We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the website makes it sound.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Champions World Resort
Ranked #35 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
McAlester, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as the website makes it sound.”
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed there Christmas week. It was cheap for the room. The deluxe continental breakfast was not worth $5.99. The rooms were not quite clean. Each day housekeeping straightened the top covers but not the bottom sheet. The children's playground was not safe. Only one time was the lobby store open during the posted hours.

The shuttles takes an hour each way. It stops at 3-4 hotels. It only runs twice in the morning and twice in the evening. The last shuttle is before the fireworks at the parks. If you do not catch the shuttle, it is a $25 taxi ride. Do not be late to catch a shuttle. We got there at 2 minutes late and it had already left. One night the hotel shut the gate and the shuttle could not get in. We had to walk from the street to our rooms. Just what we wanted to do after a day of walking the parks. Never mind carrying a 6 year old that was sleeping.

The internet was not fast and most days we could not connect.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri_annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mplaencia, General Manager at Champions World Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
We apologize for not meeting the reviewer's expectaions. However, we strive to deliver a great value product and service. Our deluxe continental breakfast includes: 3 choices of juices and coffee or tea. Oatmeal with raisins and brown sugar. Toaster table (bagels, eng. muffins, breads). Cereal table (4 choices daily) with milk. Baked goods table (assorted muffins, coffee cakes, mini donuts, pecan spins. Sliced fruit in season (4 choices daily). Yogurt with granola. Spiced apples or pitted prunes. WAFFLE TABEL...MAKE YOUR OWN WAFFLE...ALL YOU CAN EAT FOR $5.99 plus tax and tip. Our children's playground was inspected by our chief engineer and is in safe condition. We offer a complimentary scheduled schuttle to the attractions included in the price for the room. During the very busy week of Christmas where we were at 100% capacity full we did not receive complaints regarding the shuttle service except for this mentioned incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    676
    421
    204
    267
See reviews for
1,080
521
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shay_denise
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I found this online...read the reviews some where good and some where bad...THIS IS NOT A RESORT!!!!!!!! It is a standard hotel...making me think i got the best rate. i do not recommend this place. could not enter the room because the door was broken...got in the room carpet was filthy, bed was leaning...mold in the bathroom...remote control did not work. I only stayed like 15 min and they still wanted to charge me...fighting to get my money back now!!!! i end up staying in the westgate resort...very reasonable price and it is absolutely beautiful....Do not stay here you will be sorry.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shay_denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mplaencia, General Manager at Champions World Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
We certainly apologize for not meeting the reviewer's expectations. Our property has three swiming pools (one covered and heated), a jacuzzi, two full court baskeball and volleyball courts, baseball and football fields, fitness room, and childrens playground all within in 25 acre tropical setting. We recently finished just prior to the Christmas week a complete general clean and maintenance repairs on all rooms. I personally inspected the rooms on the property and can say that we delivered a great value product. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle to the attactions included in the very affordable price of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

expat
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We viewed some of the reviews of the Champions Resort with some trepidation, However
we were pleasantly surprised. True the rooms are a bit dated. but they were kept clean
and tidy, the maid and staff being very friendly and approachable.
The pools , laundry and exercise room are all very good and well kept, as are the gardens and childrens play area. For a budget complex, it is great for a base, after all we spent
most of the time elsewhere. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fispip001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The rooms are really out dated- the carpet is nasty and the rooms stink. The manager - Martha - she is very, very rude and was yelling at the front desk attendant in front of the customers and the front desk attendant was the only nice one! The shuttle guy that takes you to Disney was upset and left without taking one of the customers because they "took too long" getting their kids ready. Again, the manager - Martha - I told her that she was being rude and unprofessional toward the attendant and in front of the customers. I was at the front desk checking out and Martha is literaly yelling at the front desk clerk. Very disrespectful- When I told her she was being unprofesional - she yelled at me and refused to give me her last name! The rooms are cheap but terrible - They are comparable prices to other hotels in Orlando...It's worth paying a bit more but staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bana05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mplaencia, General Manager at Champions World Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2009
When I read this review I immediately sat down with Martha to discuss the comments made. In over 7 years that Martha has been with the property I have never heard that she has performed in the manner in which it was discribed by the reviewer. Nonetheless, Martha reasured me that treats all employees with utmost respect. As with regards to the room condition, we have just underwent a complete facelift and general clean of all rooms on the property. Thank you.

Mario Plasencia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

just returned after 8 nights at the hojo maingate west, we stayed here a few years ago and found it to be a good location for disney ( 4 miles). recentley it has changed name and has been refurbed new beds carpets etc. Check in area in process of being refurbed but still less than two mins to check in. As a disney type holiday hotel this is ample, rooms cleaned everyday clean towels each morning, three swimming pools onsite restuarant , i would be very happy to stay in this hotel again . thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwtFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Champions World Resort was exactly what we were looking for. A brief relaxing weekend near Orlando Fl. The rooms were nice and clean, and the hotel staff was very responsive and attentive to our needs. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelScott123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

After reading reviews we were a bit concerned, but were very pleasently suprised. It was our fifth visit to Orlando and this is one of the best accomodations we have stayed in. Maid service every day, clean towels every day and bed sheets changed 4 times a week. Rooms very spacious, two beds, sofa, fridge, safe, tv, coffee maker, digital controlled air con, ironing board, iron and hair dryer all at no extra cost. Also two sinks.

No bed bug bites which other people have mentioned they had occured, room very clean. We did have a blocked toilet one day which was reported to reception, by the time i had returned to my room the repair man was already waiting outside my door, he proceeded to sort out the problem immediatley. All the pools were well kept and clean, there was also clean towels for guests to use by the pool side.

The hotel is a little further west on the 192 than we have previously stayed, but as we had a car this was not a problem at all. All members of staff that we encountered were friendly and very helpful, we wouldn't stay anywhere else unless we won the lottery! We will definately be returning and telling our friends its the best value hotel we've stayed at.

Last thing there is a great Chinese buffet opposite Champions World.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaseyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
9.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 152 in Kissimmee
569 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#38 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,525 reviews
7.4 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#92 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Maingate Lakeside Resort
#96 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,508 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
0.3 mi away
Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champions World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champions World Resort

Property: Champions World Resort
Address: 8660 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, (A.K.A West US-192), Kissimmee, FL 34747-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Champions World Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champions World Resort and Nature Park is situated on 15 tropical acres just 3.5 Miles from the Walt Disney World(R) Resort. The hotel offers scheduled transportation to the Walt Disney World(R) Resort Parks, the Lake Buena Vista Outlet Mall, Sea World, Aquatica, and Universal Studios.After a long day at the parks or shopping til' you drop, come back and relax at one of the 3 heated pools (one covered for year round enjoyment) or just grab a drink and relax in the Jacuzzi. Uncover the hidden secret that makes this hotel so special by visiting the 5 acre nature and jogging park. Three separate ponds complete with sandy beaches, paddleboats and lounge chairs. You will also find picnic tables, grilles and a Gazebo for family enjoyment. Sports enthusiasts can enjoy our multi- purpose sports fields, basketball courts, sandy volleyball, fitness center and kids playground. Champions Restaurant is open for your dining pleasure or to watch your favorite sporting event in the Lounge. Champions World Resort has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Champions World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champions World Hotel Kissimmee
Hotel Champions World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing