We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #21 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Richmond, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas 2011”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

A family resort we stayed at the River Island section. We were not disappointed. The resort is clean, safe and the staff were great. So much to do just jump on a shuttle. Recommend the Breezes Restr. w/outdoor dining, good food w/ the best margarita's, live entertainment and pool right there for the kids. I recommend 2 days @ parks & a least 2 days exploring the resort pools, golf & putt-putt golf. However charging for the use of tubes for the lazy river was not reasonable. Also the lazy river & pool closes early.Villa's are roomy with huge comfortable furniture, private patios and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. Was asked at check-in about taking the time-share tour. Told them we were not interested and wasn't bothered about it again. Disney fireworks was an added bonus at night. We had a great Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelmyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    1,833
    744
    443
    440
See reviews for
4,073
638
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I this ia a premier resort, except everything is an extra charge for just about all activities. The timeshare was terrible - everything they said was a miss statement of fact. We are a family of 7; 5 children and 2 parents. One of their top managers convinced us to purchase a one bedroom, so we could get the benefits of the club. He further stated that my two bedroom in Florida would be allowed to be exchanged for a unit in Orange Lake because we owned there. We asked him and other over and over, he assured us this was the case. We even were going to back out in closing, but again were assured that we did not need a 2 bedroom to get in to the resort. Well upon further review, when I went to try and exchange, it never worked, also the week we bought was not the top points week, eventhough he told us that the week was as good as a holiday or summer. He promised to get us a holiday or summer week, and bait n switch took place. I complained to no avail. The following year, we managed to get some sympathy, and got a two bedroom. We took the presentation to tell them about our terrible experience, they could only upgrade us and give it to us for cost - 2 bedroom week 30.
Do not go on the presentation 90 minutes turns into 4 to 5 hours, and one day of your family vacation gone. Summer Bay is a better resort and less fess and not so big! I would buy there again, no question.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bdshaw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Greetings, and welcome to the Holiday Inn Club Vacations family! It was a pleasure to introduce you to our flagship resort in Orlando. Unfortunately, it sounds as though your first experience was not as perfect as we had hoped, and we apologize for any misinformation you may have received. In order to find out more about the details of your membership with us, we’ve contacted you in a more private setting, and look forward hearing from you so we can answer any questions you may have. You do, however, bring up something that our future guests can benefit from. The majority of our amenities and activities, such as the lazy river, activities center, pools and live entertainment are free and open for all to enjoy. There are, as your review points out, a couple activities, like tube rentals, miniature golf and water sports, which do cost a little extra. Perhaps next time, you might consider looking into to our 3- and 7-day Play Passes, which provide unlimited access to all amenities on site. We do appreciate the feedback you shared and will be looking into your concerns in order to ensure that the membership experience is always a positive one. We look forward to hearing from you and serving your vacation needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We travelled to Orange lake to visit Disney 2 weeks prior to Christmas. We stayed in the West Village in a 2 bed villa. It was clean, comfortable and suited just fine - there was plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and there was pretty much everything you needed. On arrival there was no check in queue which I had been dreading after a 10 hour flight from the UK with a 3 year old, and it was swift and professional. The automatic checkout system is also good - it really can't get much simpler! I can't understand at all why people are getting so "upset" about the timeshare selling - its a timeshare resort and a polite "no thanks" is all you have to do if you aren't interested - come on people!! And as for the telephone messages everyday - so what? Delete them if you don't want to listen instead of making it an issue about pushy sales staff (and lets face it they need to sell timeshare otherwise this type of resort simply wouldn't be able to offer what it offers!).
Its really close to Disney but we still found sat nav really helpful for getting about to other places. There are a few of the usual types of restaurants in the vicinity of the resort so you don't actually have to travel very far if you don't want to. The grounds are very well kept too, the staff work hard to do this however, its not perfectly manicured which is great because there is lots of natural greenery and wildlife - very nice indeed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scotts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, TX
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a very large resort split into multiple sections (i.e. East, West, etc). We stayed in a newer section in the East Village and it worked out perfectly for us, think River Island might be the newest addition. You can shuttle around the resort or walk (we chose to walk). There are many amenities (too many too list) with plenty of pools (7) and activities for all ages (including golf). Our unit was a 2br/2ba that overlooked the Golf Course. It was very spacious, had a large screened in porch, full kitchen/dining amenities, washer/dryer, full bathrooms, good size bedrooms. You can decline the time share presentation known as the "Welcome Reception" (we exchanged into the resort using RCI). I would highly recommend the resort for families and would return without question. You can see Disney fireworks from some of the rooms (ours in East Village) and the drive is about 15 minutes to Disney depending on traffic.

Pros:
Full service resort - many things to do (could be a con if you don't like walking), you could spend a lot of your time here vs Disney
Kiddie pools / Water play area, playground, outside activities, arcade
Nice accommodations (loved the screened in porch, beds were okay)
Beautiful well kept grounds
Washer/Dryer (dryer was slow to dry clothes)
Good surrounding area / easy to get to Disney - (grocery store, target, restaurants)

Cons:
Limited side walks (if you choose to walk to various sections/areas)
You need transportation
Staff drives around in golf carts -sometimes too fast
While it's close to Disney - high traffic times in the main areas can make your drive to Disney 30 min

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a newer section (East Village or River Island)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Beautiful facility, very nice condos (I can't remember which "village" we stayed in, but it was one of the single story condos). Lots to do, and free bus transportation – this resort is very big! We didn’t even rent a car while we were there. Nice pools and water park, and the food was good and reasonable. There is a grocery store nearby, so you can stock up and not eat out each night. Very well maintained. Just whatever you do, don’t listen to their timeshare speech. It takes way longer than promised, and therefore is not worth taking time off from your vacation, even with the discounted tickets. Also note - we went during their off season, so it wasn't very crowded, so it was very pleasant. I heard from some it is nuts there at times.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyldfyre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The resort is in a great location, very close to Disney and plenty of eating and shopping locactions. The rooms were nice but the decor was 80-ish! Don't get me wrong... everything was clean and presentable. It could use an update for the cost. I was taken on a tour of the new high rise units and offered a timeshare....nah!
When I first booked I thought I would be in the new high rise unit because that was where they took me to tour the rooms. I was told at check-in that I was mis-informed!?!?!?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank datninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Orange Lake Resort for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time!!! We absolutely loved our hotel room, plenty of space and very clean! We took full advantage of the kitchenette, since we were on a budget we were able to make our own lunch/dinner whenever we wanted too. We were only in Florida for six days and spent three of them on the resort alone; exploring all of the different "islands" and amenities they had to offer. We loved the fact that we didn't have to carry around any credit cards (on the resort) all we needed was our room key and our I.D.'s, this made it super easy since we spent most of our time in/by the pool. The prices at the restaurant's were very budget friendly and there always seemed to be a two for one drink special. We loved the atmosphere and how quiet it was on the resort, we'll definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cswan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
5.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
5.7 mi away
Reunion Resort, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
2.1 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,805 reviews
7.7 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom. At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river, 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the fun with your own personal attraction ticket concierge located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face, 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf, a bowling alley, arcades and 54 holes of golf. What's more, we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resort's activities. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service, nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing