We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil - Aligators, birds and Nature - not far from Orlando” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spirit of the Swamp Airboat Rides

Spirit of the Swamp Airboat Rides
Ranked #2 of 41 Tours in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Private up to 6 Passengers - there are no strangers and no large boats on your airboat ride. The boat is yours and the Captain will stop the boat anytime you wish for photographs, etc. 4 incredible airboat ride choices: 1 hour "Wild Florida" and 90 minute and 2 hour "Florida Cracker" tours. Advance Reservations only.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tranquil - Aligators, birds and Nature - not far from Orlando”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I booked this trip prior to leaving home - I always wanted to do a trip on the Everglades. I did the 2 hour trip - I could have gone for longer I enjoyed it so much. Booking on line was easy and simple - all emails I sent were responded to in less than 24 hours.
There were quite a few alligators to be seen. However I thought the birds were amazing, so many different species and so many. The water lilies and lotus were beginning to flower, I could only imagine what it will be like in a few weeks. We had perfect weather which made it even better.
It is best hire a car and sat nav to guide you and drive to the airboat. There are quite a few other things to look at in the Kissimmee area, so you can make a day of the trip 1/2 hour south of Orlando.
Andy, the boat driver and owner knew all the hiding place for Alligators. His commentary was interesting and informative for the area.

One line- do the 2 hour trip if you can, hire a car and drive, get away from the theme parks and see the real Orlando.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 52_On_the_road_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,372
    63
    15
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good hour out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent 1 hour trip. Captain Harold was excellent really well informed good fun and found us some big gators ( as well as some little baby ones). Saw a lot of wildlife on this trip really good fun. Will come again. Would recommend this to anyone

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went on a one hour tour in May 2013 with Captain Harold. With the smaller boat (5 Passenger max) we were closer to the water and able to ask the captain to slow down or stop and even to circle back for better photo and viewing ops. We saw gators of all sizes, snakes, turtles and all kinds of birds. It was a great experience that exceeded our expectations. We would recommend it to anyone visiting the Orlando area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbonear, NL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had booked the 1 hour tour prior to travelling to Florida. After a number of other recommended airboat companies, we decided to book with Spirit of the Swamp because of the fabulous reviews, rating and correspondence with Debi, prior to booking.

The tour was a highlight of our vacation and a great end to our trip! We had beautiful weather and Captain Andy was exceptional! Very knowledgeable and took us around to find some very large gators! We saw lots of babies and young gators, along with some huge guys along with a variety of different birds, fish, etc.

We can't say enough positive things about Captain Andy and Debi, and Spirit of the Swamp. The small boats, with headsets/mics, make it all very personal and gave it that extra special touch.

Coming from Newfoundland,Canada, we do not get to see gators or the variety of birds that Captain Andy showed us last week! We will be visiting again!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Forget the parks and do this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this trip in advance of our holiday after a recommendation from a friend, and we are so glad we did. Faultess directions led us to our launch point where we met up with captain Andy who took us through some pre-launch safety points and showed us the operation of the headsets so that we could hear each other over the noise of the boat.

Within minutes we were off, down an access canal to the main lake. Andy's knowledge, expertise and passion for the wildlife and environment of the Everglades headlands was evident and he expertly navigated around, showing us all the areas of gator habitation, explaining flora and fauna as we travelled over the beautiful Lilly covered lake. He encouraged and answered all of our questions, from us adults and our 2 children.

At one point Andy cut the engine so that we could just listen to the tranquility of the lake. We saw plenty of alligators from the smallest young to some of the most impressive beasts, one surfacing incredibly close to the boat to almost splash us as he made a break. Not forgetting the buzzards, bald eagles, other birds fish and more. The trip was just superb and will be the lasting memory for all of us from our trip to Florida. And if we do come back then we will be sure to book this excursion again.

Book the 90 minute trip at least!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VernaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of the Swamp Airboat Rides also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of the Swamp Airboat Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing