We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
Ranked #19 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average at Best!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I just stayed at this hotel a few days ago for approximately 5 days. In regards to some of the positive aspects, the hotel is very conveniently located very close to the Disney attractions. I believe it took us 15 minutes to get to Disney's Animal Kingdom from the hotel. Additionally, I thought that the bed was a good night's sleep as well.

In regards to the negatives, the room we stayed in was very small...I would refer to the room as European small based on some of the rooms I stayed in while traveling through Europe. We hardly had any room to place our luggage and still walk around in the room. The room was so small that there wasn't a regular door on the bathroom. The bathroom had a pocket door that slid from the wall and the door stuck on the track so it was very hard to close. We finally got the trick after the second day of how to close the door "correctly."

Additionally, the bathroom was very small but the shower was deceivingly larger than one would think in such a small room. There was mold or mildew growing from the shower head and you could see mold or mildew growing in the grout throughout the bathroom because of the small amount of space.

If you are planning on staying one or two days in this area, this hotel would suffice but anything longer is inconvenient given some of the issues with the room.

Room Tip: Be careful of staying on the 3 floor because these rooms may be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wags342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    385
    187
    50
    40
See reviews for
427
346
44
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is located in a decent location with plenty of dining options nearby. Unless you know the back roads to WDW, it can be quite a ride to reach the parks. The hotel has some wear in comparison to the last time we stayed here. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are smaller. We reserved a STANDARD KING which was supposed to have a King Bed. The room had a queen and a sofa. The bed is comfortable and the location is quiet. The breakfast room is small with basic bakery items.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HCLBRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you are looking for an economic, well located and decent hotel, this is the one. The room was great, we stayed in a kind size bed room and it was excellent to what we needed that was to sleep well after being in the parks all day. We also had a fridge and a small oven. It is located 5 minutes to Disney and half hours from Universal. We slept well, it was really quiet. It was clean and the people from the hotel were really friendly. You have also the breakfast included, not a big deal but it was nice to save some money on that. I would come back defenitely

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ale I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Destiny Palms for 3 nights when we recently went to Disney World. The hotel was convenient to get to Disney World. Since the room was not that expensive, we were not expecting a 5 star hotel. The room was compact, but had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, although the sheets (and towels) felt rough (that they had been washed a lot). The room had a fridge and toaster. I usually see hotels with a microwave (not a toaster). I didn't use it, so it did not matter to me. The t.v. remote was missing the back, so the batteries kept falling out. The room was quiet and met our needs (we were only there to sleep). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful (especially when I locked my keys in the car). One problem I had is when I checked in another guest was talking to the hotel clerk and she seemed annoyed when I asked her to move over so I can sign. This was not the hotel's fault, but it made me feel uncomfortable. My keys also stopped working twice and I had to have them redone. The breakfast was fine. For the price and convenience, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked to see the room before I checked in as they made me pay for my 3 nights up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here March 23-25-2014 after reading a positive review on Trip Advisor. Our 1st floor room with king bed was pretty small, but comfortable and clean. Front desk staff were friendly and generally helpful with one exception: they forgot our 6AM wake-up call on the last morning. By luck we awoke in time to get to the airport for our return flight. The breakfasts were adequate: cereals, muffins, bagels, boiled aggs, juice and coffee and the price for our stay was very reasonable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

we stayed here for 2 weeks and was impressed with how friendly and helpful all the staff are. the room was a good size and clean but as a whole really needs updating.i had a slight problem with the bedside table as the corner was very sharp and cut my leg on it.could do with moving it or having abit more space between bed and table.breakfast was ok but not alot of room in the breakfast area.the hotel is in a good location for disney,universal etc but we will be hiring a car next time as taxis are expensive from the hotel.mc ds and restuarants close by as well as shops.would recommend this hotel to friends and family. :)

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the washing machines and ice machine. some guest clearly didnt understand c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeyc87511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

this was a return trip to this hotel for me [20 nite stay]---front desk service is great, maintenence response is excellent, room was fairly clean,housekeeping consisted of standing up pillows on bed, emptying trash and clean towels. there was a used band aid on the floor of the bathroom on the day of our arrival--it was still on the floor 20 days later.
location for disney parks is very good, construction on 192 makes for a lot of traffic and some difficulty making a left turn into the hotel.
wifi is free, but very iffy at times of the day.

Room Tip: first floor mid-hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
9.6 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#15 of 152 in Kissimmee
583 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
8.4 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#8 of 152 in Kissimmee
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#34 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,115 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Property: Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
Address: 8536 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1014
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#6 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#22 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The choice for Kissimmee Hotel near Walt Disney World Resort!Experience the Magic of Orlando, KissimmeeThe Destiny Palms Hotel is 100% Non-Smoking.At the Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, you will experience warm hospitality and luxury amenities unlike any other hotel in the area.The Destiny Palms Hotel wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or for pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The Destiny Palms Hotel offers many amenities, just a few of the many features that will make your visit a memorable one is our crystal clear swimming pool, wireless internet in all rooms, guest laundry facilities and our Free Continental Breakfast.Located less than one mile from Disney Animal Kingdom, less than one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World Resort Area and just minutes from everything Orlando/Kissimmee has to offer, Destiny Palms Maingate West is the perfect choice for your family vacation.The Destiny Palms Hotel is approved and rated by the American Automotive Association (AAA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Palms Kissimmee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing