We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UTTER GARBAGE”

Big Toho Airboat Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“UTTER GARBAGE”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I used these guys four years ago on a different, more 'swampy' lake and the tour was fantastic. This time we ambled around reedy, open water for an hour looking at nothing in particular save a pair of alligator eyes about a hundred yards away. I hurt my leg pretty bad getting up off my seat only for the 'Captain' to laugh and tell me people do it all the time. Heavy bruising still hasn't disapeared a week later.

There seems to be plenty of other more respectable outfits that don't need you drive and leave your car in the middle of nowhere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jomob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtoho1, Owner at Big Toho Airboat Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I realy opologize for the late response. change of locations but was not aware of your leg being hurt.Don't really understand how for all the seats are cushoned no sharp edges I guess you stepped into the space between the deck and seat platform. This is a 4 inch space just need to watch where you step. Also for you not seeing any thing in this swamp is very hard but we are subject to weather and wild animals they are not on schedual.Please accept my opology now we have reorganized and located in a wildlife management area thanks to F.W.C. We Guarantee you will see lots of wildlife no matter what the weather dishes out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    30
    2
    3
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

From the minute we pulled up to the office it was a bad deal. Nasty check in office with 1 half working bathroom. Staff informed everyone to go to the bathroom as we wouldn't have access to one for over an hour yet had only one bathroom with no toilet paper. We were told to use paper towels and throw them in the trash. And the toilet didn't flush anyways. We had to drive down a muddy road miles from the office and leave our cars parked in the middle of nowhere. Saw nothing but the snout of a alligator. We referred to the website slogan which said guaranteed to see gators to which the captain just laughed. We were not given any ear protection despite the really loud airboats. When we returned to our vehicles, the car had been broken into and cleaned out! Carry on bag and purse were gone. Lock on rental car was broken. Received no tshirts or pictures with a gator like stated on website. What a joke...... Do not give them your business.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtoho1, Owner at Big Toho Airboat Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Really I don't understand we go threw hundreds of people and for this to happen to you well we probably ran out of paper but you was not told to wipe and put in the trash this is very poor. The reason for no bathroom for an hour is because you was in a swamp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Be aware the office is a good 15/20 mins drive from the boat launch. If your not self drive this will cost you a fortune as your cab will have to wait! You arrive at a very dubious office, have picture taken with baby alligator and pick your teeshirts. Then transfers to boat at own arrangement. We saw 1 gator. Our captain was so surly and flippant, he actually killed two birds and laughed. No information given re environment etc. tour very man made in parts. Paid for 90 mins got 40' also very squashed on boat. Have done other airboat tours far superior, try them and give this one a miss.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtoho1, Owner at Big Toho Airboat Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
You know sometimes you can't do anything write for people but there is a lot of people who liked doing the picture with alligator and getting a T' shirt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saw Gators and soooo much more”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I called ahead of time, and they had room for my family of 3 (parents and 8 year old). Family run business with a passion for "the wild". They had 2 gators in the shop, both small enough to hold. What amazes you is how strong they are! They included a family photo and T-shirts as well. We loved the family banter about Gators as pets and what that was like. After a short drive to the lake, we met our airboat driver Joe, who had knowledge of a variety of plant and animal life on the lake. I especially enjoyed the story about Henry Ford stuffing his seats with the moss you will see on the lake. I'll let him tell you what the parasites did the people who purchased his automobiles and sat in them! We learned about invasive species in Florida and how that is harming the environment. However, the best part was the beauty of the the lake. He took us down a tributary and it was beautiful. So much more to see than just "gators". We learned so much and had a blast too! Thank you for your hospitality!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtlewatcher2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Real friendly down home folk”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The storefront and staff at Big Toho Airboat Tours is not what I expected from a very touristy area but after a few seconds of talking with the staff it is all good. Don't let the first impression fool you.

We were told that selling airboat rides in Kissimmee was recently outlawed by the city so... you get to buy a tee shirt and hold a real LIVE alligator to get your picture taken and the boat ride is free.

We arrived with only about 30 minutes notice and were allowed to join another group that scheduled a free ride. The woman and teen at the store were down home friendly types that act like real southern style neighbors.

The boat captain was fun and professional. After the safety briefing we headed out to see some alligators. There were plenty of birds and even some very large spiders but no alligators to be seen. The temperature was mid 60s F so most of the reptiles were below in warmer areas. The captain spent extra time telling interesting stories and stopping to give every chance to see something. He continually reminded the passengers about safety giving this good ol boy a professional feel. On the way back we did see a baby alligator and a large turtle so the trip wasn't a waste.

If you decide to visit for a tee shirt and ride be sure to go when it is warm out for the best chance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Toho Airboat Tours also viewed

Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Big Toho Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing