We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Resort...Expansive size”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the resort in the East Village with a group of folks in a golf tournament. Our rooms were very nicely furnished and clean. There are a few signs of maintenance needs that are to be expected in this economy with a venue this size. The timeshares are trying to be creative by renting out to groups to help generate income. It is very nice, a little spendy $$. However, they do have a special for beverages. Purchase souvenir drink/glass & you can refill with a variety of drinks in a majority of the bars & poolside lounges. The beach lagoon on the lake is really awesome. It doesn't feel like your inland!! We really enjoyed all the amenities, however, it took some getting used to the size of the resort. It is really too large for our needs. We like smaller venues where you feel like you belong there. Overall, it would be really great for families. Your children definitely have alot to keep them occupied. The child activity center at the registration main hotel is so cool. I have never seen an arcade this large in a timeshare!! Must see to appreciate. We would stay again if we had our family with us. The shuttles are a great asset.

Room Tip: West Village & Island area are definitely for families with children. East Village is quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatgoeswrongwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hi there fellow golfer. We have received so many reviews from your golf tournament group, and we couldn't have been happier to host you. You give a great tip in purchasing our unlimited beverage cups, they have become quite popular with our guests looking to save during their stay, and there are many places to refill them throughout the resort. We’re happy that you were able to spread out not only in your villa but around the resort as well. Although we are a larger property, you will find that each of our smaller villages offer charm and amenities for all of our guests. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,660 - 3,666 of 6,072 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our son-in -law is a member of this resort company and secured the reservations for all of our family. The 3 bedroom, 3 batch suite we had was huge and very nice except for the bathrooms which were somewhat worn and did not look really clean. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were not. The kitchen had everything we needed. The pools were beautiful, just wish we had more time to spend at them. October is a great time to visit because there were not many kids but the weather is still warm. At 9 PM there was no one in the pool area, heaven!

Room Tip: I did not see any bad areas at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesNYC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hello and welcome home from your recent family getaway with us. How wonderful that your son-in-law was able to arrange a 3-bedroom for all of you. We’re disappointed to hear that your villa was not up to your standards. We always encourage all of our guests to let us know of any needs or issues that they encounter during their stay, so that we can make sure you have the best vacation experience possible. You give a great tip to your fellow TripAdvisor community about traveling during off-peak season. It’s usually much less crowded than the summer months. We would love to host you and your family back again soon for more Orlando fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from Orange Lake and once again had a fabulous holiday. I have been 5 times and every time the resort has improved. All the staff are very helpful and friendly and the golf is superb. Only downside is they still pressure you to attend meeting ( which is hard sell to convince you to buy) as soon as you get there and after 16 hours of travelling you really dont need this

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We first went to this resort in 1997, when we walked in and asked to buy, and we used to say you relaxed the minute you drove through the gate. How things have changed. The resort is as good as ever, although spoilt by over development. I wrote a review about our visit in September and emailed Trip Advisor not to publish it as I was in such a bad mood when I wrote it and wanted to review what I said.
We arrived after a 16 hour day, reception was quick, then we were directed to Rick who apparently has no understanding of the word "NO." Eventually to get to our accommodation, we agreed to go to the meeting he was promoting. We asked to go at 8am the next morning, figuring we would be out in time to buy a good breakfast as we had had no time to shop.
Ha! We didn't get any lunch either. In fact it was 4.45pm when we finally got out, and even then we had to leave without our documents because when we told them we were meeting friends at 5pm they didn't seem to believe us and wanted us to wait. Every time we turned something down, they came up with something else, and finally even when we agreed a proposal, we discovered after all the papers had been done they were selling us a 2012 year!!! With just 3 months left this was not good. In fact, even when we finally agreed to the purchase we did, they still originally tried to sell us a 2012 year, with just two months left.
We didn't want to go to the meeting, but gave in, and unfortunately what they are selling sounds attractive and makes you want to buy - of course its designed like this. We have purchased before and cancelled. Thats weakness on our part I know...so we are not totally blameless. We do our best NOT TO GO TO THE MEETINGS.
After moving on from here to the peace of Little Gull on Longboat Key, we decided what we had signed for would not suit us and rang to cancel, as Florida law allows us to. We were told that as this was not the first time we had cancelled it would have to be looked in to! We were asked why we kept signing if we didn't go ahead and I asked why they kept pressurising us into meetings we didn't want to go to.
They eventually came up with something we agreed to go ahead with, and were "pursued" across two States, into South Carolina, for papers and signatures, eventually posting them from Hilton Head Island.
The money has gone from my credit card, so they have it, but even now they are sending me authorisation forms to sign.. it is still going on.
The first few days of our holiday were ruined by this, Orange Lake is not the peaceful relaxing place we remembered. The first few days on Longboat Key were ruined by the contacts, only finally on Hilton Head, when we sent the forms could we relax. I know next time we go back, if we go back, we will be subjected to more pressure to attend meetings, and more pressure to add to what we own. As we had had an exceptionally bad 12 months, including the death of my mother, this holiday was quite precious to us.
The original Orange Lake was wonderful. This huge resort, not so much. They do keep on top of upgrades, and the property and garden areas are wonderful. In the week we were there we just got out of the place every day. Didn't sit by the pool or eat in one restaurant, which we would normally do. We are not sure we will go back even now. They leave messages every day on your phone about this and that. One year when my mum was ill I pleaded with them to stop because everytime I came in and saw the messages flashing I panicked that it was a message about mum. Did this stop them. No. I read one review where one person said they unplug the phone as soon as they go into the room, but some of us have to be contactable.
Some of the staff are exceptional, housekeeping always answers requests quickly, the maintenance is good, our villa this time was lovely overlooking the big main lake, shame about the pressure.

Room Tip: We like the older West Village because it is more peaceful. If you have children you probably would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a very big resort spread over countless acres within a few miles of Disney just off the 192 Hoighway. The resort caters for golfers with at least 4 golf courses on site, but there is plenty of other activities on site such as Tennis, Basketball, Boating, Mini-Golf, Adventure Playpark, Climbing Walls, Arcades, Shops, Restaurants, Swimming Complexes and a Lazy River. We stayed in a very substantial villa suitable for 8 although there were only 3 of us. Plenty of local wildlife on site - egrets, alligators, snakes, herons, raccoons to name a few were all spotted reguularly. The whole property is very well maintained. I stayed here previously in 2001. It remains just as good as it was then, if substantially bigger and busier.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent family getaway with us. You are correct that we are a large resort spread across four villages. However, we are constantly striving to make sure that we offer our guests the very best amenities and entertainment throughout all of the villages. We’re happy to hear that our “wildlife welcoming committee”. They always love to tell our guests hello. It’s so wonderful that you were able to visit us again after your stay 11 years ago. You can’t give us any higher compliment than a return stay, so thank you and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a time-share resort, so expect the typical phone calls and pressure that you would from any time share - easy enough to deal with as we took the phone off the hook on the second day (we all had cell phones). As is typical with a time share resort you have to pay extra if you want housekeeping during your stay unless you are staying for more than 2 weeks.
What I really did not like is that fact that you are charged a resort fee, but it includes nothing! If you want to rent a tube for the lazy river, it is going to cost you $9/per person. Want to do the big water slide? $3/ride, or $9 for an hour!! Mini-golf - $9/per person (and nothing for theming). Why am I being charged a resort fee when none of this is included? Room was dark and the rug was in need of a deep cleaning...I walked around in my socks for a bit while I was unpacking and they were nasty after only a few minutes.
Front desk staff was not exactly friendly and raced through the check-in procedure to get to their break, leaving me with lots of questions about costs of extras that I had to wait until I got to my room to call about.
For the price, though, it suited our needs. I loved the fact that there was a kitchen and the location is really quite close to the theme parks. There is a Super Target nearby that you can get some provisions to stock your kitchen with.
Next time I will go back to the Sheraton Vistana where the rooms are nicer, the porches larger, the property cleaner and the staff much more friendly and helpful. Sure it costs a bit bit more, but I think that it might be a better value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phoenixflameamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hello. Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation, but disappointed to read that you encountered a few disappointments. We always encourage our guests to us know of any issues while they are on property, so that we can sure that you have the very best vacation experience possible. You are correct that our property does charge a resort fee. We find that the fee charged by our property is much lower than those of many other properties in Orlando. Included in our resort fee are access to many activities such as 7 pools, waterslides, free golf for children and even more. You mentioned some of our premium activities in your review. You are correct that there is a charge above the resort fee for these premium amenities. Some of these include: four golf courses, poolside massages, watercraft rental, and access to the FunZone. A great way to take advantage of many of these premium amenities is through our PlayPass. Available in multi-day increments, these passes offer you unlimited access to our inflatable waterslide, bungee trampolines and mini-golf, just to name a few. We apologize if you did not feel there was value in your resort fee. We would love to host you again in the future to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had read a lot of reviews before going to this hotel and thought I was prepared. At check in they did try to get us to take a tour. We said no and that was it. I guess they have had a lot of complaints and they are finally leaving guests alone. What we were not told was that if you leave a credit card on file (it's a no cash resort) they automatically put a $250 hold on your card. If you don't spend that money it still stays on hold for up to 10 days after you check out. That is hard for a family on a budget. My suggestion is don't put a card on file and use your debit or credit card everywhere.

The pool areas are fantastic. It does cost money to rent a tube daily for the lazy river. Actually all the activities cost money there. There are wrist bands that you can purchase to have unlimited access but I feel some activities should have been included (like tube rental or mini golf). We never saw a water park...maybe we were not in the right area.

We had a first floor room. The room was nice and kitchenette was great. Our room over looked the air conditioners though. When we checked in the girl told us that the inner rooms had no window so we told her to give us another room. It not true though. The inner rooms have a window facing a beautiful atrium. We realized that after checking in. We honestly would rather have had that view instead of looking at air conditioning units.

The hotel was very close to everything. There is a publix very close by with a lot of restaurants. Applebee's has happy hour all day long now!!! The food at the resort is good too. You get coupons for pizza upon check in which was pretty good. If you are going to buy drinks there I suggest getting a souvenir beer mug. You can refill it for a lot cheaper and you can also go to your room fill it up and walk around the resort with it.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves. We were surprised by a few things though. It was a good experience but we would do things differently if we were to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent family getaway with us in sunny Orlando. We’re glad to hear that overall you and your family were able to enjoy yourselves during your stay with us. We are constantly striving to make sure that our guests have the very best vacation experience possible. We would like to address a few of the points that you brought up in your review. You are correct in the fact that we offer the ability to charge items to your room. Many of our guests find this an added bonus as they do not have worry about keeping up with credit cards or cash during your stay. However, this is optional and you do have the right to decline this benefit at check-in. We are disappointed to hear that you missed the benefits of the interactive water features and slides throughout the resort; they are always a crowd-pleaser. You mentioned various charges for some of our premium activities. You are correct that there are extra fees for some of our more popular activities such as activities in the FunZone, golf, cabanas and tube rentals for the lazy river. A great way to take advantage of these activities and save money at the same time is to take advantage of our PlayPasses. They are available in multi-day increments and offer unlimited access to tube rentals, mini-golf and the FunZone. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the future, for more family fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
6.6 mi away
Royale Parc Suites
Royale Parc Suites
#6 of 154 in Kissimmee
1,685 reviews
6.4 mi away
Reunion Resort, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
1.9 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $116 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom. At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river, 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the fun with your own personal attraction ticket concierge located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face, 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf, a bowling alley, arcades and 54 holes of golf. What's more, we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resort's activities. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service, nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing