 15-17. I brought with me myself, my boyfriend and three of our friends. We were absolutely ecstatic to come stay in Florida for a few days - a beautiful resort, getting out of cold Pennsylvania - sign me up!
Check-in was a breeze and the staff were very friendly. Arriving at our condo was a pleasant surprise - it was beautiful. Clean, great location AND we could even order room service after the drive - great! The food was delivered from Legends and no one had any complaints. The only thing that was off-putting were the five or so small ants crawling on the counter. I did a check to see if there was any food left out from the previous guests or to see if any windows or doors were open, none.
Saturday we woke up and headed to Daytona Beach to check out Bike Week and did not return to the resort until late Saturday evening. Sunday we had our timeshare presentation. This is where our trip turned sour.
John was our Elite Team guide. He was pleasant - I can really say nothing bad about John's personality. He had asked up to name things that are important to us when we travel and the first thing we said was bringing our pets. He wrote it down at the top of the list and then wrote everything else that followed underneath this.
The tour was nice, the model unit was beautiful, then we went into the final stage which was the sale. John twice went over our list of things that are important to us in a vacation, and twice skipped pets. My boyfriend kindly pointed out to him that he had skipped it twice and John just laughed it off. This is not a pet-friendly resort. John put some numbers down (roughly $40k for timeshare) and we said absolutely not. We explained that we are moving to CA in April and that an extra $40k is not an option, especially in a place where we cannot bring our pets. We just built a cabin in New York for less than $40k and can go to it whenever we please.
John then left and came back with another man, I believe his name was Joe. He was of course trying to be very flattering in a creepy way (ie referring to me as a supermodel when I am definitely NOT even remotely mistaken for one). He wrote down some figures and eventually got all the way down to $11k for a timeshare in Vermont? I just laughed at that point and explained that no means no. Whatever, they were doing their job.
Finally Tony comes over with a "survey" that ends up being ANOTHER sales pitch to rent a condo. Tony got a "no" as well.
Finally, 3.5 hours later we were back with our friends and enjoying the awesome lazy river and hot tubs on the grounds. We had a great dinner (VERY slow service) at the Tradewinds Grille (our server was Louie, he was great but it seemed they were short-staffed.) Drinks were forgotten but Louie did give us a 10% discount which was great.
When we returned to the condo, the ants were still everywhere, and more of them. We called the front desk who said they would send someone up. This was at 10pm and we headed out to get a few drinks before bed. We have no idea if someone came to check on the bugs, but if they did, they didn't do anything because they were still there when we returned home.
Every morning around 10am, our doorbell would ring and the door would OPEN with someone shouting, "housekeeping!" It was our impression there was no housekeeping, so why these people continued to try to COME INTO our condo was beyond us.
We requested an 11am checkout, sure enough at 10am on Monday morning the doorbells were ringing and the doors were opened. They didn't even close the doors after they opened them and were greeted with the chain lock. They just left them open! Ridiculous.
My boyfriend called the front desk to speak to a manager, Ashley, about the bug issue. She said, "oh yeah, those are ghost ants, what about them?" He replied and said that he didn't care what they were, and wanted to know why it was seemingly okay that there were ants crawling around? Her reply was, "I will credit you $25." Great, it's something, but no apology or anything?
We were incredibly turned off by the Elite Team staff, housekeeping, and Ashley. On the way home I read several travelers reviews citing the SAME issues we had. Apparently if you don't buy into a timeshare, you are really not valued. That is a shame.
We have always loved staying at the Lake Placid & Albany Crowne Plazas (pet-friendly!), however, after this experience with IHG, we will not be returning to any IHG property. I recently read that the Crowne Plaza in Albany is now a Hilton. This is a relief, as we have been Hilton Honors members for years and have NEVER experienced anything like what we experienced at Orange Lake at any of their properties.
Yes, the property at Orange Lake was beautiful, but I have traveled across the entire country and to several other countries, and a beautiful property and great customer service are what really take the cake.
**Note**This is an exact copy of the email I sent to IHG Corporate. They stated they would contact Orange Lake, over a week went by and I attempted to follow-up and they stated they still couldn't reach Orange Lake management? No need to publicly reply to my review on here.

Room Tip: If you are going for a marketing promo like we were, you don't get to pick your room. But, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alysia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Although you stated there was no need to reply to your review, we want to take the time to address your issues. In an attempt to find out more about your specific experience, we have attempted to contact you through private message. We’re happy that you and your friends enjoyed your time spent at the resort. We are disappointed about the issues that you brought up and the housekeeping mix-ups that you encountered. Our staff truly strives to ensure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible, and we apologize if you felt that your concerns were not met with the care and appreciate that our guests have come to expect from us. We look forward to connecting with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived at Orange Lake at approximately 3pm on 3/22. We had a very smooth check-in (no line) and our room was ready at that time. We tried to shy away from the "tour" . . . the kids and I got away and left my husband there until he had to just walk away. We are not time share owners and booked our reservation on line with the property directly just like a hotel.

Our two bedroom/two bath unit was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The kitchen had all necessary utensils, gadgets and cookware so that we could eat dinner in from time to time. There was a Publix about a mile down the road so we had easy access to groceries. There were also a lot of chain restaurants available on "the strip" Rt. 192 for either eat in or take out.

Purchsed the souvenier margarita glasses over at the West Pool when we checked in. When getting refills at the River Island Pool, they topped them (heavily) with beer, yuck! I think they coined the name "Blue Moon Margaritas". . . . nice way to curb your beverage costs! But, this was easily remedied by asking for the margarita "no beer".

We will definitely be back to Orange Lake in the future! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you are staying in the River Island Rooms, anything over the 4th Floor facing the parking lot wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogie1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi there, it’s great to hear from you about your family getaway with us. It’s always nice to really spread out and get away from it all with the ones you love. We’re so happy that your villa was the place to do just that. We can’t wait to see you again soon, and appreciate you letting us know about your stay. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are four very good golf courses here at Orange Lake. Our unit (two bedroom, two bathrooms) had a screened in porch over looking one of them. Great place to sit drinking your morning coffee watching the golfers go by. Our unit was on the second floor in the East Village and was just great, very clean and had everything we needed for a weeks stay.

Disney, Universal and Sea World just a few minutes away. No need to leave Orange Lake to find a good restaurant they have four of them on site.

Had a wonderful vacation here at Orange Lake, golfing was the best, four courses to try, two 18 hole courses and two 9 hole courses. One nine hole par three course has lights for night golf. So much to do not only on the resort but a short ride off the resort. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are four villages in Orange Lake, West, East, North and River Island, any unit you get will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdthomp405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi there, and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great that you gave yourself the time you deserve to enjoy the amenities in and around the resort. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every spring break. It offers close proximity to Disney World. It also has 3 mini golf courses, 2 9 hole par 3 courses, a 2 18 hole courses. The kitchen is well stocked allowing you to prepare your own meals. You also have plenty of pool choices.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your most recent spring break getaway with us. We love seeing our guests back year after year for more vacation fun. Thank you for coming back year after year, and we can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
8.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
6.2 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
7.9 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Reunion Resort of Orlando
Reunion Resort of Orlando
#13 of 152 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
8.9 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#20 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,716 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom. At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river, 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the fun with your own personal attraction ticket concierge located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face, 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf, a bowling alley, arcades and 54 holes of golf. What's more, we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resort's activities. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service, nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing