We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SLEEPING BAG ON A BEACH WOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS PLACE!!! NO LOCALS ALLOWED HERE!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sombrero Resort & Marina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sombrero Resort & Marina
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A SLEEPING BAG ON A BEACH WOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS PLACE!!! NO LOCALS ALLOWED HERE!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

i can honestly say this place has been run under ground! THE ONLY THING GOOD ABOUT THE PLACE IS THEIR POOL WHICH IS NOT OPEN TO THE LOCALS NOW THAT THE BAR IS CLOSED DOWN. THEY ARE GOINGTO RUN DOWN THE PLACE COMPLETELY IF THEY CONTINUE WITH THIS... THERE TIKI BAR WILL NEVER DO ANY GOOD WITHOUT ITS LOCALS COMING TO PATRON THE BAR. This so called "resort" has the best push over managers you could possibly get around town... complain and you will get your money back. i dont think they realize how crappy their rooms are considering they dont have to pay for it. i suggest take your money else where.... dont donate to keepthis place open. sorry but not sorry
!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    71
    57
    99
See reviews for
104
113
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This property is at the northeast end off Boot Key Harbour and close to everything. The room was okay, nothing fancy and not as clean as one might expect. We sat outside most mornings and enjoyed the great views. The Tiki bar was closed. But we did enjoy the inviting, crystal clear pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MW_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This complex suffers from the same "Key West-itis" that typifies many Marathon, Florida properties that want to charge high prices for run-down facilities and rooms desperately in need of major refurbishing or outright demolition. It all looks good on the website - until you arrive and have to deal with the harsh reality.I joke that my family is by the process of elimination learning where to stay when they visit us in the Keys because of all the "oops" experiences with "resorts" that did not live up to expectations. In this case, we chose Sombrero because it is on the northeast end of Boot Key Harbor, which is where my husband and I were staying on our sailboat. How nice it would be, we thought, to be able to take the dinghy back and forth to the resort. As it turns out, there is not a formal dinghy dock and boaters staying in the harbor are not routinely welcomed to tie up at the resort. If you ask, however, the front desk will give you permission to tie up somewhere as long as you are visiting a guest. A couple of friendly boaters docked at the adjacent Boatman's Sombrero Marina answered our questions when we couldn't figure out how to get access to the resort. They let us tie our dinghy off to their boats so we could walk to the office to meet visiting family. The rooms here were clean and very cheerfully decorated, but that was negated by the lack of electrical power in the room and thus no air conditioning on a very hot day. The malfunction was fixed promptly to some extent, thank heaven, meaning that the air conditioner worked but some of the lighting in the room still did not. When my mom woke up in the morning to make her coffee (she LOVES her coffee) the coffeemaker also turned out to be non-functional. Although never considered posh, this resort used to be very nice, with live entertainment by the pool, a popular restaurant and a lively Tiki Bar. When we went down for some sun and a swim, the only presence of life was the iguana excrement on the concrete lip by the shallow end of the pool. At first we thought someone had neglected to clean up after a small dog. The Tiki Bar was not in service. The building in which the restaurant is housed looked boarded up and deserted save for the dining space on the end, where the lunch special of grilled hamburgers was posted on a board. A greasy spatula sat on a fold-out table. After a staffer saw me nosing around (my sister, mom and I had been there about 20 minutes) she said we were welcome to come inside for food or drinks. The entire complex had that dead feeling that often permeates a property that has seen better days.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the most conveniently situated, although there is an elevator. You may also w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I read plenty of reviews for this property on several sites, besides this one that included some horrible reviews. Our experience was just the opposite! We stayed on the 3rd floor with a view of the marina out of our front door. We watched as a manatee and several fish would swim by daily. The room was clean and roomy. All appliances worked, dishes were clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The pool was clean and warm which is located next to an outdoor bar. We took advantage of the full kitchen to cook breakfast and make coffee every morning. We sat outside to eat breakfast to admire the view and feel the slight breeze. It really felt like paradise. We went grocery shopping around the corner at Publix, there's also a Walgreens and some gift shops and a liquor store in the same area. We paid about $100 a night for our stay and it was worth all of it and more. We will definitely be going back and next time we will be staying for a week. Two night just wasn't enough!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to fully enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This resort is a five minute drive from Sombrero Beach which is beautiful. It is two minutes from a Publix grocery store and US1. The suite was recently remodeled and very nice for a reasonable charge. The shower was very nice, but no bathtub if that is important to you (not for us). The kitchen has a minimum amount of dishes but enough to get by - as we ate out all the time anyway. The pool is very nice with a large area to relax just steps away from a lounge and restaurant - although we did not try them. The outdoor stairwells and elevator (it is a four story complex) need refreshing/paint but the interior of the unit was fine. It was light years better than the Kingsail Inn which is nearby for nearly the same price.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlady784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Clean unit feels like u r on vacation
Everything is walking distance restaurants,brass monkey bar & groceries,golf/tennis & marina

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Summary:
If you want a spacious, reasonably priced suite with a full kitchen in the Keys, don’t expect fancy and are willing to pre-wash your dishes and wear sandals in your room so you can explore the area, this will suite your needs. If you are looking for “wow” factor or all new, keep looking, but be prepared to pay 3-5 times as much, depending on what it takes to “wow” you…...
Kitchen:
Adequate cupboard and counter space full sized appliances in good working condition, a single sink, 1980’s coffee maker and 4 burner stove with oven, 21st century fridge, microwave, toaster. 4 place settings of dishes and cutlery; not quite matching. One moderately, one badly scratched non-stick fry pan, 3 1980’s pots and one small lid. No dishwasher. Had 1 glass goblet – requested a second as we left for the beach – it was in the cupboard upon our return.
Cleanliness – a mixed bag:
No nasty odors, mold, bugs or vermin. The sheets and towels were clean and in good condition, the coffee cups all had nasty coffee rings, the fry pans had large amounts of visible food and a number of the plates also had food stuck to them. The dish draining rack had not been washed in months. The counter tops, stove, fridge and bathrooms appeared clean. The floors were all tile and had been swept but obviously washing is not the norm. I made a special request to have the floors washed on the way to the beach; this was done and the room smelled fresh when we returned. The floors were better but would have required at least 3 good washings; now our feet only turned grey rather than black when walking on them. I requested a second floor washing the next day, which was done so our feet now turned only a light grey – one more washing would have gotten them clean……..
Dining Room:
21st century glass top dining table with 4 sturdy, clean, padded chairs in good condition. Open to kitchen and living room.
Bedroom:
One bedroom has 2 double or a king sized bed, a good sized balcony and a hand sink with counter space. No hangers – received them upon request.
Living Room:
1980’s tired looking loveseat opened into single bed; not in good enough condition for our 75 pound daughter to sleep on – springs could be felt and the foot was falling through. 1 newer, reasonably clean and comfortable padded chair.
Bathroom:
Sink, vanity and adequate storage. The 2 towel bars in the room were the only items in the suite that were broken. Shower had no tub but was extra-large with built in seating and shelves.
Pool:
The large, clean, heated outdoor pool had washrooms, an outdoor shower and was surrounded by plenty of loungers, which were in good condition. My 12 year old & I found the pool warm during an evening swim despite the unusually cool temperature - 11 ˚ C (54 ˚ F); we could not convince any of the locals to join us…….
Location:
2 miles from the beach, walking distance (if you are fit) to large grocery store and small strip mall. View of the canal, with a peak of the ocean in the distance, through the trees. Everywhere in Marathon Key is close to the ocean and plenty of restaurants and shops.
Staff:
Polite but did not “knock themselves out”.

Room Tip: Gulf coarse or canal view are available. If you want a higher floor, ask if the elevators are worki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winnipeger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sombrero Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombrero Resort & Marina

Property: Sombrero Resort & Marina
Address: 19 Sombrero Boulevard, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Sombrero)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sombrero Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sombrero Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort And Marina
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Marathon Key Sombrero Hotel
Marathon Key Sombrero Resort & Lighthouse Marina
Sombrero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing